Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 17 October 2013
There are a relatively few reissues that deliver any substantial improvements that warrant your purchase, again, again, and, again! This is the exception! Not only is the sound improved (a big deal to me), but, the additional material is nothing short of phenomenal. "Standing At The Station" is simply brilliant and highlights wonderful keyboard work from Chick Churchill. The Paris rendition of "Help Me" only shows how a band can approach a tune and give it a whole different feel on a different night. The Paris version smokes with a torrid intensity - one can only guess at the origin of "that" intensity! "I Woke Up This Morning" and "Sweet Little Sixteen" are wonderful additions; "Time is Flying" showcases a band still creating and willing to perform a new tune not fully developed; enlightening, nonetheless. The two Jams, however, are downright revealing of a tight-knit band taking us on a wonderful journey through their musical influences and creative processes. All four members of this great band shine through on the Jams, which, of themselves, showcase this band to be just that, a band! This was a great record before this reissue - now, it rivals anything out there! A must have! Thank you Alvin, Leo, Ric & Chick, Ten Years After.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 August 2016
I can only reiterate and fully support the comments of most other reviewers that this is both a rarity of a well remastered and more importantly vastly improved and expanded re-release (plus has some high quality liner notes). The additional tracks are equal to those of the original vinyl release and not just a few additional tracks thrown in that did not make the cut on the original release (for reasons that are often pretty obvious!) plus in total running time doubles the overall length, making this a high quality re-release.

This double CD (like its vinyl predecessor, which was issued in part frustration at the many low-fi bootlegs of their concerts that were being circulated) stands out for overall quality both in playing and recording mix. The three different European venues (Paris, Amsterdam and Frankfurt) are so seamlessly edited it feels like a full length concert. Even the double appearance of "Help me" does not intrude and the inevitable verbiage that many live concert recordings of this period suffered from has thankfully been edited out.

By this time TYA as an unchanged unit had been on the road playing live for so long together that the empathy oozes out of many tracks, especially the extended versions of well known older LP favourites as well as the more free form Jams. More critically TYA had released their two best studio LPs before this release ("A space in time" and "Rock & Roll Music to the world") so were firing on all cylinders. This release leaves the other live LPs "Undead" and "Live at Fillmore" behind as simply historic stepping stones which for me largely suffered from too much Alvin Lee soloing.

The biggest tragedy was that not long after this 1973 tour release, the group imploded (their last 1974 release "Positive Vibrations" in LP form being a below par farewell). Alvin Lee as key player and songwriter wished to move in new directions but was not commercially successful. Even when the group later inevitably reformed for numerous tours with variable quality live recordings following they were never again to capture this level of glory before Lee's recent death.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2017
I had this album on vinyl about two years after it came out a mate of mine got bored with it and gave it to me. even to this day I cannot understand why he parted with it. As a fan of live albums this is definitely up there with one of the best. Anyone who likes the blues to rock should listen to this album. Even after 40 odd years it's still sounds fresh and it is a perfect showcase for Alvin Lee one of the UK's greatest guitarists
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
This is a cracking album that showcases Alvin Lee's trademark lightning fast licks but also highlights the superb musicianship of bass-player Leo Lyons and much-underrated keyboard player Chick Churchill, whose contribution to the overall sound of the band is significant. It's also a real joy to hear the bonus tracks on this two-disc edition. All the TYA live favourites are here from what is possibly the band's best period; you can't go wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2014
My very first vinyl was this double album, and after hearing about the passing of A Lee, I thought I need to pick this up again. Not totally convinced about the bonus tracks as they spoil the sequencing "feel" of the original release in terms of how the songs follow on from one another, and having picked up the Undead recording earlier I now feel Recorded Live was pretty well just a rehash (albeit more mature) of that album. Nevertheless for the memories of my mis-spent youth the Recorded Live album evokes its money well spent. RIP Alvin Lee.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2013
This has been one of my favourite live albums from a band who alwys sounded better live tha in the studio - their best studio album being SHHH.I would not compare it to Undead which is a more jazzy live affair and great in its own right. Despite what others will tell you this is a much better live offering than the Fillmore concert which tends to become repetitive in the soloing department. This set finds the band very tight and very exciting. The extra tracks on this release are a welcome addition. My only gripe is that the CD version does not have the attack that the Vinyl provided, particularly on the opening of Help Me and One of These Days. But it is still a great play
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2015
Extended to two cds each of over 75 minutes duration this features TYA at their jamming best.Audio quality is superb and no single track fails to please but standouts include the two versions of "Help Me" and the two jams.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2013
I have had this as a vinyl album since it came out. Remastered with extra tracks that are a nice addition to what has always been a great album. Has classic tracks (I can't Keep from Crying, God Morning Little Schoolgirl and, of course, I'm Going Home). Overall great live album featuring the classic lineup. Missing Alvin Lee who sadly passed earlier this year.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2017
Takes me back to simpler times, and all the more enjoyable for it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2016
So sad that it took the death of the great Alvin Lee to prompt Chrysalis to dig the extra tracks out of their vaults. Together, the 2 jams provide us with over half an hour of jazzy(ish) improvisational joy, and 'Standing at the Station' & the Paris 'Help Me' ( much better than the version chosen for the original release ) are as good as anything that this glorious band ever gave us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Rock & Roll Music to the World

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)