Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 January 2015
Dull....is the only word to describe this book. It focuses on the well publicised stories of 7 or 8 individuals mainly involved in crude oil trading. The author has obviously had one or two interviews with a few of these and has managed to string out a book on the results. There is no description of the rationale behind any of the big trades that the individuals made so the book is of little practical value. I managed to get to the end...just. Having said that the book was well written so I hope that the author has a go at something with more substance next time round.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2017
Intersting insights as to what really happens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2017
An interesting well written and researched book.. Not sure about the title.. Big players in commodities maybe? Even then some big names are missing...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2014
An excellent expose on the world of commodity trading, Kate has written a book which I couldn't put down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2015
Where are Gunvor, Trafi, and the ags traders. Too much Goldman and other "boring" listed players
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2016
Great read ! A real insight into the commodity super-cycle that we have all experienced in every part of our life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2014
Mishmash of mildly interesting anecdotes from the commodity trading world. All known to market participants and somewhat random for any other sort of reader. Have no idea post reading it why the author believes commodity traders run the world - indeed, she doesn't make a compelling argument that they affect prices other than in the very short term.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2014
Excellent book informative
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2017
I work in the precise industry Kate Kelly attempts write about. Not very well researched, and not particularly interesting either. I think this demonstrates a general failure to grasp the nuances and inner workings of this business. (Can't really blame Mrs Kelly having not experienced our business on a first hand basis).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2014
Very interesting how the world of finance works it shows the big banks will always be o e step ahead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)