Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivered more than i expected
Updated 30/5/2014: down to 4/5 stars
------------------------------------
Unfortunately i had to take one star off now as i get the same annoying mission as many other players: Mission - log in to Uplay (you really need to be a good hacker to do that i guess).
The servers of Ubisoft were not prepared for this at all, most of the time i am playing offline so...
Published 10 months ago by 555

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FIRST IMPRESSIONS REVIEW
My Rig: Matches or beats all of the recommended specifications.
Windows 8.1-64bit, i7-4770@3.9ghz, 16GB@1600mhz RAM, Gigabyte OC GTX780, Z87 Motherboard

It took 4 hours to download and install! TitanFall, a 50GB game, took less than one hour to do!
I didn't have any problems with Uplay though, probably because everyone else had given up...
Published 10 months ago by WayT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivered more than i expected, 27 May 2014
By 
555 "555" (555) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
Updated 30/5/2014: down to 4/5 stars
------------------------------------
Unfortunately i had to take one star off now as i get the same annoying mission as many other players: Mission - log in to Uplay (you really need to be a good hacker to do that i guess).
The servers of Ubisoft were not prepared for this at all, most of the time i am playing offline so i am loosing many features of the game that require the game to be online like the PvP (player v player)
challenges be it racing, hacking or just killing each other.
The shadow flickering is getting more annoying day by day, will this ever be fixed?
Even i do still enjoy the game, as soon as i was been able to log in to Uplay (i am lucky like once every 3 days) i downloaded and installed Assassin's Creed 4 Black Flag again to compare those 2 games
and i have to say that in many aspects mainly controls and gameplay, AC4 is a lot better game, if Watch Dogs would be released last year and i would have to choose between those 2, AC4 is a clear winner
Other than that, if GTA 5 would be out on PC by now i may would never buy this game this is why i wrote in my original review that Watch Dogs is a good alternative, i still recommend this game, but
only until GTA 5 comes to PCs if it ever will.

Original review:
----------------
Amazing game, feels like an alternative for GTA 5 but with some great hardware demanding graphics and same gameplay like Assassin's Creed.
The map for this open world game is big and i think more space will be added later with DLCs, but its properly done and there is no corner alike, sadly you cannot enter most of the buildings.

As i said it is demanding so here are the specs, amazon got the description wrong once again and you do need a 64-bit system it will NOT work on XP, this information is directly from Ubisoft:
MINIMUM:
Operating System: Windows Vista SP2 64bit, Windows 7 SP1 64bit, Windows 8 64bit
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66Ghz or AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.0Ghz
RAM: 6GB
Video card: 1024 VRAM DirectX 11 with Shader Model 5.0 (see supported list)
DirectX: DirectX June 2010 Redistributable
Disk Space: 20 Gb
Sound: DirectX 9 compatible Sound Card
Peripherals: Windows-compatible keyboard and mouse required, optional controller
Note: This product supports 64-bit operating systems ONLY
RECOMMENDED:
Operating System: Windows Vista SP2 64bit, Windows 7 SP1 64bit, Windows 8 64bit
Processor: Core i7 3770 @ 3.5Ghz or AMD FX-8350 @ 4.0Ghz or better
RAM: 8GB or more
Video card: 2048 VRAM DirectX 11 with Shader Model 5.0 or higher (see supported list) or better
Supported video cards at the time of release (Sadly AMD cards are not supported, be aware of that before purchase):
Nvidia GeForce GTX460 or better, GTX500, GTX600, GTX700 series;
AMD Radeon HD5850 or better, HD6000, HD7000, R7 and R9 series
Intel® Iris(tm) Pro HD 5200

I suggest to buy the digital deluxe edition as it has many DLCs in it and you don't need to wait for the post man, you get your cd-keys by mail and only thing you need is a Ubisoft Uplay launcher and Uplay account registration (yes this is required even for the hard copy version)

