Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2014
This is great stuff - Ms Le Bon continues to grow and get better while somehow retaining that clatter bang noise. It’s probably been said before but there is a big nod to Nico in her voice shot through with her strong Welsh accent. However, the vocal melodies bring to mind none other than Syd Barrett so we are on strong 60's underground reference points already. Add to that echoes of Lou Reed's clanging VU rhythm guitar and stabs of John Cale electric organ to make that mix headier and headier. However, this is not a nostalgic trip down psychedelic way. Cate Le Bon's lyrics go nowhere near Reeds dirty NYC streets, Nico's devastation or Syd's sad whimsy. Her lyrics seem to deal with being a woman in the now; they are strong, independent, clever and funny. And in every way, work alongside the music. So, if you are paused over the 'buy' button, press it!! You won’t be disappointed.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
I have played Me Oh My, Cyrk and the Cyrk II EP a lot over the last year or so, and even though
all these releases are somewhat uneven, they hold a solid number of brilliant songs that I keep
playing; "Me Oh My", "Sad Sad Feet", "Shoeing The Bones", "Falcon Eyed", "Puts Me To Work", "Cyrk",
"What Is Worse", "The Eiggy Sea" and "That Moon".

The first two songs that was made available from "Mug Museum", the supersweet, flickering "Are You
With Me Now?" and the sad and elegant "I Think I Knew", raised my expectations for the album sky high,
and after listening to it for three days it's still these two songs that stand out the most.

The first half of the album is very good, and in addition to the aforementioned songs, you'll find a few
other great ones, the Stereolab-sounding groove of "I Can't Help You" and the slowburning "No God".
Much have been made about the high notes at the end of "Duke", and a few reviewers even suggested it
ruined an otherwise good song. Oh, did it really? I don't understand what the fuzz is about. A few high
notes at the end, and they go hiding in the grass? Very, very strange behavior.

With the exception of "Sisters", the album loose steam after "I think I knew". There are some nice or
strangely captivating moments on almost every songs, but not enough to hold the weaker songs togheter.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Cat Le Bon reminds me a little of Marianne Faithfull in some of these tracks. By far the catchiest is 'Are You With Me Now?'. None of the other tracks were quite as outstanding after that. But I enjoyed listening to the album overall, for that 60s feel and the super vocals.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Totally hooked by this album. It is refreshingly out of the ordinary and filled with very catchy tunes and interesting musical twists. Cate has a very distinctive chiming guitar style and although she is not possessed of a big voice it is very tuneful and has a soft delicacy which makes for a very endearing sound. Also, you have to love that Welsh accent coming out in some of the lyrics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
If ever an album mirrored the Arsenal career of Arsene Wenger, this was it.
Cate Le Bon's third release starts brilliantly, falls away badly in the middle, and recovers slightly (but not enough) towards the end.
Using classy retro cover art, Le Bon captures the magic of a vinyl release, and divides the 10 tracks equally between Sides 1 and 2. Given the clear disparity in quality between the tracks on the two sides, this is a blunder.
The five songs that comprise Side 1 are truly excellent; tracks 6 and 7 would be considered filler even on a lesser album, and while tunes 8-10 are a huge improvement on them, they are still disappointing when compared to those on Side 1.
Le Bon's voice is a delight throughout, and the aforementioned artwork is tremendous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I've listened to this album six times and it gets a little better each time. Don't expect pop music, this is a little strange with odd timing and discordant notes. I like it a lot, her voice is different and interesting and she doesn't use 'autotune', good for her. Reminds me a little of Captain Beefheart and Melt Banana.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
this is beautiful, mysterious, quirky and powerful music. i've become a massive cate fan after buying it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
This record is great on my record player, needs to be played from start to finish with nice wine, or a cup of tea!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
bonkers. not always an easy ride, but one of a kind, work at it and it's infectious. Da iawn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
This CD is truly wonderful. Buy it and see her live too.
She is just great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£7.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)