Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2017
I first read Imagined Communities many years ago. I have noticed recently that a younger generation of academics have been referring to Benedict Anderson's ideas, which encouraged me to return to the book. It is as exciting and inspiring as I found it first time around. As our national identity in the United Kingdom is again under debate - are we British? are we European? are we English, and is it impossible to be both English and British? - what we mostly hear in the public domain are blank assertions that are parroted by members of the different political "tribes". Anderson confronts the reader with the historical and socio-cultural foundations for the formation of ideas of national identity. Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2016
Excellent text on the origins of nation and the print media, for history and English literature students this is a must read. It is the definitive text on the idea of nation and postcolonialism.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Needed to read this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2009
I was looking forward to reading 'Imagined Communities' as it is often seen as something of a standard text on nationalism. I ended up disappointed. The key lies with the subtitle of the book - 'Reflections on the Origin and Spread of Nationalism'. I'll try to pinpoint why but first I'll deal with what I think is valuable about the work.

It's beautifully written with witty asides and is easily read. There are plenty of insights into the way that nationalism works and how nations are imagined - that concept is a great one - how history, maps, museums, censuses, literature all contribute to the collective imagining of something called a nation and how this imagining is relatively modern. This is illustrated with some fascinating examples. Anderson is also fairly good at explaining how nationalism spread and how it has now become universal.

So, 'Imagined Communities' strength is explaining how nationalism works and, to a lesser extent, how it spreads. The weakness is in explaining the origins of nationalism. Anderson locates this in the coincidence of the rise of capitalism, the technology of print and language. Anderson also locates the first nationalisms as being creole nationalisms in the Americas thereby ignoring the rise of the nation states in the Netherlands and England prior to this. One is left with a nagging feeling that the explanation being offered here is inadequate.

Anderson is right to point out the rise of state bureaucracy in the relation to the rise of nationalism but neglects the idea that the needs of business and the protection of markets could play a similar function. In short, Anderson fails to account for the fact that the rise of nationalism mirrors the rise and spread of capitalism per se and not just print capitalism.

Anderson also states that the French model was as important as the creole in creating the template for nationalism to be copied throughout the world but then says virtually nothing about the role of the French Revolution in the creation of this template or, indeed, about the rise of nationalism in France. The reader is left to guess about how and why an idea which Anderson insists arose in places like Peru made it's way to Europe.

About two thirds of the way through, I had got the gist of the thesis and found the latter chapters unenlightening apart from illustrative examples.
22 Comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
The book was not as I expected it to be.

Not that it's not a well-researched, deep and interesting book. It is just that it wasn't as accessible, I had hard time to understand certain passages. There are many, many references and some of the quotations aren't translated.

I would place the burden on myself and not on the author. But be ready, the little previous at the back of the book has nothing to do with the complex work which constitues the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
In an age of academic specialization, there is a need for works of synthesis, proposing theories of general application. This need is shown by way that "Imagined Communities" and, for example, Edward Said's "Orientalism" are widely read and discussed. However, to be valid, generalisations should be based on a comprehensive and objective reading of all the evidence, not just a presentation of only what suits the author's particular view. Although Anderson's book is well written and presented, it fails to be either objective or comprehensive.

In his book, Anderson traces the origins of national consciousness back to 18th century Age of Enlightenment in Western Europe. He argues that the traditional and hierarchical social organisation associated with Christendom declined through economic factors and with the spread of national territory and citizenship. He particularly identifies a link between the rise of capitalism and the development of printing, which fostered national languages and identity. Anderson considered that nations were formed through invented traditions and symbols, not fixed racial differences. This approach is clearly a Marxist one, and is open to several objections.

Firstly, assuming "Christendom" declined in the 16th century, Anderson does not explain what happened between then and the Age of Enlightenment. Secondly, Anderson relies heavily on other Marxist writers like Eric Hobsbawm and Tom Nairn, largely ignoring other schools of thought. Thirdly, at the outset, Anderson defines several concepts in a way which limits discussion on them to his own agenda. He seems to follow Hobsbawm in arguing that nationalism didn't exist before the late 18th century, so that anything earlier is not nationalism, a circular argument. Next, he provides examples which appear to prove his point, but which are not universal. For example, he may be right to point out that the boundaries of many Spanish Latin American states are based on artificial colonial-era administrative boundaries. However, this does not explain why entities such as Syria or Iran/Persia have many centuries of distinct existence or even why Spanish Latin America split up but Brazil did not. Similarly, he chooses Hungary to make a point on ethnic identity: choosing Poland would tell a different story. Finally, if this is a scholarly work, its reference to sources and explanation for some of its more contentious statements is rather poor in places.

This book can be accepted as an interesting personal view that can stimulate debate, but it was written by someone going well outside their area of expertise. It is worth reading, with some caution and reasonable scepticism. However, it is not unbiased or impartial and its status as a much quoted and approved work in several fields of social sciences probably says something about the credibility of those disciplines
44 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
the best book about nationalism ever
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Great and provocative writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Very good in the majority of respects. Can understand why Masters' students enjoyed this compared with so many of the dry texts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Just the book i needed. This new edition has 2 more chapters. It's excellent!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)