Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2014
At The Newport Folk Festival in 1963, popular folk trio, Peter, Paul and Mary, sang "Blowin' In The Wind." Said Peter, "as written by the most important folk artist in America." He referred of course to, Bob Dylan, where his own singing captivated both audiences and critics alike thus ending his time as a wandering minstrel who slept in doorways, on park benches, or anywhere he could find. There is no doubt that Bob Dylan is the undisputed king of the folk rock that swept across the States and Britain during 1965. His songs combined the big beat with folk themes of unsentimental love, and protest, and were sensationally successful! He was born in 1941 and by the age of 15 had taught himself to play the harmonica, piano, guitar and autoharp. His wanderings across the states brought him into contact with all kinds of folk music from songs sung by negro-blues artists, to cowboy ballads. Possibly the greatest influence on him was his hero and great friend, Woody Guthrie, the father of white folk music. But you already know all this don't you? In short, 1963 was the big turning point for him.
His first million selling record came in 1965 and tells the story of a girls fall from boarding school to street walker; and is called, "LIKE A ROLLING STONE." This album contains 18 trax, each one depicting a particular time in his development, and a particular style in his presentation. And that is one of the wonderful things about Dylan, he is not predictable in the manner he uses his vocal chords and very often if you compared tracks you might be forgiven for thinking they were sung by different people!
This album should be in any self respecting music lovers collection regardless of whichever road you follow, because Bob Dylan is important. Young people have taken Jake Bugg to their hearts. A young Dylan I thought when I first heard him. Listen too to his stories, obviously he has been influenced by Dylan and those who clamber for Mr Buggs' music should lend an ear to this collection of some of the best of Bob Dylan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Great selection. Some old, some newer. All worth listening to. Much of the anger has gone from his newer songs, replaced by more reflective lyrics. The only one missing which I would have liked to be included is Jokerman. "Lay lady lay" will never be bettered, or "Don't think twice it's alright". If you aren't sure about Dylan, this is a good place to start. The disc arrived in very quick time and well packed. Recommended product and seller.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2016
Very pleased with this purchase, as this is actually my first BD cd!
I do have an extensive LP collection of the great man, so i thought I should at least try one cd!
So, I did and I now have had the chance to play it - extensively!
Very good selection through the vast catalogue, and you could do a lot worse than acquiring this cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 May 2016
There are far more extensive retrospectives of Bob Dylan's greatest hits available. In fact, if you want to have more, then look no further than the deluxe edition of this very 2013 compilation from Sony: The Very Best Of, where you'll also get a bonus CD containing a further 17 tracks.

This is the standard version, one CD filled with the most obvious Dylan cuts, the songs which you're average Joe in the street will be familiar with. There really wasn't any need for yet another compilation like this one, but if you're a complete newcomer to one of the most influential singer-songwriters of all ages, then this is an excellent starting point, with crystal clear sound quality.

The real essentials such as the political 'Blowin' In The Wind', rebellious 'The Times They Are-A Changing', tender Lay, Lady, Lady, the original 'Knocking On Heaven's Door, and the beautiful, poetic 'Mr. Tambourine Man' are all here, as well as the epic 'Hurricane', and the song which Adele turned into an anthem for her generation: 'Make You Feel My Love'. Dylan might never have had the most perfect of voices, but he sure knows how to deliver a cracking tune with so much conviction. This is music to make you reflect, feel relaxed, and inspired.

'The Very Best Of' CD's booklet contains no essay on Dylan, but it does at least list which studio album each of these 18 songs were taken from, as well as a few head-shots which are published. Once you hear 'the best', I have no doubt that you'll want to purchase some of those studio albums next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
BD was a most important popular song writer in the 60's, a time of great social and political upheaval and his songs often reflect this. His voice isn't great but many of his songs are and often sound better sung by other performers. If you want just 1 CD for little money to cover BD's greatest hits, then this is the one for you, perfect and very decent stereo sound too for 60's pop music. Listen to the mp3 sound bites on the link. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
... Has to have this if you purchase only one Dylan disc. The spectrum of his style and span of his years is enveloped in this album. You need it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
I heard Dylan on the radio one morning on my way to the shops singing Rolling Stone and immediately cranked up the volume. I ordered the Best of CD when I got home and it arrived on time and in good condition. Can't believe I had forgotten just how good Dylan is and wish the radio stations would play more of his music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
For the want of making a fast buck, record companies do this all the time -- the same or similar tracks arranged in a meaningless different order, and they call it 'The Best of', or 'The Very Best of', or 'The Ultimate', or 'The Essential' and so on. This release is no different except there's a de lux extended version with a DVD added! For me, Dylan is on the one hand an insincere conman, but on the other hand perhaps the world's greatest writer of lyrics. For me, the early Greenwich Village stuff is always the best, and this is proven by the number of times his work from that era has been covered by a whole host of versatile artists ... then he sold out and ceased to be a folksy protester when he appeared one night armed with an electric guitar. His gathered fans hissed, booed and virtually spat at him for becoming a commercial Judas. This 'non de lux' compilation covers both genres, so its a good cross section of all his work suitable for any collector to put in their vaults. That's all you get for your ten quid -- certainly nothing new.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
I bought this after hearing Lay Lady Lay on the radio and thinking I wouldn't mind listening to a bit more Bob Dylan. £4.99 plus small amount of postage is the best enjoyment for so little outlay I've had in a long time. As well as the handful of songs I knew there are some great tracks I'd never heard before. One in particular always brings a smile and brightens my journey to work in the mornings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This is a manipulative 'very best of'. Some of those songs go nowhere near the mark of Bob's finest work. This is the record company putting out a crummy 'best of' before Christmas and hoping for the best. Bob himself should say 'Stop it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)