Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
22
4.4 out of 5 stars
It's Not Cricket!
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


on 14 March 2015
I have had "It's Not Cricket" in my to-read list for a long time (Sorry, Mr Ravenscroft!), and considered it was good timing to read during the current World Cup taking place in Australia and New Zealand. What a perfect way to ease the pain of England's disappointing performance and Australia's none-too-spectacular start!

This book has many laughs per page. An absolute must for fans of British humour, it's "A Casual Vacancy" meets "Bodyline", and then throw in "Last of the Summer Wine" and a good dose of "Carry on...". Add inspiration from "Grand Designs", "The Goodies" and Pam Ayres' poetry, and you'll end up on the set of "Midsomer Murders".

The story is peppered with tall tales of village scullduggery as we follow the fate of a retired cricketing superstar (Jonny Pickering) who moves to the countryside for some peace and quiet. Or so he thought... The nefarious slew of temptations, bribes and inducements offered by both rival cricket teams backfire on poor Jonny, who sustains multiple injuries in the process.

Readers don't need to understand cricket to enjoy the humour in this book. For those needing a little help, the author provides a choice of definitions at the beginning of each chapter... The multitude of theatrical asides and observations about human nature are hilarious in their accuracy! I can't wait to read more of Mr Ravenscroft's work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
A very funny book - but with several totally maddening mistakes. The plot is that the recently-retired England cricket captain, an all-rounder of Botham-level achievements, comes to live in a village now split into two villages - and deadly rivals to each other. Each wants him to play for them, and the story is about their hilarious efforts to secure his services. Interspersed are accounts of previous matches between the villages, just as hilarious, which serve to explain why the two villages distrust and dislike each other so much. But the mistakes! One minute the Lower Medlock cricket captain (Duckworth) is talking to his vice-captain - then it's the Upper Medlock captain (Marchbank) having the conversation. One minute the Lower Medlock team are in the pub - then it's the Upper Medlock team. Why are there so many of these annoying and frustrating mistakes? Was there no editing, no proof-reading? Utterly amateurish. But the story, the humour, saves the book, and in the end it is very, very funny.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 February 2014
I think I may have read all of Terry Ravenscroft's books starting with Stairlift to Heaven - possibly the funniest book ever written and he has maintained his form in this book.

The nearest he has done to this is Captains Day about golf which is also side splittingly funny even if you don't play. In the same way It's Not Cricket needs no prior knowledge of the game to find it highly amusing.

What I like about Ravenscroft is that he is a bit rude. Now, not in the offensive way that most of the so called comics are today on TV, but more targeted. The use of four letter swear words is held to a minimum but when used they are like a rapier of wit. When the local trollop uses her charms on our hero, Ravenscroft manages to turn sex into something so funny I could not help myself but laugh out loud.

In a nutshell we have here a book of rare genius. It will make you laugh out loud and not many books can do that. Just keep it away from the younger children in your family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
As a cricket fan I loved this hilarious book on the subject! The complexed interaction between the characters blends to create a laugh a minute page turner! Even if you don't like cricket you cannot fail to be amused by this book as the characters will be familiar from everyone's own lives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
This book starts off well but, in my opinion gets worse and worse as it goes on. I did not like the ending, and it was made worse by the fact that the last 10% of the book is just extracts from the authors other publications.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
This is the third book I have read by Terry Ravenscroft. I do not expect to find it in the short list for The Booker Prize. Nor I suspect does Mr. Ravenscroft. If you are looking for serious thought provoking literature I suggest this is probably not for you. If however a funny, at some times quite earthy read is more your style, especially if you have a passing interest in cricket or life in small villages you will enjoy this book. Holidays or long journeys, perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2016
A very enjoyable comedy romp, with two or three pages eliciting genuine belly laughs and uncontrollable giggled. However, there are numerous cases of either bad proof reading or terrible grammar and when the story centres around two halves of the same village, I don't expect the author to confuse the two on more than one occasion. Sloppy writing and/or proof reading and/or translation to an e-book.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
One of the funniest books I have read in years. This book has it all. Thank you and keep them coming
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
I have never left a book review before but felt compelled to do so after reading this book.
Absolutely brilliant! You don't have to be anyway near a cricket buff to enjoy this look. I found myself laughing out loud in the work canteen (I still laugh now at the "Piggy" Higgingbottom paragraph !!!).
I am now going to try more Terry Ravenscroft stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
A funny tale about two halves of a village and their attempt to secure the best batsman for their cricket team. Would recommend this for a light -hearted read. I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)