Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
127
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2013
Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) is a bright young man and he is trying to sell his employer, Nicolas Wyatt (Gary Oldman), an idea that he and his techie friends and colleagues have come up with. Wyatt, however, is rude and indifferent, and fires them all. Cassidy is now in a financial fix as there is no insurance to cover the latest medical treatment for his father (Richard Dreyfuss) and when he is later approached by wily Wyatt with an offer he really cannot refuse - to infiltrate the company of Jock Goddard (Harrison Ford) and steal the latest thing to be marketed by that company - Cassidy takes the opportunity to get rich. However, Wyatt and Goddard were once partners who now wage a technological war against each other and Cassidy is just a pawn in the game.

How can Paranoia (2013), a movie starring actors of the calibre of Gary Oldman, Richard Dreyfuss, and Harrison Ford, appear to be so teen-flicky? It all feels rather superficial and the romantic scenes between Liam Hemworth and Amber Heard just make it worse - I felt like I'd slipped into the Twilight zone. Yet the idea behind the plot is actually quite decent (despite the plot being riddled with holes) and actually ends with an unexpected result, like a damp squib that should have been a cracker. Not sure just how convincing the corporate machinations and technological devices are (even though I am pretty sure we are all being watched, monitored, and spied upon at some point or other - at least in the UK) but it's an entertaining enough movie if your expectations are really low. The cinematography is good and Gary Oldman is great although why the hell he and Harrison Ford would take a part in this film is beyond me. Didn't they read the script?

VJ - Movies and Books World
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
I agree with the other reviewers. The promo looked great, it had a brilliant cast, the plot looked good and relevant to the times we live in... It's just such a let down. I can't believe I'm writing that about a film starring Harrison Ford and Gary Oldman. Both great actors who have starred in some fantastic films.

The film lacks tension and suspense, any depth to the plot, and I was sat there wondering if they'd aimed it a 12 years olds?! I groaned inside at the romantic moments, there's no chemistry between Liam Hemsworth and Amber Heard. They don't develop any of the relationships in the film, everything is totally superficial. There's no depth to the characters at all. I would summarise the film as pretty cheesy. It could have been so good, instead it's just bad!!
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
While I would say some of the criticism of this movie is fair, it does come of as a lot more light weight than it was probably intended to be, more like a feature length episode of a corporate drama such as Suits than the suspenseful spy intrigue it was meant to be.

However, I thought it was great to see a movie about the potential for the misuse of technology available to virtually ever single member of the population at present which was a departure from the usual big brother storyline of sinister machinations by big government. Even Enemy of The State which features a rogue director and team of operatives willing to work with him presumes that the people to be worried about are public/political/governmental in character as opposed to simply private/corporate/wealthy actors.

This is a corporate/industrial espionage feature, the violent, even murderous, rivals in business are vying with one another for the development of listening and surveillance technological apps on phones (which incidentally I have heard are not that far removed from what actual apps including those used by Facebook, Amazon or other apps seeking to gather information to assist in the development of predictive sales and marketing apps) that's the focus of the feature. The protagonist and his friends are sucked into the intrigue as the latest pawns in play between the two business but the potential for technology to be exploited by anyone state, corporate or simply criminal was clear enough.

Aspects of the movie were perhaps odd or superfluous, dynamics between the protagonist and his dad were highlighted but that did not really go any place, I felt maybe this was highlighting the potential for corruption stemming from the divergence of the son's aspirations from that of his father but this did not really go anyplace. It could have been a better feature but even so it was not a bad one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2016
Not amazing yet definitely above average, although I'd not say much for the camera direction and the majority of performances of those under 50.

Hemsworth is fine, and does enough, but I get nothing emotionally from his interactions, and I don't think that's intended.

The ending didn't totally stink of deus-ex machine, but it was an obvious telegraphable move, which was unfortunate as (other reviewers pointed out here on Amazon) it removes the element of paranoia. However (as opposed to said reviewers) I think the lack of tension and any psychological worry is down to the performances here. It's quite possible that the script didn't offer much for the players to play with, but I think two seconds from Dreyfuss under insultation from his son showed what's possible with what was offered. It had a broad beat, but his eyes and facial performance took my breath away. There were a couple of moments from Ford on that note, but not as strong as this, and Oldman was as dependable as both the actors older than him.

This unfortunately ends up just looking like a vehicle for Hemsworth, which is a shame. Because there's real promise in the raw material available here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Espionage movies, no matter the setting, have to drive hard to get the suspense ramped up to keep the viewer glued to the screen. Paranoia doesn't manage that and lacks a fair bit of cohesion right through to the end. Even the romance doesn't generate interest in what could have been something far better. And to think that both Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford star, even they can't raise the bar. One redeeming feature though was seeing Richard Dreyfuss on screen again. His and Ford's first film together since American Graffiti? Disappointing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
I missed this one at my local cinema, most likely they never ran it, and if it had not been for the good reviews here I doubt I would have bought the dvd. I spotted that Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford were in, so sent for it. I found it onenof the best movies l had seen fof months! Considering the subject is mobile phones which are a pet hate to me, I refuse to own one of these, for many reasons. They have completly taken over ourr young people, proof of this was shown recently in the newspapers when a baby in it's pushchair recently fell on a line in a London tube station, a young man was completly unaware of the drama happening around him, he was somewhere out in cyberspace. Then in this movie it's the young who eventually save the world. I should have really hated this movie, but instead I loved it! I liked the many twists and surprises, and although I did not really know the young leading man, I could accept him as the hero. So it was all a pleasent surprise to me. But, no, I still do not want a mobile phone. But it made a good movie!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
Well it was OK. I can't get more excited than that. But what the heck - three huge stars - Dreyfuss, Oldman and Ford, and still the film failed to lift off for me. I would have put it down to the script, but for the fact that any actor worth his or her salt can manage to lift a bad script up to where it doesn't really belong by sheer excellence of acting, and they certainly gave what they could.