The gameplay and controls feel almost as in Assassin's Creed 4 Black Flag so i suggest to play it on a X-box 360 controller for PC as it is very hard to control on keyboard and mouse, you get some freerunning too, but the freerunning in this game is very limited (cannot jump from roof to roof for example)
you can hack people's phones to get their account data and then just go to the nearest ATM and pick up your cash, you can steal cars, bikes, vans and trucks, you can spawn your own wheels too (you also can switch to interior view for driving, but the game is generally 3rd person view), go to a weapon shop and buy a .50cal sniper rifle if you fancy-just like america.
You may laugh when you see a hacker with a smartphone, but this is basically a fiction game
Many things you can do if you don't want to do the main story, you can hack things for rewards, catch criminals and become famous around the city or kill people and become a villain, do some DLC side missions, mini side quests, mini games and so on, simply a lot to do around the map, myself i spend first 3 hours just hacking for money to buy new clothes in a clothing shop and to get better weapons.
The police chases are fun, just hack a traffic signal when you are passing it and look behind you or hack barriers and cops crash into them or bridges and jump over, many ways to evade cops.
I expected a linear play game for couple hours of fun, but this game really is huge and a lot of fun.
Even some missions get repetitive and tiring after a time, you can still do special missions from DLCs or the main plot and also do online PvP challenges where you or other player can just invade each others game anytime even during the mission and start to hack you or try to kill you, or just race through the town, this is a nice touch to the game and it makes it more unpredictable as you are never safe from enemy threat.
You can turn this feature on or off, if you don't want other players invade your game or if you will find it annoying, you can turn it simply off, but its on by default.

Now to the bugs, i didn't find any big bugs so far, the only ones i found are some flickering shadows and lights here and there and the AI behaves really stupid sometimes like being too jumpy when you drive by or when you take out your phone and they start running off, really just small bugs, other than these i didn't found anything else and the game runs very smooth with most graphic settings on high on my pc and i only have:
Intel core 2 Quad 2.6GHz, 8GB DDR2 Ram, Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 2GB DDR5

This is one of the best game releases for this year and can only highly recommend it, i have the Digital Deluxe Edition and it was worth the money, got an e-mail with codes for download straight after midnight and started playing about 30 minutes later when Uplay launcher downloaded and installed the game, they have very good and fast servers, but you also need a good broadband for the digital edition as it is at least 20GB data + DLCs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FIRST IMPRESSIONS REVIEW, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
My Rig: Matches or beats all of the recommended specifications.
Windows 8.1-64bit, i7-4770@3.9ghz, 16GB@1600mhz RAM, Gigabyte OC GTX780, Z87 Motherboard

It took 4 hours to download and install! TitanFall, a 50GB game, took less than one hour to do!
I didn't have any problems with Uplay though, probably because everyone else had given up.

Let's get something very clear: When Ubisoft originally delayed this game in November 2013, claiming that it needed more work before launch, i did not believe a damn word of it. Here's why:
*Grand Theft Auto 5--------released 17th September 2013
*BattleField 4-------------released 1st November 2013
*CoD: Ghosts---------------released 5th November 2013
*Assassins Creed 4---------released October 2013
*KillZone (4) Shadowfall---released November 2013
Amongst other launch titles as well, ALL of these are well known established franchises that were bound to sell well and i can guarantee that they did not want their new, unestablished franchise to have to compete with them, especially their own game: AC4. They didn't want to compete with all that, would you?
This games new release date meant it had no competition on that scale.

AND I WAS RIGHT!

To be honest it's a bit disappointing...

