Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2013
Purchased laptop without any prior knowledge of the laptop. This was a mistake. The laptop is excellent and meets basic needs but the issue surrounding the Intel WLAN/ wifi connection on windows 8 is frustrating. It struggles to connect every time and can drop 3-4 times a day, until this is suitably fixed, I'd suggest to look elsewhere for a laptop in a similar price bracket.
99 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
I purchased this for the discounted price of £299 and for the money this represented the best deal I could find on a "new laptop" meeting my requirements. (Word processing, internet browsing and light video editing with a HDMI connection for streaming to the TV)

It has an i3 3rd gen M3110 processor which has better performance than the Celeron 1xxxU, Pentium 2xxxU and i3-3217/3117U processors that are on sale in many £279-379 laptops
It's very quiet in use and doesn't appear to get overly hot on your lap even when editing videos which seems to push the processor.
Boot time in around 1min 45 into windows.
For internet browsing, photos, general Office apps, this laptop is more than capable.
There is 1 unused RAM slot for upgrading with an additional 4gb of memory to take the total RAM to 8gb which should give it another years life too!
Be patient with the updates to win 8 to 8.1 - makes the system seem more sluggish than it really is to begin with.

Negative points are slightly "light spongy" feeling keys and not fantastic viewing angles on the screen. That said, you adjust to the keyboard soon enough and for a single user use the screen is fine. It's a £299 laptop so these issues are more and acceptable in my mind.

Overall extremely happy. And well done amazon for a fast delivery.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I really love this laptop, however I have had to return it as it has major issues connecting and staying connected to wifi. This is a model wide problem which we discovered after the laptop arrived and we experienced issues which led us to the internet for solutions. I have not been able to get this laptop to stay connected at all. If you need consistent internet on your laptop then this model is not for you.

I am very disappointed as apart from the wifi problems it's great, but as I use my laptop to help run an online shop and a lot of my work is done online, this laptop is unworkable.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Bought this for my son. Amazed what 300 odd pounds buys you these days. A great basic laptop. Make sure you update it to windows 8.1 as this seems to resolve some wifi issues (and it also is a much better system than 8.0). Highly recommended for kids or basic users. Keyboard is good, build quality is good, feels nice and sturdy, since is good, not too thick, not super small. Really happy with my purchase actually :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
The heading says it all. I was used to a PC with XP op system so I was gobsmacked by the new stuff which comes with Windows 8. I actually hated it because there was so much to learn. Now I am starting to appreciate what it offers and have buckled down. The Lenovo itself performs well. I still don't like the keyboard & I am keeping my old PC for extended typing exercises. I have not yet come to terms with the Lenovo so-called Bloatware. When I have a month to spare I will look at some of the options like backup but meanwhile I have hidden some of the icons. Nice slim case adequate usb's & a disk drive. Have not yet tried music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
EDIT: With the help of another Amazon reviewer the wifi problem mentioned below has been solved... for a few days. I already owned a wifi dongle so I've plugged that in and everything is fine. Highly disappointing that the wifi is such an issue but it is solvable.

--------------------------------------

The Lenovo G500s does exactly what a laptop in this price range should do. The only problem? I received mine and it worked fine. After two days, the wifi kept dropping out. A quick Google found that this is a common problem but unfortunately Lenovo offer no concrete solution - trust me, I tried every one. I sent my laptop back and quickly received a replacement. It's taken two weeks but now that one is having wifi issues. Until Lenovo sort this out and give a solution (calling their customer support now only yields "it's a driver issue") I can't recommend buying what is a otherwise a really awesome laptop.
1010 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
Suggested this to my wife when she needed a budget Windows laptop. It had no reviews at this stage, and 'coming soon' under the description on the Lenovo website suggested it might be a new model.

First things first, despite the description from Amazon, this laptop does not have an IPS screen. Unfortunately this was the main drawcard for buying this over other similarly priced products.
We own a couple of Maccbooks, and work laptops are normally of a fairly high spec and build quality, so I was a bit unsure of what we were buying.

The laptop is large and heavy, and there's some flex from the chassis and screen if you're not careful. Matt black finish, not slippery to pick up. Size and weight would indicate it as a desktop replacement, rather than something to be carted around or used on the sofa.

Keyboard is pretty dire. The keys aren't backlit, and they are particularly short travel. The inclusion of a separate numeric keypad directly to the right of the shift and return keys makes them difficult to find. Spacebar seems shorter than usual. Because of the numeric keys everything seems off centre, but this may be a matter of familiarity. The trackpad, isnt up to the standard of Lenovos business offerings, being pretty unresponsive, and not very tactile. Multi gesture support is pretty hit and miss.

Performance is acceptable, though its only being used for Excel - I cant comment on handling of more demanding applications.

Screen is fair, viewing angles just about acceptable for two people next to each other to view the screen ok. Obviously at this resolution and screen size there's pixellation visible if you look closely, but thats fine, it's only recently that people started looking at ppi counts, and its not important for our usage.

I suspect that this is an average budget laptop, hence three stars.

Since its only for occassional use, and for a particular task then its acceptable, but no more. At the price we paid (Amazon had it discounted by 20% over rrp) its fine, but if it was my only laptop I'd definitely return it and look elsewhere, for something with a better keyboard and more sturdy build, probably in a 14" size.
The description of the screen type as IPS is something that Amazon need to correct- IPS at this price would have been a major selling point.
55 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
I bought this as a family laptop. Once we got used to the new Windows set up and the annoying charms icons we disabled, it's a treat. It starts up under a minute, browse websites in an instant, nice keyboard and very light weight but not flimsy. Very pleased with my decision to buy this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Bought this because I felt my 10year old (Windows XP) Dell desktop might soon expire. Laptop itself is very good, although I probably would have been better choosing Touchscreen. Main difficulty is getting to grips with Windows 8.1 - no doubt I will manage in due course, but it does seem unduly and unnecessarily complicated .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
The steel brushed casing is very nice and it runs at a decent speed. It's not lighting fast, but it isn't slow either.

The keyboard is ok. It looks a bit on the cheaper side of things and the keys don't press as smoothly as I would like, but they get the job done and for the price I can't really complain.

The only thing I would complain about is the wireless card not connecting to networks as quickly as I would like, however this could be solved by a driver upgrade, but I haven't gone looking and windows is not auto updating to a newer version so it may not exist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 26 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)