The premise was fine, but the plot staggered along like an old donkey near its last gasp, and I think that's what got in these fine actors paths - a plotline that didn't do justice to what they could bring to the film. Oh, and the love interest? Totally and completely and utterly cheesy. Come ON. Romeo and Juliet weren't in the least convincing. I'd say the film could have done without it and concentrated on the mechanics of the plot and achieved its aim without the obligatory saccharin schmalz. Ack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
'Paranoia' is a corporate espionage thriller film that released in 2013, becoming a critical flop and a box-office disaster. The film is based on a novel of the same name authored by Joseph Finder.

The story follows Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) who is employed by Nicholas Wyatt (Gary Oldman) as a corporate spy in an attempt to infiltrate the business secrets of his rival, Augustine "Jock" Goddard (Harrison Ford).

The movie starts off interesting with an impressive star cast. The idea was smart and it was an easy watch. The problem was the predictability and no suspense throughout. I was expecting some form of tension, which was probably forgotten during the convoluted events. The ending is satisfying though.

The big star cast and the interesting subject hyped up the movie, as a result the basic end product fails to fulfill the potential. The movie is watchable and actually enjoyable if all high expectations are lowered.

Acting by everyone is what was expected. Oldman and Ford are a treat to watch.

The direction by Robert Luketic is rather predictable, even though he tries hard to introduce convoluted twists to make this a competent thriller. In the end, the script is the main let down.

'Paranoia' is an inaccurate name for the film as there is an absence of what the title suggests, Paranoia.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 March 2014
Adam Cassidy (Hemsworth) is a young, cocky & ambitious low level employee of Wyatt Corporation, who specialize in computer electronics & software. After being fired he uses his discretionary account for a wild night out of drinking with his friends who are now also ex-employee's. Using this to threaten legal action & Adam's own lofty ambitions, his boss Nicolas Wyatt (Oldman) blackmails Adam into going undercover at Wyatt's old mentors rival corporation & steal the idea of a new piece of revolutionary technology they are working on.

The premise of Paranoia is an intriguing mixture of Antitrust &Wall Street. Of the former it's use of close knit security checks, body scanners & thumb recognition locks to show how paranoid firms like this are about keeping their secrets under lock & key. While some ominous blacked out cars, stalking, reuse of extra's in the background, hidden cameras, hacking & tracking cell phones emphasizes that 'privacy is a myth' as one character states. Of the latter it uses the illegal temptation of short cutting it to the top with ambition & greed by dangling the good life infront of Adam as a carrot.

The first 50 minutes of the film is quite a lackluster run of the mill build up that could had done with better pacing to keep your interest. The ensuing 50 minutes in contrast redeem's itself a little with more pace & excitement, with a foot chase, plot twists & the suspense execution of infiltrating the oppositions vaults, as well as a couple of great face off's between Gary Oldman & Harrison Ford (the highlight of the film IMO), that see's Ford up his game exponentially with a classic powerhouse performance to match Oldman's. The cinematography from David Tattershall (Star Wars Ep. I, II & III) was very eye catching in places with skyscraper fly by's & neat little touches that impressed even if the content didn't. The music was chosen well, modern & was really likable.

The acting was a little patchy at times, but the old guard came to the rescue of the youthful cast. Liam Hemsworth's (The Hunger Games) performance was quite mixed, lacking a range in his acting abilities, only managing to convince when showing glimpses of humility, ably supported by his father played wonderfully by Richard Dreyfuss (Jaws) who made up for the lack of sympathy towards Liam's character, think Charlie/Martin Sheen in Wall Street. Gary Oldman (The Dark Knight) with a refreshing British accent in an American film, was very good as the brash, manipulative Wyatt. Equally up to the challenge when tasked, Harrison Ford (Indiana Jones) shaven headed in a memorable Steven Jobs (Apple) style, showed glimpses of his classic powerhouse abilities as Wyatt's old mentor Jock Goddard. Also co-stars Julian McMahon (Nip/Tuck) , Lucas Till (X-Men), Embeth Davidtz (The Amazing Spider-Man) & Amber Herd (Drive Angry).

In conclusion, Paranoia saved it's best for last in the final half of the film, it's just a shame that the first half wasn't anywhere near as compelling to sit through. Contains strong language, violence & sexual scenes. Worth a watch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
A good movie but we still can't find a scene that we watched on the trailer, as it was what made us buy it. However we thoroughly enjoyed it and felt all the actors really played their parts well. Being long term fans both of Harrison Ford and Gary Oldman it's a keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)