Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2014
a bit like " a certain ratio" without the fun bits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Arthur Beatrice are a four piece Indi/Rock band from London and "Working Out" is their debut full length release.

The band have a style that's quite hard to define... personally I would liken them to the likes of London Grammar and The XX.

It's an album where tracks smoulder with a gradually building rhythm and the dreamy lead vocals of Orlando Leopard and Ella Gerardot take the listener on a journey of absorbing dynamic melodies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Patience is a virtue. London quartet Arthur Beatrice formed in 2010 and went on to feature in the NME and The Guardian in 2011, but it's taken three more years for their debut album to emerge.

The band decided to follow what is becoming somewhat of a well-trodden path in terms of album promotion - no promotion at all. After their mentions in the national music media, they retreated into their own studio and slowly put together what would become Working Out. A lot of what they do seems meticulously planned, from ‘Arthur Beatrice’ reflecting the male/female vocals, to the name of the album, Working Out, seemingly a telling nod to the band honing, fine-tuning and discovering their own sound over those three to four years. That's certainly something that they've managed to do. While their brand of sleek, sophisticated pop recalls contemporaries such as The xx and Wild Beasts, Working Out is far from a rehash of old ideas.

Read the rest of this review here: http://www.drunkenwerewolf.com/reviews/albums-reviews/arthur-beatrice-working/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
I purchased this having listened to some material on youtube. Some tracks are quite immediate while others are "growers". Also saw them recently at Festival Number 6 where they gave a great performance. The whole family are now into AB.

In terms of the sound as others have said they are somewhat hard to define which is the appeal. I see the comparison others have made to London Grammar but musically the sound is I think less melancholic. Be careful if listening to the first 30Sec of each track as many of the songs change in tempo. I recommend checking them out on Youtube.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Fantastic Piece of music, it's a real shame more people haven't heard of Arthur Beatrice. Their music is quite and melodic with powerful lyrics that only become more moving as you listen continue to listen. I'd say they were comparable to Hoizer and The XX, however it's hard to give them an exact genre in my opinion due to their unique style, all I can promise you is that if you've come this far discovering them, and you are reading this review to settle your doubts you will love this album whole heartedly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Love this. Love it, love it love it. Saw a video online and then had a listen on their website and bought the CD. It's an interesting blend of edgy hipster and retro 90's in many ways with a combination of male and female vocals which reminded me of the Indian Givers and is an effortless listen. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
The smoky and smooth sounds that run through this album are mesmerising and you could accept this from a third or fourth album but this is Arthur Beatrice’s debut album and this is what makes it all the more amazing. WARNING: this band is addictive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
This is one of the best albums i have heard this year - also went to see them live at the Brighton Festival and not only were there queues around the block, but they were absolutely brilliant. I can't recommend them enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Arthur Beatrice are fantastic- Calm, but not slow, and dark in places, but never depressing. It's mesmerisingly excellent- "Late", "Midland" and "More Scrapes" are personal favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
put simply, this is just stunning work. the whole album is a real work of art. similar to london grammar, but in my opinion this album surpasses them.

looking forward to the next album already!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)