Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2014
Set in an English country house, this story could be Agatha Christie with puns. I like the friendly writing style and the dialogue which carries the nicely complicated plot along at a steady pace throughout. Almost every character has a motive for Inspector Constable to investigate, and the reader is kept guessing right up to the denouement, with all suspects gathered together in the drawing room. Great fun, and I recommend this book to anyone who likes light-hearted mysteries.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
A witty little book, the joy is in the punning names - think Private Eye's "pseudo-names," but rather less contrived: the astrologer "Horace Cope" is my favourite, but there are many others, some of which are better read out loud a few times so you get the meaning, and these establish what the book really is, a sort of parlour game to be lazily enjoyed after a pleasant tea and when, rarely, there isn't an episode of "Midsomer Murders" on the television to while away a couple of hours. The plot itself moves along quite quickly with a few red herrings and a typical set of country house characters and motives, all that's missing is a dedication to Miss Muriel Lake, who likes to be called "Mu." For Mu Lake.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Liked the characters and didn't suspect the identity of the murderer as there were plenty red herrings scattered throughout the book. Will certainly read more Inspector Constable books.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
I havent had much joy in finding a book that I could give 4 stars to that was reasonably priced,but ive throughly enjoyed this one.Easy reading,well written and witty in places,already ordered another two.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
I took a chance on this and was not disappointed, I liked figuring out the name puns and just enjoyed reading an uncomplicated murder mystery whilst giggling to myself at the absurdness of it all. I will definitely purchase his other books and approach them with the same attitude, sometimes you just need to read for the entertainment not for the deeper meanings.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
If you like who dunnit stories this is a very good one Andy constable and his sargent david copper are great new characters l found this book very easy reading and look forward to Roger keevil s next one kev dilks
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Good series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
I found this as I said in the heading unpleasant, to which you can add snide,patronising and nasty,what could have been a decent spoof has a rather distasteful tone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
A good read. The first couple of chapters I was 'on edge' trying to work out who was going to get killed and trying to remember all the clues when the murder took place. The rest of the book I was trying to work out who had done the murder - everybody had a motive and I still hadn't worked it out by the end! A good read curled up in front of the fire in the winter, but probably an equally good read relaxing on the sun lounger in the summer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Good style detective tale. Every suspect could have done it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse