Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
224
4.6 out of 5 stars
Wintersmith
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 7 December 2013
One of Steeleye Spann's greatest. They have trappped the mood, myth and magic of the book and indeed of this early winter season. The Dark Morris in insidious and plays around your mind as you walk in the bitter wind and I love the Band of Teachers.
Maddy's voice is still pure and lovely, almost as though we were back in hte 1970's - weren't we young then??
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
A concept album in the 21st century? Yep, it can be done.

Several standout songs: "Dark Morris", "I Shall Wear Midnight" and "Ancient Eyes" are at the second listen already favourites. The core of Prior, Knight and Kemp make it obviously Steeleye with Zorn, Littman, Genockey adding a welcome dynamic that drives things along at a pace and adds a depth to the sound thats distinct from other Steeleye offerings.

It would have been nice to hear more of Knights playing - they tried out a few tracks on the last tour and the violin was higher up the mix and had a searing edge which was missing from the album, but it will make this Winter's tour worth waiting for.

Good stuff.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2013
I've enjoyed most of Steeleye Span's post 1970s output (Including their Maddy-less period) but always felt it was a bit too 'light'.

I'm not a fan of Mr Pratchett, so I wasn't overly excited about a concept album based on his work. However, this is probably the best Steeleye Span album for years, possibly since the 1970s. The general sound is much more like the epic 1970s material (Thomas the Rhymer, Long Lankin, etc) on tracks like "Fire & Ice". The playing is good, the band is tight, and the vocals are excellent. Peter Knight is stunning throughout, and there's an energy that's been missing in Steeleye Span for some time. The 'concept' doesn't get in the way, so don't let that put you off! This album most certainly puts the rock back into folk!
88 Comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 June 2016
Lovely concept album, I thoroughly enjoyed it - and I found it quite emotional to hear dear old Terry Pratchett on The Good Witch track, as well as having fun trying to spot the many Discworld references scattered throughout the album. There are lots of good tracks, but Dark Morris is one of my favourites, and a great foot-stomper too! We Shall Wear Midnight is a real heart-wrenching tearjerker of a song, but beautiful too. The Making of a Man is very catchy and has clever lyrics - probably my favourite track, but there is much to like throughout the album. Maddy Prior is on top form and I loved her vocals on the To Be Human and Ancient Eyes tracks. Wonderful!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
It's great to see a new CD from Steeleye Span that is not a 'Best of...' - real fan's have had a long wait! I'm not usually keen on their 'themed' music but here are some very good upbeat numbers, here as well as a couple of gentle, great sounding eery one's. Doubly good if you are also a Terry Pratchett fan as it's based on his books!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Not as good as I expected, still worth a listen, maybe it will grow on me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Excellent composition and recording but do read the book first!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Brilliant CD, I have always liked steeleye span.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Unusual but grows on you. Recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Great musical tribute to the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)