Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive playlist - Elton John Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
54
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2013
Wow, from the opening guitar intro on 'Soul Station' through to the final track 'Going Home' this is an excellent album. Joanne has a mature raspy voice that is so good for singing the blues. Some of the tracks are recorded in London which is a bonus! 'Watch them burn' is from a previous album White Sugar please see my review on that one. This is though an eight minute version with all that you would expect from a live track, guitar solo and that live edge which you get from a good audience. She does justice to a Jimi Hendrix classic ''Manic Depression' with her own excellent guitar work and support from the rest of the band. The track 'Jealousy' should also be highlighted, it in a more laid back style of blues, full of emotion and very soulful. Overall a very good album, it's a shame I can't award this five and a half stars!
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I have seen Joanne a couple of times live and she is great live, this Cd really catches the atmosphere of her concerts. If you like good guitar blues get it
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
JST is just a prolific guitarist and the dvd allows you to see how talented she is. To have a music format cd in the package too, allows her work to be listened anywhere. A must have for JST fans and blues rock fans alike.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Always worth a listen but live is so much better. This album does a good job of capturing the freshness of JST's live shows, a great selection of songs, blistering solos and a real atmosphere. Buy it and play it loud.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
An excellent CD and DVD set that captures Joanne at her best. Great live guitar player! Both the Telecaster and the Les Paul guitars sound great in her hands...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
The series "Songs from the Road" is a great idea, having both a live cd and dvd. I have several of this series, and this one by Joanne Shaw Taylor is excellent. I've heard Joanne before playing a Fender Telecaster and was interested to hear how she would sound on a Gibson Les Paul (guitar afficionadas will understand the difference between the two). Simply put, she sounds superb. Some narrow-minded reviewers do not give women much credit with regards to blues, but Ruf Records have released a number of women blues albums, and both the albums and Ruf are highly commended for this. Joanne's playing is superb, her phrasing is just right for the songs, and you probably realise that I love it. Check it out, and check Ruf Records other releases in this series. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
I've been a big fan of Joanne Shaw Taylor since I first saw her almost 17 years ago, and have all her CDs. Its been a long-time coming this live album, but well worth the wait. Its fantastic, and shows off her effortless talent as a guitarist, not to mention her great voice and excellent set of songs. Top notch blues! A must for her fans! If you haven't heard her before, where have you been? Do yourself a favour and buy this CD - its worth every penny!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2017
This must have been a fantastic concert to attend so fortunately with this cd you get a DVD of the concert anyway. Joanne is in good voice throughout but the real star of the show is her guitar playing which is just incredible. Energetic or restrained as required she works her way through a very enjoyable set list with her top notch band on top notch form. Look forward to future releases from this young lady of the blues. Saw her live supporting Joe Bonamassa and she did not disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
"Jealousy" is a great track. It's a live performance. It's hard to criticise music that is, well, just sublime. But as in her live concert in Birmingham (Nov 2013), for me the loud rock sound almost drowns out her superb artistry. Still brilliant, nevertheless!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Cannot believe I had never heard of this wonderful talented lady. I know I live in the deepest darkest tropics of Australia but a muso of such great talents should not have ben so hidden away. Perhaps the best album I have heard in the last two or three years. Loved the note perfect rendition of Manic Depression. reminds me of Stevie ray and Little Wing!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.19
£7.99
£6.90
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)