THE GRAPHICS/PERFORMANCE: First off the graphics are not very good, this is not the most important thing in a game, but they hit me straight away, this game is being played on a GTX780 and i know it can handle much more than this. THE LAST OF US ON PLAYSTATION 3 LOOKS BETTER THAN THIS! GTA 5 on my Xbox 360 isn't far off either. Yes it's an open world game, but FarCry 3 and Assassins Creed 4 both look better in my opinion. For one released in 2014 and being run on a PC that hits or beats ALL of the recommended specifications, it should be a lot better. If it looked like The Last Of Us, but in a 1080p resolution and a ton of Anti-Aliasing i would have been very happy, but it's not the case. It really doesn't strike me as being very well optimised and it needs a lot more work, it's as if a whole layer of extra detail and effort has been removed and we're left with the bulk of it. I have only had slight performance issues, but i cannot keep a steady 60FPS on maxed out settings and given how it looks it shouldn't be too much to ask. The game is definitely playable and acceptable, but it doesn't stand out at all, especially when i can draw fair comparisons to 7th GENERATION CONSOLES! WTF? I've also had at least two incidents where the game has paused itself and will not give me control for at least 30 seconds! It has continued to run fine otherwise afterwards and they are the only technical issues i have come across. Also POP-IN!!! Future Chicago is pop-up city, like a kids playbook.

THE GAMEPLAY: The gameplay is OK so far, the basic controls and animations are fine, fortunately it doesn't have the s****y on-foot controls of every Rock Star game and doesn't have the tendency of AC games to launch you off a 50 metre drop because you pressed the analogue stick one degree the wrong way, it generally controls well. The cover system is functional for the most part, it works well, but you can't blind fire and i am still waiting for other games to have the excellent auto-cover system from Tomb Raider 2013! There was one incident where i couldn't take cover behind some waist high concrete blocks! Why? You can climb around well enough, like Assassins creed you can get around on foot very well. Stealing money is easy and non-consequential, get out your phone, find a blue highlighted civilian, hold a button, then go to a ATM and take the money...THAT'S IT! There aren't any consequences that i have found to this at all!
The driving isn't very good, it controls ok but it feels more like an arcade game with no attention to detail. Your car has to take a lot of damage before it will even show and a hell of a lot before it becomes unusable, you can barge through traffic very easily and you can slam head on into concrete pillars and walls and take very little damage, it's silly. There is also a lack of consistent and logical destructible terrain. I was driving a huge semi-truck and i could not drive through a waist high concrete railing on a bridge to get onto the road below even at full speed! You can change your point of view in a vehicle all the way through to first person with a view of the inside of the car and it is very basic, the steering wheel is not clean circle and it is very obvious. Also when you switch to a rear view you don't get a realistic rear view through the back window like you did in FarCry 3, but a plain full screen rear view, which is very lazy. A fun and effective thing to do is to hack the traffic lights, causing all the lights to go green and cause a pile up, very entertaining and useful to stop vehicles that you are chasing or to stop those that are chasing you. However this is let down by how fake it is. All the cars slam their pedals down, even if it makes no sense for them to do it and deliberately veer towards each other in a very unnatural way. Sometimes it looks realistic, but i think this is just chance, most of the time it is very unconvincing.

A.I: For the most part this is good, they have decent path finding and if you hack a bridge and bring it up to stop them they will quickly find a way around. Excessive hacking in a restricted are will lead to them realising what is going on and actively hunting you out. However they don't really work that well as a team, but as reasonably clever individuals. When they know you're position they are very slow to separate and flank you and it is all too easy to take advantage of this and break the numerical advantage they had.

SOUND EFFECTS: These need to be better, they are passable but not realistic, the guns do not sound like the very well made gun sounds of FarCry 3, which is a shame, how hard is it for these to be shared within the company? There are also no noticeable echo effects within closed areas. The vehicles sound okay, but there's nothing special here.

Xbox 360 CONTROLLER SUPPORT: Spot on. This is integrated properly, meaning you can use the controller from the moment the game starts up (and before in Uplay) and seamlessly switch between it and a M&KB with all of the prompts changing appropriately.

So far it seems more like an interesting idea than a finished game.
Don't get me wrong i am having fun with it, there's some good stuff here and i still have a lot to experience in the online features of the game, but it could be a lot better.

