Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 22 June 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
It is difficult to give a rating for a book such as this since "like" is hardly an appropriate word. I was probably one of many who misjudged the Sonderkommando, seeing them somewhat as collaberztors, however, they were in tbe same position as tbe rest of the inmates. Everything was a case of survival. The book is written by a Italian Jew born in Greece. Whilst Italy had a part to play in the war, he and his family were safe, but when the Germans took over, the deportations began. Shomo Venezia recalls the horrors of working in the crematoria.
This is a grim book, but a must read for students of the period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2015
I've always found it very difficult to review books about the Holocaust or other incidents of mass genocide and Shlomo Venezia's account of his experiences as a member of the Sonderkommando in Auschwitz is no different.

I found myself compelled to keep reading even though I was absolutely horrified. No human should have to endure such inhumanity, yet they did. I'm sure recounting his experiences was exceptionally difficult for Venezia and I admire his courage for doing so greatly.

By telling his story, Shlomo Venezia is ensuring that we never forget those who perished and never forget the horror that man is capable of inflicting on his fellow man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2014
This is a very detailed account of an unbelievably horrible time in history. This is a must read if you have an interest in the war or the holocaust.

Shlomo tells in great detail his experiences. I have visited Auschwitz and I wish I had read this before my visit.

This should be in every school and be read as a warning from history of how the human race can behave and survive in the bleakest of times.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2015
This book will traumatise you for life. Don't read it unless you are feeling strong. Incredible, terrible, what man can do to man. But we should all be aware, and especially young people. This is not an experience a man can recover from. He writes what he saw and it is shattering. All praise to the man for his courage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2015
Very focussed and fascinating insight into a specific part of the Holocaust that is not so well known. Venezia only describes what he knows and while he references others actions or rumours he does not claim authenticity unless he has seen it himself. A very brave and painful "confession" of a nightmarish role which no one has the right to condemn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2014
Everyone knows that the Shoah was an event of overwhelming horror. This book proves that it was both disgusting and morbid in describing what the men who cleared up after the gas chambers had done their work actually had to do. It is a memorial to the attempted extermination of the Jewish people as vital as "If This is a Man" by Primo Levi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2015
To say "I love it" isn't really right, but it is a fine book and a good read. Lots of people should read it - it presents an (almost) unique perspective on the horrors of the gas chambers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2017
interesting thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2016
Good read but not as stated in the title, bit misleading. However it does show what he went through.
His experience however terrible should not be forgotten.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2016
This is a book which is tough emotionally, due to the content, but descriptive and necessary for people to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)