Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
12
Another World - A Tribute to Bob Dylan
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 October 2015
Bought this because I heard the brilliant version of I Want You by Burma Orchestra Saing Waing but apart from that track (5 stars) and Pura Das Baul's Mr Tamourine Man (4 stars) and Musicians of The Nile's version of Tangled Up In Blue (4 stars) I found nothing of interest in the remaining ten tracks. Most of the songs were unidentifiable, didn't even recognize the tunes in some cases. Looking at it as straight forward world music CD, it has it's moments and I'm loathe to criticise the bands included here who were given a difficult task. I know Buda Records and they have some terrific stuff in their catalogue and they're dedicated people but for once they just had a good idea that failed for me. Check it out before you buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2014
If you like Bob Dylan's style, and the world music genre, then you'll probably like most of the tracks on this CD. Some tracks work better than others and a few take some getting used to. There are a few genuinely loverly pieces. So, it's worth a go.

I wonder what Bob makes of it?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2015
wacky way to gain insight into the dylan-monde
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2014
Some versions a bit too deferntial, perhaps - but nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2014
Par excellence, a testimony to how the lyrics of Bob Dylan travel so effortlessly into foreign lands, his lyrics will live on and on..so much older then, younger than that now'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2015
quite good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2014
The key word here is "Tribute" as the majority of these versions bear little resemblance to the songs that they claim to be based upon.
It is well nigh impossible for a North American or Western European ear to judge the quality of these performances.
A few tracks are easily recognisable but they are at best quirky versions of the originals.
I greatly prefer the sound track from "Masked and Anonymous " to which I have seen this compared. to sum up it isn't bad but just very different and regrettably will not be getting many plays on my CD player
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2013
A very strange collection, I like it. You can sing these tunes all over the world. The most beautiful thing is that there isn't something close to the original but they bring the text into own musical culture
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
Two of these songs were featured on Sean Rowley's Joy of Music, they were both radically different but were terrific
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here