Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 November 2013
This book really gives a picture of what life was like for an average soldier over the last decade, I really enjoyed reading it. Great to read an account which just tells the story rather than trying to debate the politics.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Superb book, brilliantly written. Can relate to his experiences as well. Really enjoyed reading this book, brought back some hilarious memories hahaha!!
Well done Matty
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
This story deserves to be told and the author who lived it is the best person to tell it. Unfortunately, the book does not appear to have been proof read and trying to sort out nonsensical grammar detracts from the flow of the tale. Good man yourself Mathew.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
What a brilliant book, gives a wonderful insight into a regular soldiers life, if you are thinking of joining the army or are interested in how "ordinary" soldiers live their lives, you will not be disappointed. The author gives a very colouful account ( including the language) of his army career amd all the ups and downs of service life. I am sure most of us think we know a bit about the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, but once you have read this, you realise what a hard and challenging task they take on. I could not put the book down and could not wait to see what new challenges Matt faced. I admit to being a little biased as Matt is my son, but there are things written that he would never have told me about for fear of worry and although I know he is now safe, I was still very apprenhensive reading his encounters of his in Afghanistan. Read this book and you will not be disappointed
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
A reasonable book spoilt by loads of spelling mistakes. Who proof reads these books? It would have been good to know what Matthew did after he left the Army.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2017
All one stream of consciousness! An editor and a run with a spell checker would help no end, and make this into the decent basic memoir
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I bought the kindle edition, had to give up 16% of the way through, because the long paragraphs with no punctuation and sentence structure make it almost impossible to enjoy. Its a shame, as otherwise it looks like it would be a good read.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
This is a very informative account of modern soldiering; however it would benefit from the work of a human sub editor, there are errors of grammar that only electronic sub editing would allow, at one point the author is referring to the packing of his ' Bergan' military rucksack, the text gives 'began,' that does cause a degree of irritation, which should not however distract from a good read told very powerfully from a soldier's perspective
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)