Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2017
A fantastic read from beginning to end, funny is a word is that not only describes the characters but the story line is hilarious, to say I laughed out loud reading the book is an understatement. Well written well funny and well just read it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Another enjoyable book in the series. This wouldn't be out of place in an Ealing comedy - excellent read - looking forward to starting the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Light hearted escapism. I enjoyed it and am now reading the next in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Well worth the read thoroughly enjoyed ready to read the next one.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Another brilliant piece of work by Henry which had me laughing out loud in parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
ordered by mistake as i have no kin dle reader.no way to cancel/
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
This is the second book concerning the goings on of the quintessential English Village of Stonley. I have read the first book which I loved and this was as brilliant as the first. These books can be read in any order if you so wish.

Once again I was transported back to this wonderful place and time when things were simpler and loads of fun. The humour is very subtle at times, and in other places its outright in your face. An Ealing Comedy and a typical theatre style farce this book is a lot of laughs with a lot of plot.

So settle into your favourite armchair in front of a roaring fire and put your feet up for a really great read, you will not be disappointed. And in the summer the armchair and roaring fire can be replaced with a deck chair and a beach (handkerchief on head optional).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Do not panic! You only need the tissues to dry your tears of laughter!

This is a brilliant follow up to An English Custom.An English Custom Laugh out loud moments keep you turning the pages to see what on earth the author has thought up next to tickle your fancy! All of my fave characters from the first book are still there and some of the shenanigans they get up to are positively eye watering. Poor Bob! I will never look at a lampshade in the same way again!

If you can actually see past the wonderfully funny antics of the inhabitants of Stonely, the book is very well written with excellent description and atmosphere. It makes you wish there were still places like this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Hilariously funny! Better even than the first in the Stonely series - and I really do hope it becomes a series. Not a book that you read for depth, it is a book you read for fun, and there is a lot of fun in this book. Stonely in the 50s gets ready to welcome electricity, which has somehow avoided the village so far. 'Welcome' isn't perhaps the correct word, as the villagers see no need for it. When the workmen move in, the villagers get to work - with hilarious results. All the best characters from the first book are there, including the Major, his half-brother and the son of one of them (being Stonely, neither is sure which one is his father). Mix in a German handyman who is so popular in the village that they hide from the authorities the fact that he should be a prisoner of war - and then they learn that the electric company need to dig up the field where his plane is hidden! Enter the barmaid who has it all (or had them all) and the fun really takes off (as, for a while, does the plane). And what happens to the project manager.....don't even think about it! You don't need to read the first book, but buy them together and get twice the fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
in the best traditions. As it follows on from An English Custom it continues the madcap 1950's village through being electrified. I say madcap yet it was probably quite normal for a small village at that time and of course, they have secrets and fabulous ways and means to keep those secrets.
If I had not read these books I would have been unaware of what great fun I had missed but now I am. The challenge now will be to find as good again, and after trashing my way through everything Tom Sharp some time ago I now feel a little disappointed that James Henry hasn't written another, or a film, or a TV series which these books would suit so well. Woe is me.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse