Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2014
I've completed the game and enjoyed the majority of it. It focuses on our increasing dependence on technology, and through upgrades as you progress, you can hack and tamper with multiple parts of the world. Decent story line too, as games go. One thing I did get frustrated on was the incredible speed Police vehicles and choppers arrive around you...literally within about 5 seconds or less, and in infinite numbers. A few missions became very frustrating and highly unrealistic. All in all, a decent game, and I did not suffer any issues other reviewers have such as freezing/crashing...maybe I was just lucky.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
There has been so much negativity about the game mainly due to technical problems. If you have AMD card or CPU then you may have problems running the game but Nivdia users have had some lesser graphical problems too. I have a GTX 750 TI 2Gb/intel I5 cpu and its mostly been okay (had to do a lot of experimenting with settings due to some shadow flickering but seems to be okay now with settings on high). The one and only problem I'm getting is walls of texture appearing in random places (which you can walk through and only see from certain angles). Havent found a fix for this :(

So graphic problems aside the game play itself is fun. Maybe not the best storyline ever or the best side missions but still fun. The hacking is great when your running about the city just causing mayhem (stealing money, causing piles ups, getting information etc) but also useful in missions if your trying to stop the cops chasing you. I find the police chases great and the hacking element just adds to the fun (feels great when you manage to make a cop car crash into some bollards). There are other side activites too which are great but don't really fit in with the serious story line (Ie controlling a giant robotic spider or shooting holographic space aliens) however they are great fun to play. You also have the option to go in all guns blazing into missions or try a stealth approach using hacking or a mixture of both. The driving takes some getting used to (cars tend to slide like there on ice round corners). Not sure if its meant to be different to most other driving games or they just buggered that part up :). I also use a xbox controller and would imagine it wouldn't be easy to drive with the keyboard and mouse (game seems desgined with contoller in mind)

Theres plenty to do and as long as your not expecting the best game ever you wont be disappointed (although maybe wait until Ubisoft optomise the game (should be soon) and/or price drops a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Watch Dogs blends cutting-edge technologies and sophisticated game design into a realistic and living open world where players must use any means at their disposal to take down a corrupt system.

One-button hacking might be overly simplistic, but it does give you abilities that make playing through Aiden’s story feel powerful and fun. Doing side missions and multiplayer as you make your way through the dark and lengthy story makes it feel like a huge adventure, and stealth options let you play smart if you prefer. Car chases aside, Watch Dogs is fundamentally very well made, and has more than enough unique ideas to make it a great and memorable open-world action game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Pre-ordered the game 2 months ahead of the release thinking that I would be one the first to play so contacted uplay and they said "your game will be available at 12:00 in you region" so woke up at 12, game is not available on uplay game library. 9am in morning and still no game available. Game by ubisoft/uplay gets a midnight release by big retailers, their own game gets a pre-load on steam, their own game is available to download on Amazon at bang on 12am but its not available on uplay.

EDIT- This game does struggle with AMD cards as it is not fully optimised for AMD cards, however great story link which overweighs all the negatives. AMD will release new drivers soon and hopefully get that "25%" extra performance. This game is definitely fun and I would highly recommend buying it.
99 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
So I've played the 1st 6 missions -
Graphically on pc it's not worth the hype Far Cry 3 and Assassins Creed 4 look much better. The city looks best at night however In the day time the city looks washed out - not a patch on FC 3.
The story is good, so far, and hacking is different.
Playing on ultra settings on Gtx780m 337.50 drivers. Game stutters a little but only when driving - I'm sure this issue will be patched soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
This is actually quite a dull game. I was hoping for an open world experience with a real sci fi edge - but instead it's basically a standard sand box game where you can use your mobile to override the odd system. The story line is pretty basic too - I'd give it a miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Avoid this game as it is unplayable even on a reasonably good rig. I have an fx 6300 and a HD 7850 but even on low settings I get huge framerate drops and during driving segments the game lags so much it becomes unplayable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Full imersive game. Can go on a bit and difficult to pick up as no manual and in game hints are very basic but good fun to play
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
I struggled to play this when I downloaded it. After a few updates on the software and the graphics card, it got much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
I was quite excited for this game especially when I had seen the E3 trailer to it a couple years before its release and the graphics on the trailer were incredible and the game looked like a fun game to play. However when I bought this and started to play this game the graphics were nothing like what it had been shown on the trialer and Uplay was down a lot so on the first day it was unplayable on the day of its release. I was wondering why the graphics were not as good as shown on the trailer but then it came out that Ubisoft had actually dumbed down the graphics on the PC version, which is ridiculous. Not only is it the graphics that were disappointing but the gameplay is extremely boring and the characters just don't stand out at all. I would say to stay away from this game and save your money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)