Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
35
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
33
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2013
This autobiography will be a great companion when you want to drop in and join the rather dodgy company of Billy 'Mad Dog' McLeod and his mates for a few shenanigans. The author takes you on a very funny walk though his life which is, at times sad, but usually hilarious and very often bizarre. After an account of his early life, during which time he was able to avail himself of 'Her Majesty's Pleasure', for much of the book you find yourself on tour with Mad Dog and his equally mad collection of pals as they make their way around the World to support the Scotland football team. This is the Tartan Army, which Mad Dog has tattooed prominently on his arm. One of my favourite stories is when they meet a stray dog in Italy. Caesar, the dog, becomes just one of the boys as the group find themselves causing havoc in the south of France. This is just shortly after they have laid a wreath at the grave of Bonnie Prince Charlie in the Vatican City in Rome...yes, I do mean 'in' the Vatican. In fact you get the feeling that the author would have fitted in quite well back at the time of Bonnie Prince Charlie and Culloden. And you are left with the lingering suspicion that if he had the outcome of the battle might have been a bit different. The book is a treasure trove of stories. The narrative flows along very well. You feel that you are sitting there listening to McLeod himself talk in the accent of his local part of Scotland. While many of the antics he recounts are hair raising to say the least, you are strangely drawn to the guy. He may not have been the type of chap your Mother would have been happy you were going out to play with, but it would have been a fast learning curve and you'd have probably ended up the better for it....had you survived to tell the tale! Well Mad Dog has, thankfully, and this book proves it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Funny and heart warming story of a doon tae earth man from being a wee scamp to adventuring around the world with the one and only Famous Tartan Army - we're the famous tartan army and we could nae give a jot lol
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
A Fantastic Read for any Tartan Army foot soldier Follow Mad Dog McCleod around Europe and beyond as he Travels supporting Scotlands National football Team the highs the lows and the sometimes down in the Gutter experiences of a supporter of The Worlds finest football Team.(I did say Finest not BEST..Humerous heart warming and sometimes quite unbelievable but every word written is true story told.As Billy is fighting (what a brave Fight)terminal cancer, he is donating all proceeds to Cancer Research and McMillan Cancer care Nurses,believe me money you spend on this book will be one of the most well worth money you'll spend... KEEP FIGHTING THE GOOD FIGHT BIG MAN. WE'LL BE COMING.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
THIS IS A GREAT READ I HAD THE PLEASURE TO READ THIS BOOK OF BILLYS IN ITS NAKED FORM AND FOUND IT TO BE A GEM IT IS BETTER NOW THAT IS BEEN SET OUT RIGHT AND AM SURE THE AUTHOR WILL AGREE HOW EVER BILL IF YOU HAD SERVED IN THE REAL ARMY YOU WOULD HAVE ADORNED EVERY MEDAL THERE WAS YOUR WIT CUNNING DAREDEVIL ATTITUDE YOU WOULD HAVE BEEN A CERT FOR EITHER THE GLASSHOUSE OR THE SAS I AM PROUD TO CALL YOU FRIEND HOPE AND PRAY THIS IS AN OUTSTANDING SUCSESS
CHEERS FOR THE LAUGHS BILL
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Great book by a great character. Oh the life he has led. Hope this book has the success it deserves.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
What can I say a brilliant read from who I can call a friend and fellow tartan army footsoldier, the memories he remembers from Italy 90 are the honest truth cause I was there,and what id forgot the big man has filled in the gaps all the best billy. alba gu brath (malcky gall)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
A great read from a well known character from Arbroath .lots of laughs,don't know how he managed the drink for so long.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
If you're in the mood for a chuckle while shaking your head at the same time, Billy's trip down Memory Lane is for you! A local lad from Arbroath, Billy regales us with tales of his travels for work and supporting Scotland round the world, in his inebriated state. Much of the laughs are based on the images Billy conjures up of his boozy adventures and this reader can picture the goings on vividly. An urban legend, Billy McLeod's reputation locally is a 'gid lad' with a fondness for madness with the drink - this wee bookie is worth every penny, providing belly laughs and sometimes disbelief at how crazy his life has been. I would have happily paid double for this entertaining gem and for those yet to buy .. go treat yourself! All monies go to charity :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Great read written with honesty and humor about the life and times of a lovable rouge my ''cousin bill''well done billy xx
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
A truthful and humorous account of Billy's life so far.
The tartan army adventures were my favourites. I know a lot the people in the book and some of the stories I have heard spoken off, but to be able to read them in this book was great.
Billy's a braw lad and the proceeds from the book are going to a cancer charity. Buy it and give someone or yourself a treat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here