Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
237
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2017
Brought for my son in laws birthday, he was well pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
an excellent album "it's never over" is ethereal
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Discovered band recently with Everything Now. Brought the collection since and cannot believe how good Arcade Fire are. Tickets booked for Birmingham as a result.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
no problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
Husband loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2016
5 star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2016
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My feelings are very divided about Arcade Fire's fourth album. While I can happily nod along with much of the music and there are a few tracks I genuinely like a lot, I find the album, as a whole, very difficult to actually love. Much of it sounds smart, slick and classy (the title track is a good example) and that may as a result of working with LCD Soundsystem's James Murphy, but the group I fell head over heels in love with back in 2005 have transformed so much that, were it not for a couple of songs that give us a glimpse of their old selves, they would almost be unrecognisable to me. This album was partly inspired by a trip that Win and Regine made to Haiti (Regine's family's home country) and tracks such as the excellent Here Comes The Night Time are full of that influence, so it's not that I dislike progress, I applaud bands who have the ambition to evolve beyond one sound, but if the direction a band has gone in isn't exactly to your taste, there's no point in trying to force yourself to love an album out of some kind of misguided loyalty. However, despite an absence of true love for Reflektor, it's very easy to like and enjoy much of this double album (apart from the six minutes of soundscape nothingness at the end of Supersymmetry).

There are only a handful of songs on this release I'd call true favourites. Firstly, there's We Exist, which is fuelled by a deep, rolling bassline, grooving along menacingly before erupting into a typically mighty Arcade Fire chorus. Then there's the aforementioned Here Comes The Night Time which is genuinely delightful and, finally, Afterlife which combines those Haitian influences with a New Order vibe. Thing is, when it comes down to it, there are too many songs here that I enjoy on a purely superficial level; songs such as Reflektor, You Already Know, Awful Sound (Oh Eurydice) and Porno that are very pleasing to the ears, but they just don't trigger any genuine excitement or emotion when listening to them. I think it is quite telling that I've read quite a lot of reviews and reactions from people who didn't particularly like earlier Arcade Fire and yet love Reflektor, as, although I'm sure they have also retained many fans too, their sound has changed substantially enough for Reflektor to divide opinion amongst those who have followed them from the beginning. As you can probably tell, I'm really not entirely won over by their fourth album and I will probably have to carefully listen to their next album before deciding whether to buy it, instead of pre-ordering it automatically as I have with every album since Funeral.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Reflektor is the fourth studio album by Canadian indie rock band Arcade Fire.

It was tricky enough following up the seminal debut Funeral; this remains their best work to date. However Neon Bible and The Suburbs were still sublime.

The new album is another turn in a different direction. Notably co-produced by James Murphy (LCD Soundsystem), Reflektor takes on a funky electronic façade. Epicly spread over two CDs there is an hour and a half of new material for devoted fans to get their teeth into which is instantly quite demanding. Much like their previous works, the album improves with additional listens. But the ingenuity in some of the tracks is weighed down by their excessive length, a stark contrast to the precision of tracks such as 'Laika' from Funeral (3 minutes and a half) - compare this to some of the tracks on this album that clock in at 6 or 7 minutes and you begin to wonder whether the band could have been a little more cunning.

It's a fresh and ambitious record that requires time and patience but is perhaps a little too grandiose and less refined than their older work.

Listen to: Reflektor, Flashbulb Eyes, Awful Sound (Oh Eurydice)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)