Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2014
Wonderful Film from beginning to end ! I have finally found a few movies that my wife totally enjoys, and this was one of the selections. It was a romantic presentation of a woman who has endured the hardships of seperation caused by war and the return of her husband. Both had changed significantly and the adjustments that were necessary for the continuation of a successful marriage became obvious. They were cleverly portrayed in the film with a series of flashback stories of earlier generations of family members who had endured similar trials caused by extended separations due to war. This was timely as millions of couples have had to experience similiar circumstances throughout history in all countries. The film had great relevance even though it was a different era and different circumstances. I totally enjoyed the story and presentation.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Delightful lovely costumes and quite moving. Film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Dated but enjoyable. Have an elderly relative who was delighted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Anna Neagle a joy to watch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 June 2014
Although there are plenty of inferior British films, at its best, British film making is unbeatable, a fact helped by there being so many outstanding British actors. This now quite ancient film is a case in point. I can recall, when I was a small boy, how the adults would talk about someone called Annan Eagle and how disappointed I was when I discovered that this great actress (as we called female actors in those days) was actually called Anna Neagle.

Having seen Elizabeth of Ladymead many years ago now, it was a pleasure to be able to watch it again on the DVD and hear the clipped upper class accents just as I can recall them from yesteryear. For me the strongest female character portrayed is the post Boer War wife and the weakest one the post First World War Nineteen Twenties Flapper type character the weakest. It's a tribute to Anna Neagle's acting abilities that she was able to portray each of the four wives to effectively and realistically with each of them giving the viewer a real feel of the period in question. 'I know/knew a woman just like that,' we can say as we watch.

All the other top quality actors were always going to have to play second fiddle to Anna Neagle, but they all seem happy to do so and play their parts convincingly well. I'm old enough to remember the tale end of Victorian brought up ladies and Edwardian ladies. I lived through World War 2 and also remember lots of stories told to me about the Great War 1914-15. I once also met an old man who had fought in the Boer War. Were people really like they are portrayed in this film? Yes they were. And the makers of this film with Anna Neagle and the support cast have got it all spot on. Great stuff!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Good old stiff upper lip stuff, starring Anna Neagle and produced by her husband, Herbert Wilcox. Lovely colour too. Not to everyone's taste, but I love this old stuff, which has historical value, with its clipped, upper class accents and rituals spanning several generations. Good value.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
An absolutely lovely film and extremely clever focusing on 3 couples/different eras with the same problems.
Wonderful acting and a strong storyline
eileen
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This is a real treasure. The acting, setting and story are delightful and bring back lots of memories of the shining time in British Film Making.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Anna Neagle is one of my favourite British actresses from that era. It's nice to finally have some of her best movies released on DVD. A big "Thank you!" to NETWORK for this beautifully restored version! Hopefully other Neagle-classics, such as "Maytime in Mayfair" (1949) and "Sixty Glorious Years" (1938), will be released on DVD too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
What a beautiful classic . Remember those stars as they no longer exist and are becoming a dying breed .What a shame ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)