Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
39
4.2 out of 5 stars
50 Real American Ghost Stories
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.22


on 26 July 2015
not as interesting as the previous books i've read from mj wayland. although these are real stories reported many years ago, they are not interesting enough for me because they are different from those i like; people's real experiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Thoroughly enjoy all books from this author :)
Tucked myself into bed and read this in one sitting, rather spooky and at times had me glancing around the room!! Highly recommended
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Un-elaborated first hand accounts of strange events. Interesting and without any spin. As Joe Friday used to say "Just the facts"
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Good stories but I am a fan of Tom Selmen. Sorry , a lot to live up to. I like my local tales where I can relate to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I thought this book was great! Short and scary knowing these stories have happened in the U.K. (and also one on a road I have often travelled on) enjoyable and intriguing
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
Rather spooky, a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
I really enjoyed this simple short book. The cases, culled from 19th century newspaper accounts from the USA have been selected carefully by the author for their interest, and everyone is fascinating. Of course this was a period when spoof journalism and lying contests are said to have led to much questionable material appearing in newspapers, but not being a social historian of the US I can't say how true that is. What I can say is that as someone well versed in apparitional cases of the period in the UK, I only wish the Census of Hallucinations material was half as entertaining as these absolute gems from across the pond.

Whether you are an expert on psychical research, or just enjoy a fine yarn, this has some absolute crackers in it. So many books of regional spook stories become a bit samey, because let's face it most ghost stories are at the end of the day very similar. These aren't, and the skill here is not just in the exhaustive research that must have gone in to the book, but in the perfect selection of stories to scare, enthral and entertain. Some of these are just plain weird -- and all the better for it!

If you like a spooky tale, buy this book. A bit short, but more fun than most ghost books I've read (or written) since i was a teen. Sheer indulgent fun, and may thrown up some interesting ideas for future research too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I have enjoyed this book because it tells you the story without smothering the story with irrelevant info just so it fills more chapter's.
The story s are concise and individual and each has its own grade I would recommend this book it does keep you interested and wanting to know more on what the book has to offer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
A very interesting read, quite gripping at times without being silly about the subject. An objective book just right for the more sceptic of readers of the subject.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
After reading the first 50 ghost stories book i decided to purchase this one as well. I enjoyed this one as much as the first. Thank you again MJ Wayland.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)