Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
21
2.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2014
Frost is a found footage film that follows young couple Agla and Gunnar who wake up at a glacier camp to find the camp mysteriously abandoned and their co-workers gone. When searching for the lost team they realize they're up against an unknown deadly force.

As far as this genre goes, this is a decent effort. With a great location of blizzards, snowy and desolate landscapes with claustrophobic underground caves to boot this is a nice looking movie. However those looking for a thrill ride where monsters and creatures reduce the body count one by one, you will be disappointed. Frost is a slow paced film that doesn't full detail the force at work and we never get a good glimpse either, but we are given enough to put the picture together.

It has its fair share of creepy and tense scenes but those looking for a fully resolved film will again be disappointed. The final 10 mins are also shot traditionally, ditching the FF shots, but this is just done to wrap up the story.

While not being the most enthralling and awesome FF movie out there, this harkens back to the tense movies where the imagination is the scariest element. However this film is definitely not for everyone.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
To sum up the plot: a couple search for their lost friends and come up against an unknown entity. The majority of the film was focused on the relationship between the couple but you don't get to see the entity itself just the effect it has on everyone involved. I don't know whether it would have helped the film if it was shown because the overall effect left me bored and impatient to get the film over and done with. The camera was too shaky and although the natural feel of the movie was good and the Plato's Cave allegory was interesting but misplaced the story was not engaging.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
This is a weird one. I enjoyed it but have no need to watch again (which Il now do tonight). Alot works. In many ways the extras on how they made it is more interesting, sounds like hell. It is a good plot with good characters. Just something slightly doesn't complete it. Don't know why, 7.5/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
ok...first of all can I point out that the product details for this dvd state the main language is Icelandic with subtitles in English , so anyone renting this film cannot really moan about it is not in English...etc , what they can moan about is the film being very very bad . I sat through the whole thing ..well apart from using the fast forward button frequently...and can honestly say I have no idea what the film was about ..ok ...there was a camp in the artic somewhere ...most of the people there had gone missing ....the main couple in the film out to find out what has happened ...then some strange evil entity or force ...I really don't know , nothing is explained at all .

I dont know if a UK dvd release would help people understand this film better but even with the lauguage in English I cant see it improving too much .....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
The frequent jumping about of the camera spoilt this for me. And there was no closure, the ending was pathetic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
Amateur drivel. Do not bother. Laboured, clunky, and hugely disappointing. How not to make a movie. A waste of a good location with an uninspired screenplay, a pedestrian script and zero denouement. Dear God. Go back to film school.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
A great idea of a young couple largely alone on a glacier because the rest of their party has gone missing. Some nice Icelandic shots but hard to appreciate as this film only seems to be available on DVD, not Blu-ray, with the limited picture quality that DVD brings. Things, of course, go pear-shaped as something evil is lurking around the glacier. But while the film built well there was not enough revealed as to what was actually happening. So by the end of the film you are really none-the-wiser. It would have been nice to give us a few hints at the end. And there was plenty of time as the movie is quite short (<80 minutes). If you're not aware, note that the dialogue is Icelandic only but with English subtitles. And make sure you review the sound options at the beginning - my copy defaulted to 2.0 stereo and I changed over to the more immersive Dolby Digital 5.1 channel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
This movie has character scenes that feel very natural. It has an unsettling premise.

If you're stationed in the middle of nowhere, your co-workers are missing and with only two people around you lack the resources for a recovery team, the anxiety is going to build somewhat. Isolation doesn't exactly help.

Bit I can't give a positive rating. Why? I believe I watched it twice. I don't know what "Frost" was actually about, though. I believe it was partially composed of "content-lite" content. You know, running from something undefined, whimpering in the dark/snow and shouting out to people.

EDIT: Thanks to Amazon Prime Video, after another viewing the premise is simple - people wake eldritch abomination, with dire consequences. I believe given the scope of the entity's powers it would be in eldritch abomination territory. Leaving it unseen, unexplained and having heavy character focus are good elements for horror dealing with eldritch abominations, but somehow the execution doesn't cut it, so presumably the found footage elements ruined it.

Though actually, there wasn't much "content-lite" content.

I believe some people died, but they came back, but weren't zombies if I'm not mistaken.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
a bunch of men and women messing about in the snow claiming they can see someone,,IN ICELANDIC best keep it there as here its A1 rubbish.definately bin it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Given the DVD cover and reviews I thought this was going to be better than it was.

Also my fault for not realising it's in Icelandic, which I don't mind, but if I had paid attention I wouldn't have bothered with a subtitled film.

Excellent customer service though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here