If you have any questions leave a comment, i know that there is a lot more to add to this...edits and updates due.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Game looks and plays nothing like what was advertised, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
Game looks and plays nothing like what was advertised.

Visuals have been downgraded and physics are extremely clunky.
The PC port of this game has had no care at all, horrible mouse acceleration and very badly optimized.
The online servers are also very slow and multi-player is a lag fest, There is no anti cheat in multilayer as well so expect to fight invincible players.

Safe your money and buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man, if your system can handle this beauty and you can get past the customer access lock that is U(No)play you're in for treat!, 30 May 2014
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
(Purchased on green man gaming originally via uplay key)
================================================
Some things that may help those with technical issues preventing them from trying / liking this game:
>In Uplay turning off cloud data syncing and using the proxy internet feature can help get you playing.
>Anti-aliasing up to or over level 4 and textures above high are usually the culprits for sluggish memory performance in this game, keep it below level for and stay away from the texture level at 3Gb requirement if you don't have 4GB on the graphics memory
>It's a longshot but this might help with some technical issues with games, it helped me with Saints Row 3 (as meeting / being over spec alone didn't), bear in mind I believe this is a motherboard tweak therefore it could fry your machine, you've been warned!!! [...]
>This is helpful too: [...]
================================================

================================================
(DISCLAIMER, I have not played the overly mentioned / compared and legendarily lauded GTAV)
(10hrs played thus far)
Everything on high or ultra-settings, Anti-aliasing on level 4 or less
================================================

================================================
Review:
Man, if your system can handle this beauty and you can get past the customer access lock that is U(Don't)Play then you're in for a freaking treat!

Whereas COD Ghosts was pronounced as the great next hope / next gen future (it wasn't), this is the closest I've experienced to that by a AAA studio (I've seen this in the indie space with games like Terraria and Starbound) in my opinion (not necessarily in the visuals as lush as those are especially when you get some rain, light and puddles involved much like Sleeping Dogs).

The real next-gen 'ness of this game is in the amazing AI. The depth the profiler gives to this Chicago's inhabitants is immense (Bob works as Floral designer and purchases porn regularly, Jane is a Sex Addict, Marcus left a stash of goodies by the rail tracks). In addition to this people react to things like walking around with a gun (as you'd expect) and even go as far as calling the police, pedestrians actually respond to your car horn and run in the right direction as not to get mowed over, steal a car in front of a passer-by and they'll let you know they saw that and the police will be looking around in the area for your car soon after; it's all there just at another level. Even some of the mini-games are worthy of a quality arcade / separate lower priced indie game collection in their own right.

It's clear that Ubisoft has blended their past best works (namely Far Cry 3 and Assassin's Creed 2 to name a few) into a rich, detailed, open-world dystopian hackverse. There is loads of things to do, see and find so if you like a linear focused game with little going on look elsewhere. Also the game does a good job of punishing illegal actions without overly penalising you, for example injuring pedestrians while driving will cost you some 'good' rep but mowing them over GTA style will be much more painful (being able to actually drive is required here although admittedly tweaking your settings / practice helps controls-wise). Police chases are the most intelligent, varied and nicely challenging I've experienced since Driver 1 on the PS.

