Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2017
This is a great album! More uptempo than others I own in the series. Has a funky soul beat early on then drops into a nice chilled compilation. Great turned up loud to get the party swinging or down low for a proper chill out. Buy it! 5 stars for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Wished, however, that the entire Cumberbatch reading was on one CD for continuous listening -- that's the only improvement. I particularly appreciate that the songs flow from one to the other. Great for dance exercise, too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
Best one in series so far, perfectly judged mix. House, indie, disco, and easy listening in a gorgeous mix. Love it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This is about the fifth of these Late Night Tales comp series that I now have and frankly, it's the best of them. The idea, before you run out thinking it's the latest album by your favourite group, is to get an artist/group, usually from a clubby background to put together a mix tape (remember them?) often throwing in some obscure tunes. This selection, chosen by Friendly Fires, is a real winner for me starting off with some disco tunes and dance up to their own cover of "Why Don't You Answer?" then the beats start to slow down and towards the end there are a few "shoe-gazing" selections which is what had sold it for me originally. It all segues together beautifully too, and at the end is the first part of a story narrated by Benedict Cumberbatch - to read you to sleep perhaps :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I'm slightly in love with the whole concept of the Late Night Tales, Another Late Night, et al compilation series. Take some great artists in their own right and being on friendly terms with them, you ask them to do you a tape of their favourite music and or influences. If they really like you, they offer to do you the tape in the first place!

In the eighties especially, my school friends and I would regularly make each other compilations. It involved sitting lovingly in front of hi fi, with your headphones on (so as not to disturb your parents whilst they watched Dempsey and Makepeace) and painstakingly putting together 90 minutes of music together. It was essential that you nailed the running order and God forbid that you cut off a song at the end of a side, because the tape had spooled out. To receive such a tape meant something. You meant something to the person who'd made it for you. You knew upon receiving it, the amount of time, love and effort that had gone into this thing, made especially for you. I discovered some wonderful music from these compilations and in return tried to pay it forward.

I thought those days were gone. Now, it's possible to put a compilation together in a matter of minutes with a huge running order at that. Late Night Tales and its compatriots relive some of the magic though. There's love and thought in these albums and many of them have given me a nostalgic squeeze. Friendly Fires' effort is no exception. A beautiful selection of tracks, many of which I'd never heard before and some real diversity on display. If nothing else, buy it for their cover of 'Why Don't You Answer?' It's probably because the person that you're trying to contact is too submerged in this!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I thought it was new material. It was my fault, maybe I didn't read well the description! Nevertheless, I've found it boring. Sorry guys! ;-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Following in the tradition of the Late night Tales - I love the obscure tracks and the mix with the more well known artists but always the high class of music skill in both the mixing to keep within an overall theme but also the talent incorporated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Like the feeling. Seemingly different music together as a whole, and it works. Story, read by B.Cumberbatch stops credibly and ambiguously. I`d like to hear or read the full story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2016
A Good Album, one of the better LNT mixes, flows well and with some awesome tunes,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2016
Excellent Cd wayne
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)