Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 9 January 2015
I have owned 2 copies of this in paperback. 1 lost, 1 now so worn, I daren't read it any more. Over the years I have read this book at least 4 - 5 times before, always with years in between, & I never tire of it. I have always been fascinated by reincarnation, history and of course romance. In this book you have it all From the beginning you know how the historical section will end but that does not detract from the story of how things get to that point.
Now I have it on my kindle I am sure I will read it again sometime. LOVE IT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2017
Absolutely brilliant. Have read this book several times. If you're into reincarnation, then you need to read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2014
I had read this book years ago but had lost my copy. It was wonderful to re-visit it again. It's one of the books that I am really happy to re-read every now and then and I always find something new in it.

Anya Seton is an amazing writer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2016
Brlliant book. If you like ghost stories with a ring of truth, read this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2017
no complaints
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2017
fantastic story. couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
I just love this book. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2003
This is my all-time favourite book.
It is a compelling tale which beautifully links past and present with the ideas of reincarnation and unending love. It is based on archeological evidence and historical mysteries, and born in the atmosphere of ancient castles, monasteries and manor houses.
A truly original story that can be read over and over again, but can't ever be forgotton.
11 Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2008
I first read this book some thirty odd years ago and really enjoyed it. It was also my first introduction to the author, who is a master storyteller and wonderful writer of historical fiction. Seeing this book on my shelf, I decided to read it again. Time has certainly not diminished the capacity of this well-written book to entertain the reader.

This is a tale of star-crossed lovers and reincarnation. It is a story of passion and love that transcends time and is really two stories. One takes place in the twentieth century and the other in sixteenth century Tudor England. Combining history, romance, and suspense, it will keep the reader turning the pages.

When, after a whirlwind courtship, titled Englishman, Richard Marsdon, marries Celia Taylor, a young American heiress, it seems to be a fairytale romance. It had simply been love at first sight. While living in his ancestral home with Celia, however, Richard seems to change, withdrawing from Celia emotionally. Celia finds the change almost incomprehensible, but she, too, is having her own issues with her strange sense of deja vu. All things came to a head when they throw a house party, and something happens that causes Celia to hover between life and death.

As luck would have it, present at the time is a medical doctor and master of mysticism, Dr. Akananda. He senses that Celia must relive her past in order to understand and survive her present. The book then segues into sixteenth century Tudor England, where Celia was a young and beautiful woman, working as a servant in a nobleman's home. It explores her life and the passion that was to dominate her, body and soul.

Of the two stories that emerge, the more interesting one takes place in the past, as the author vividly brings to life the religious tumult, political strife, and jockeying for position and power that characterized Tudor England. Moreover, many of the people that Celia knows in the present have their counterparts in the past, which adds another dimension to this tale of good and evil. Splendidly told, this story of star-crossed lovers will keep the reader turning the pages. Those who enjoy well-written historical fiction with a strong infusion of romance will very much like this book.
22 Comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here