It's a real shame Ubisoft have created such an anti-steam system (and perhaps not the best optimised for weaker / AMD Graphics machines) that is giving so much ammunition to those that like to obtain the goods in the way the system was created to prevent in the first place or those that are simply anti publisher / establishment, because there is a really special experience here that many are probably going to miss because of all the bad (in many cases flawed / fake) reviews from always more vocal minority (of course many of those that are having genuine technical issues are in their right to vent) because the others are too busy enjoying it (I really do feel for all those that have / surpass the specs and still can't play the game they have waited long and paid for due to optimisation / u(no)play :()
================================================
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, pretty good., 11 Sept. 2014
By 
D. C. BROWN (West, west cornwall, on the very edge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
This is quite a good game. I have a GTx 760. I have had no problems downloading and playing the game. No crashing or any software glitches. Uplay works fine. The game, it kept me going for about a month. I am a slow careful player and like to do all of the side missions. I think if a player just ran though the main mission as fast as possible it could be completed in a few hours. Parts of the game play do get repetitive. But for me just about the right side of boring. The graphics are good, the city is well rendered. You can drive for miles and never see the same thing. The driving does take some getting used to. But with practice it possible drive about at high speed and hardly crash or kill civilians. The multiplayer component is fun.
Overall not the best game ever, but playable. However in the end, I'm not sure if I would play it through again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazeballs, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
I've only played this for two hours as its now 3:41am and my eyes are trying to weld themselves shut despite my will power to play this awesome game.

In that two hours I've managed to play the first mission, drive cars, a bike, a boat, ride the overground, find an island with a lighthouse and watch the sunset, oh and hack whole bunch of stuff (traffic lights are the funniest so far). Immense amounts of fun!

Graphics are superb although I did notice the the late spawning of a few things which seemed a bit glitchy but this is a very minor problem.

Seriously recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The game is reminiscent of Assassin's Creed and others of that ilk so if you like that style of game you will probably enjoy thi, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
I haven't really been able to play this very much to date as there were problems getting logged on to the Ubisoft servers when the game first came out.

I did determine that playing is going to need the user of a control pad as the keyboard controls just don't flow well. The game is reminiscent of Assassin's Creed and others of that ilk so if you like that style of game you will probably enjoy this.

I am enjoying the variation in the game which seems much more freeform than I was expecting. Steal a car, speed off. Abandon it in a side street near your target. Sneak up to the corner and then start hacking the camera across the street.... So many ways you can do things that don't occur at first glance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ehhh.., 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
It's really not that great of a game.

Very disappointed with Ubisoft.

Fair to say I won't be purchasing anything else from Ubisoft in a good while until they prove themselves to be reliable, hopefully in their next releases the content isn't a let down and extremely lacklustre, the engine buggy and poor in performance.

2/10 - IGN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buggy game that is confused about its identity, 7 July 2014
By 
R. Desai "raj" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
Audio did not work through speakers (optical connection), only headphones ... Logged a call with ubisoft support who were no help. Slow replies from ubisoft support where they eventually ended up asking me the same questions for information i had already provided. This audio bug is a known issue that affected other people. I experienced a host of other issues from stuttering video / crashes / slowdown which i managed to resolve by goggling like crazy on the internet to see how others resolved. Very disappointed considering my system has 16 gig / 780ti and 4770k which more than meets the required specifications.

I quite liked the game when it worked initially however it quickly became very samey, repetitive missions with limited variety. The main story was good however the game seemed confused, its supposed to offer the option to be hacking based yet forces you to fight in many places. I tried playing as hacking focused and you can do a lot via hacking however it takes far longer to do so than just killing people with a gun. So we're left with a gta / kings hybrid with combat and a story line that's not as good as its rivals. If the game integrated hacking to a greater extent / there were more hacking options i might review it differently. Oh.. and the driving is bad though chances are by now you'll know all this from the other reviews.

Definitely has potential and some very cool moments, some of the side games are very cool, i would give the game 3 stars if it wasn't so buggy and Ubisoft support so bad. At the current price i would avoid the game since it does not deliver value. I would wait for the game of the year version since you'll get all the DLC and the bugs should be fixed by then plus the price will drop. At the moment its too expensive for a buggy game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bug central!!!, 15 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Watch Dogs Digital Deluxe Edition [Download] (Software Download)
the game is unplayable due to stuttering and my pc is pretty hefty! AMD FX 8150, overclocked 4.2ghs, 2x gtx 680 sli, 16gig ram@ 1866mhz now I sure that should be able to play it well with pretty much everything full......... shame on you ubisoft!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews