Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2017
Loved this one for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2008
this book, as all Heinleins' works, is an absolute gem and a joy to read; the sort of book you cannot put down, and when you get to the end you're sad because there are no more pages.

So good we named one of our cats Pete...read the book and find out why this is relevant!

The door into summer is a cat's version of "the grass is always greener...", and it refers to the fact that his cat- as all cats - will go to the front door, reject this means of exit because it is raining and go to the back door, hoping to find it sunny there, in other words, wanting to find the door into summer. The whole book is full of typical Heinlein hypotheses...what ifs.

If you don't buy this and read it you really are missing out on one of the best novels ever written, whether you like sci-fi or not.

(NB Our other cat is called Spangle; Michael Marshall Smith readers will understand this one...!)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
This is the first Robert Heinlein I've read and I loved it. Engineer Dan Davis has reached rock bottom: betrayed by both his fiancée and business partner he decides to leave 1970 behind and enter 'cold sleep' for 30 years. What follows is a highly entertaining story, with great heroes and villains and a tight seamless plot. I especially enjoyed Heinlein's imagining of 1970 (the novel was first serialized in 1956) and 2000, as well as the author's ailurophilia, as evidenced by the character of tomcat Pete.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
Robert Heinlein's later work got a little obscure for my tastes, but in "The Door into Summer" he was at the top of his game.
I love reading science fiction written in the fifties. They get so much about the future wrong, but also, so much right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 September 2015
This is a short novel from one of the true greats of golden-age SF. The narrator of the story, inventor Dan Davis, time travels to recover inventions stolen from him by his treacherous business partners.
I first read this in my teenage years and remember being blown away by it. Revisiting it with more experience one can see the flaws and the parts where the plot creaks a little, but nevertheless I'd still recommend reading it, although it does now seem a bit dated. However, one should remember that this was written over 50 years ago, and Heinlein got there before the many imitators.
Maybe it's the sign of the times, but did the part involving Ricky seem a little uncomfortable?? Maybe it's just a throw back to more innocent times...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
I first read this story more than 30 years ago and really enjoyed it. It has simple themes of science fiction relating to time travel and cold storage of humans while still alive. The two themes are mixed together cleverly so that time paradoxes are believable. It has dated references to the current science of the time but this does not detract from the story.
It's a good introduction to Sci-Fi and doesn't strain the grey matter like a lot of up to date stories tend to do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
I first read this book about 40 years ago (in the 1970s) and the image of the cat constantly looking for the door into summer stayed with me. I remembered it being about cryogenics but little else. I was thrilled to find it again in the Kindle store. What made it an even better read now in 2014, was looking at Heinlein's view of what the year 2000 looked like from the 1970s. The idea of "Draughting Dan" being a machine for architects and engineers to design using a keyboard may have seemed so futuristic when the book was written but we take this technology for granted now. This is such an enjoyable book, with humour, mystery and a cute cat.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Sci fi with comedic elements is rare,but Heinlein has managed to achieve this with good effect in his well written book.An original take on the time travel story.Quite a short story unfortunetly since I could have happily read on for another 100 pages or more.The relationship that lead character has with his cat is a lovely to read since Im an animal lover.It helps to set this story apart from other time travel stories.The cat at times seemed to almost speak to him,which left me abit confused.Was it a case of his meows sounding like words or not.This was never explained in it the book.Read the book for yourself and decide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
The plot is a bit creaky but fine if you enjoy a bit of vintage retro SF (circa 1957).
(I think I would prefer Phillip K Dick personally whose plots don't seem to date).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.07
£3.99
£5.39

Need customer service? Click here