Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
174
4.6 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who - The Web of Fear [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 February 2014
A worthwhile addition to my Dr Who collection. I know episode 3 was done in telesnaps, but this is far better than the animation on "The Tenth Planet". Quality good- subtitles extremely helpful. Doesn't bother me that the DVD is monochrome. Have just finished watching it, and I will be doing so again. Nice to see something I was too young to remember before (I was born Sept 1961).
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Yay it's the Yeti! Not many of Patrick Troughton's series remain and I had thought that the Abomnible Snowman monster had been wiped out for good but it has survived in the Web of Fear. One episode is partly only audio with static pictures but that doesn't effect the story at all. These are the days of intriguing adventures with a Doctor who does not have all the answers until, like a detective with infinite wisdom, he discovers the alien truth. Brilliant!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Shame episode 3 is still missing from the BBC archives but still an enjoyable story to watch the dark surroundings of the underground sets are very well made even fooled the real underground company as the BBC did ask the London Underground if they could do some location work in the real tunnels but we're refused on the grounds of health and safety. I don't even care that there are no extras as I have five new episodes of Dr Who to add to my collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
easily the best doctor series ever. never forgot it. embedded in my memory ever since i saw it for the first time. was great news the tapes were found. one of the best thing to happn to me for ages.
the series has it all. the best doctor, best baddie. still scarey for a 55 year old.takes me back to a happy childhood. thanks bbc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
I enjoyed this immensely. The second of the Yeti stories very well performed with an unexpected twist at the end of the story. One of the episodes was missing, but the BBC used photographs and an audio track to continue the story.
An excellent addition to any fan's collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2017
10/10; classic who;bizarre monsters,a claustrophobic base under siege & the first appearance of lethbridge stewart.
leagues ahead of the sniggering, pc drivel which currently claims to be Dr who.
Here we have believable characters in a strange & dangerous situation;lots of atmosphere & a first rate cast of ACTORS not SOAP STARS.
50 years on the BBC can't seem to make good family fear anymore;but at least these classics remain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
This along with The Enemy Of The World are a Doctor Who / TV Sci-Fi fan's dream come true.

Shame Episode 3 is still missing but it has been reconstructed using John Cura's Off Screen Stills and is superb.

Worth it for the price, just don't expect any new documentary or added extras as this is a bare bones release but worth it for a classic slice of 1960's British TV Sci-Fi.

I mean, it's Patrick Troughton, the introduction of Colonel Alistair Gordon Lethbridge Stewart and the Yeti in the London Underground - what more do you need?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
SO GOOD TO SEE THIS OUT ON DVD THOUGH I SUSPECT THAT THE B.B.C HAVE HELD BACK FINDS JUST TO BOOST THE 50th ANNIVERSARY YEAR, NOT AS GOOD AS YOU MIGHT THINK, AS WITH ALL LOST EPISODES THE FANS OVER THE YEARS HYPE IT UP BUT AS A LOST STORY SO GOOD TO FINALLY GET TO SEE IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 August 2014
At last, a fairly complete Yeti adventure with the second doctor. One episode is made up of a number of stills with the original soundtrack, but the other five episodes are complete and ä joy to watch. This is also one of the few early Who's that I can really see why I was scared as a child! This has kept well (dramatically).
Your collection needs this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
A recently discovered almost complete adventure with Patrick Troughtons Doctor. An absolute gem. No true fan of the show should miss it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse