Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 2 September 2017
I enjoyed this book and am halfway through book 2. However, as this one was so short (184 pages) I think it could have
been combined with book 2 (193 pages). Also, I see from 2014 reviews that people complained about the spelling, missed
words etc. and the author said these had since been corrected. Sadly they haven't, and it is a shame as the author has good
potential. Right - niggles over!

Nick is an ex-SAS loner and you learn why in book 2. He is reluctantly drawn into helping first a young boy, Dan, and then Beth and
her 2 teenage daughters. The little group is joined by another man and they drive to the south coast hoping to find a safe place to stay.
Here they run into trouble. I liked the character of Nick - he "doesn't take prisoners"!! There were some F-words, but in keeping with the characters.
There was no sex. The plot made a change from murder mysteries and police procedures.
I did get a bit tired of the bickering between Beth's girls, though I know they probably do behave like that.
I think if you enjoyed this book you will enjoy the next one even more as it has a bit more "content" - though that too has a lot of missed words, etc.
Overall a recommended read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2014
I came across your book by accident, I was searching pandemics.
I'm glad that I did. I am now on the third book in the series and have read them
one after the other.
It is often the case that an accidental read is a good read. In this case I really enjoyed
this book. The characters are very believable as is the storyline. I love this type of storyline,
and the plot never strays into the unlikely.
Nick is a strong lead ably assisted by young Dan.
I can see headaches along the way with Beth and her argumentative daughters.
So loved it Stephen keep it up.

David Embleton writer Last Man Standing(kindle)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2014
I love Nick Smith the main character in this novel (there are currently four in the series). He is a troubled man who has been a loner for many years. Following a catastrophic flu epidemic he is thrown together with a disparate group of people.

The book was fast paced and I quickly devoured all four books one after another. My husband is now devouring them just as quickly! I await with anticipation the next instalment.

Just one small niggle is the proof reading. There were spelling mistakes and words missing. However as I loved the books so much I did not deduct a star for this.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2016
I have read the whole series now and thoroughly enjoyed them all. The prequel was a great addition. The story of Nick and his friends coping with the aftermath of a devastating plague kept me hooked. For me it was a bonus to have a post apocalyptic novel without zombies, just ordinary people (and Nick! )
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2013
This is a story about life in England after a flu pandemic set in the year 2014.Nick Smith is the ex army survivor who was a loner but ended up helping a Mum & her two daughters plus a lone teenage boy, through the hazards of being attacked by violent thugs who wanted to rape and kill them. Only 1% of humans are alive after the pandemic and are desperate for drinking water and edible food.
If you enjoyed watching Survivors on the TV then this book New World its a must read.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2017
I really enjoyed the story, but it was spoilt for me because of the lack of proofreading. There were just too many punctuation errors. If it had been sorted out before being published, I would have given this at least 4 stars, as I cared about the characters in the story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2017
I am a massive fan of anything Pandemic related and this ticked a lot of boxes, having some good ideas but it could have done with a few more redrafts, along with having the characters fleshed out a little more and the prose left a fair bit to be desired. But I read it in 2 days, and it had a flow to it for most of the time. Definitely worth taking a look at if you are a PA fan and it makes a refreshing change to have something that does not have Zombies or Teenagers as its major themes, along with a welcome absence of gun porn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2014
When I first started to read this book I just though it was so-so but I stuck with it and boy a I glad I did! Nick starts off as a take-him-or-leave-him kinda character but the author soon evolves him into a larger than life character. Once I got into the book I couldn't put it down. Just started the second book in the Nick Smith series....The only thing I'm worried about is the third book is not out until sometime in 2014 and I'm hoping it won'tbe to long because nothing iirritates memore than having to wait months and months for the next book to come out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2014
I like Dystopian books its one of my favourite genres if its well done.This one seems fine the first book in a series can be a bit of a head full with all the characters you have to get used to but I think this started well.I like the fact we have younger people as well as older ones and I like the fact its set in the UK, I look forward to reading the next book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2014
Great characters so well written that I already know them and want them all to survive. We have Nick the mystery man the lone wolf type character maybe ex army. Beth the mother with two young girls to to protect. The young lad and Bill the kindly giant. Please don't hesitate to buy this book you won't be sorry.l
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse