Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 16 November 2013
Game of Thrones from HBO has had excellent reviews and received much, deserved, critical success. Production values are high, and the characters and plotlines are compelling.

If you are one of the few people who know nothing about this series, if you like fantasy, feudal hierarchies, swords and sorcery, cloaks and candles.....then this is for you! What raises Game of Thrones above the general, is the complex political intriguing. Just when you think you know where the plot is going, a key character will bite the dust, there will be a betrayal and a shifting of alliances, and all bets are off again. Even if you are not keen on fantasy, GoT is really about the politics. I finally persuaded my 79 year old mother to watch this and she whizzed through it in a week. Adored it.

Warning: there are quite a few explicit and fairly raunchy sex scenes. This is not viewing for children, but is strictly adult in content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2013
This has to be one of the best fantasy series ever filmed for TV. I did not watch it first time round and have only just bought the box set of season 1 and 2 but I am completely hooked. The characters are fantastic, the story lines are compelling, the scenery is beautiful and the entire package is eminently more watchable than most of the dramas on TV at the moment. Well done to HBO for making something so absolutely compelling and brilliant for us viewers to lose ourselves in!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2013
It arrived the next day as I used Prime, it was packaged perfectly.
The case is beautiful, you slide it out of its sleeve and unfold the individual case.
There's a map with each season as well.
There's a lot of special features on each season on separate dvd's.
I have no complaint's about it though I know some people may not like how the dvd's sits on top of each other as if you're not careful you might scratch them. But as long as you take care of them there wont be any scratching.
I'd recommend this product to any Game of Thrones fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2013
Absolutely superb. I came in late on this epic series and have loved every episode. If you like great developing parallel story plots with lots of action and a superb cast you will love this series.

The detail in the film is pretty faithful to the books by George R.R.Martin and even the dialogue is taken straight from the book.

My only regret is for season 3 currently screening on Sky Atlantic HBO I will have to wait until released on Blu Ray as we are wityh virgin.

Definately a series you will watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2013
I have read the first few books of the series, knowing i wanted to watch these (and as there are a few differences between tv seriees and book i would recommend this to make sure you properly follow whats going on with all the characters, as there is a lot to keep track of).

I have always been a fan of HBO series, and the quality of this series is, as usual, exceptional.

The cast is mostly made up of British actors (which fits with the War of the Roses feudal-esque feel), with a few well known faces in the mix (Sean Bean being the obvious example). The settings are fanastically realised and the quality of the presentation on blue ray is top notch.

A special note must be given to the amount of special features on the disk. These were unexpectedly good, including graphic novel-like backgrounds to important characters and houses.

All in all not a bad word to say against it, dont hesitate to buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2013
Not just for fantasy / sci fi lovers....this is like Lord of the rings for adults, with the plot of Sopranos or Breaking Bad. If your not a fan of any of those stop reading and go and watch Xfactor/Downton/eastenders etc.
This is one of the finest series ever made. I look forward to watching them over and over. Winter is coming, the night is dark and full of terrors......so stay in and watch this spectacular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2013
I had already read the books so wanted to compare them with the visual series. If I was to be honest I got very frustrated with R R Martins plot. The important details, later to be expanded on perhaps, were washed away almost but in the series they were explained better and the story line followed easier.
I found season 1 was very gripping and encouraged me to quickly move on to series 2 which, in comparison was less so and, disappointingly, had to be filled in with gaudy sex scenes.
Overall I loved the experience of reading and viewing which, if anything, enhanced the story.
I can't wait for series 3 although the cost of it may make me wait a little longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2018
what more can be said about this story than has not already been said, amazing,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2013
Not for the squeamish! There was a lot of gratuitous violence and sex scenes that bordered on the pornographic, all of which I thought the story could have done without. If like me though, you fast-forwarded the bits you found offensive then it is a really good yarn!! Wonderfully acted and filmed, & totally believable. I thoroughly enjoyed it and have ordered the third series. The latter half of the second series was much more watchable as they just got on with the story, and paid less attention to shocking the viewer with sadistic sex scenes and unnecessary torture and cruelty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2013
Normally I love the book and dismiss the film or DVD as not quite up to the mark. This is different. I had to persevere with the first two books and never bought any of the others. Game of Thrones on film is wonderful. I was really caught up with the first season and made sure never to miss a single episode. Likewise with the second season. This is my kind of entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse