Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
26
4.0 out of 5 stars
Edition: 8.1 Pro Pack|Change
Price:£149.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2014
Despite the web page stating:
"Game Information
Platform: Windows 8
Media: CD-ROM
Item Quantity: 1"
what arrived was a small box with only a product key, but no CD-ROM. As long as you don't need a CD then this is fine. I will not review this as there are already lots of good reviews.

I would only add that Windows 8.1 is much, much better than the original Windows 8 and you will only need this Pro version if, for example, you previously upgraded from one of the more advanced versions of Windows 7 and still need extra features like BitLocker or Windows Media Centre.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Was using xp on my old laptop that died. XP allowed me to work from home and in the office but when I got a new machine it came with Windows 8 which doesn't allow you to connect to a work server. When it arrives in the box my first thought was, a waste of packaging because all you get is a credit card sized bit of cardboard with the Windows 8.1 Pro Pack Key. You have to update to Windows 8.1 first then download and install Windows 8.1 Pro Pack, surely. It's a bit long winded but it's installed and I can work anywhere now, so it's all good. Happy. ;-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Great product easy to install. Makes the networking side a lot more stable. Overall worth buying. Highly recommend to all as a must for windows 8
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Control Panel -> Windows Update -> Add Features -> Buy Key or Already Have Key (Choose the latter) -> type in number provided on card (forget the dashes) -> last number entered triggers "Checking This Key" (quick) -> number authenticated and and it's all plain sailing from here on............ (erm..)
Lost count of the number of times I tried this 'Add Features' install only to see "Something Went Wrong" after what seemed f-o-r-e-v-e-r as it went through the motions. What sort of Micky Mouse system is it that can't provide decent levels of error reporting!
I found that error message and the answer on the net. No, not from Microsoft! (Course not)
Nowhere on the packaging did it say. "Log in as Administrator". Yes, I know, you're the only person using the machine and naturally you have administrator privileges but none of that matters. If you get this error, switch users and log on as 'Administrator' without further ado. Same easy, but long-winded, process, only, this time, with the expected restarts (about 3 I think - I was falling asleep by this time) and then 'Configuring.....' (yawn) and then finally..... ohmygosh...... Windows 8.1 PRO (zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Installation instructions supplied with the Product Key did not work with my upgrading from 8.1 to 8.1 Pro. I used the "Add Features" facility and upgrade was fine. For details, see: windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows-8/feature-packs
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 October 2013
[2014-04-02 read my added comments re Windows 8.1 Update at the end of this review]

Nearly a year ago (on 2012-10-26 to be exact) I made a review of Windows 8 under a title "Will Windows 8 Flop or Fly?". As a Windows user for many years, I was baffled by what Microsoft was up to and I chose an eye-catching title to express my bewilderment of how Microsoft got itself into alienating a significant part of its loyal customers. One year on and now we know the truth and the [self-inflicted] damage done to Microsoft.

My review then didn't catch much attention - it was lost under the very bottom pile of reviews with a tiny 22 helpful votes from 32 people who bothered to read it, despite the fact that that review was one of the first two or three to appear on Amazon on the day Windows 8 was released.

As I said before, and repeating it now, Windows 8 (and the updated version 8.1) has so many desirable features, most importantly it is fast and refined in many respects. The only major trouble is making the User Interface the same for desktop/laptop and mobile computers. The fact is that touchscreen is well suited to tablets and mobile phones (i.e., hand-held mobile computers), while non-mobile computers such as desktops and laptops need to be supported by a navigational menu system as existed in Windows 7 and its predecessors (a.k.a. Start Menu). Imagine visually sifting through randomly placed square icons to locate an App on a Start Page, as opposed to a navigation based on alphabetical order and logical organisation-by-folders of program shortcuts. That was the Start Menu provided since the launch of the then more mature Windows 95 and that is what Microsoft managed to kill off for no justifiable reason other than what appears to be a totally misplaced obsession with a provision of one-fits-all OS User Interface for Windows Phone, Windows tablets, and Windows PCs. It is simple common-sense to realise that mobile and non-mobile computers call for different User Interfaces.

If I attempt to sum up what is wrong with Windows 8 (or 8.1 for that matter), the phrase "Flat and Disconnected" comes to mind. Imagine a set of logically organised office folders, take out all the papers from all the folders and lay them on the floor. Or, think of a database system logically organised in data tables, and flatten all the data into one spreadsheet. Yes, these are crude examples but easily illustrate changing organised data to flat data. With the Start Page, Microsoft just managed to make Windows flat. Disconnected? Yes, because Windows 8.x presents itself as two disconnected [bipolar?] personalities in one: a disconnected Desktop style and Metro style.

What Microsoft should have done (this is not an after-thought - see my review a year ago) was keep the Start Menu for non-mobile computers but provide the touchscreen interface as an option; this would have avoided the needless alienation Windows 8 caused to PC users to whom productivity is key (in which case the learning curve with touchscreen, at best, was unwelcome, in the worst case, the touchscreen interface was not fit for a serious job productivity demands).

Where are we with Windows 8.1?

Windows 8.1 is definitely an improvement over Windows 8.0. The Start button is back, but the Start Menu is still absent. The Start button brings top level command shortcuts that would please many users; right-click on Start button and you'll find numerous 'power commands' you wished you had at your fingertips (say, a click or two away), such as control panel, device manager, disk management, power options, shutdown options, et cetera.

Another significant improvement - more so than the Start button - is that you can now directly boot into the Desktop bypassing the Start Page. A navigation option you set via taskbar right-click will enable this feature. You can also choose the same background for Desktop Page and Start Page to slightly improve the visual intimacy between the old Desktop and the so called modern metro look.

If you want your Start Menu back, you can actually get it back free of charge. There are now software houses coming up to fill in the void created by Microsoft. Classic Shell (classicshell.net) and Pokki for Windows (pokki.com) are the frontrunners in providing a free patch that restores the Start Menu . I haven't evaluated these Start Menu patch programs but the endorsement made by Lenovo (the new brand name for IBM PCs after sell off) speaks volumes: Lenovo's Windows 8 PCs and laptops now come pre-installed with Pokki to restore the Start Menu.

As an alternative to Start Menu, I have used Bins (from 1upindustries.com) for organising shortcuts of commonly used programs on the desktop taskbar - not a replacement for Start Menu but provides an acceptable solution for program shortcuts used very frequently. And this is not a freeware but costs around £5, and I am not endorsing this program but only indicating its existence as some users may find it as a suitable option.

In addition to the welcome return of the Start button (sadly not Start Menu!) and direct boot into Desktop, there are also notable features shown below, but by no means exhaustive or in any logical order -- just what come to mind as significant:

1. Snap View which allows multiple Apps to be viewed at the same time is one of the good features you'll notice with 8.1. The catch is that you must have a high resolution monitor for the full benefit of Snap View.
2. Skype - I like Skype - and now it's part of the Windows OS and no more an add-on program.
3. I am not a big fan of SkyDrive but deeper integration than with the original Windows 8 is now apparent with 8.1.
4. Dozens of new and overhauled Apps such as Movie Moments, Fresh Paint, Health & Fitness, etc., are all welcome additions.
5. A more consolidated Search system is now more user-friendly than before.
6. Yes, with 8.1 now you can resize the live tiles and thereby optimise your screen space.

Time to Upgrade to 8.1 from Windows 7 and before?

Yes. Now there are more compelling reasons to upgrade to 8.1 than was the case for Windows 8. Of course, upgrade from Windows 8 comes for free and with much improved user experience, so no one needs much convincing here.

With direct booting into the Desktop, reinstating the Start Button, and providing numerous power commands via the Start Button right-click, Microsoft is nearly there to give in to the Start Menu it is stubbornly refusing to restore. My bet is that Start Menu will eventually return as the sound at the cash-tills and buy-clicks start to recede for Windows and Microsoft comes to its senses.

[Update 2014-01-20] Latest rumours indicate that Microsoft is moving away from the ill-fated Windows 8 branding and what was assumed as Windows 8.2 will actually be Windows 9, and slated for early 2015. Update 1 is however expected sooner for Windows 8.1 but not clear if the Start Menu will be part of this Update (and more likely not).

[Update 2013-11-30] Rumours are already flying that the "Start Menu" may come back in spring 2014 or early 2015 as 8.2 update (or even as Windows 9 as some suggest). Google or Bing for "Windows 8.2" and the rumours will be revealed.

In my rating I am withholding 1-star for Microsoft's stubbornness.

I now love Windows 8.1! I would have done even more with the Start Menu.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[2014-04-02]

As MSDN subscriber, I have access to Windows 8.1 Update a bit earlier than the general release (from today 2nd April) and I've already installed Windows 8.1 Update this evening and here are the notable changes after the Update:

- The modern apps window now has Minimise and Close controls to the top right edge (revealed when mouse moved up) just as for conventional application window. Furthermore the App icon to the top left reveals menu commands that, in addition to Minimise and Close just mentioned, Split Left and Split Right for positioning the App window. A welcome change for mouse and keyboard users!

- While on Start Page, moving the mouse down now reveals the Taskbar. You'll never feel lost as you can easily jump to your application pinned to the Taskbar. Another welcome update.

- Just like other desktop applications, you can now pin modern apps to the Taskbar. In fact, when your update is complete, you'll notice the Microsoft Store app icon pinned to the Taskbar.

- Modern apps now have Context Menu; right clicking an App reveals useful commands such as Pin to Taskbar, Unpin from Start Page, Resize tile, and Turn Live Tile On or Off.

- PC Settings and Powers Options have now been promoted to the Start Page for easy access. The Power Option is now sitting side by side with User and Search icons at the top right of the Start Page. Your Top right Start Page now is therefore the focal point for controlling your computer with such power commands as Lock, Sign Out, Shutdown, Restart, Hibernate, etc. and Search whatever needs to be searched on the computer.

Okay, not an earth-shattering update Microsoft have come up with in nearly six months, nonetheless a welcome improvement for those of us clinging on to our mouse and keyboard interface. No doubt that there are other welcome improvements under-the-hood and hopefully we'll see and feel these improvements (or lack thereof) through usage over some time. One interesting point with regard to the Update is that Windows 8.1 is now touted to be streamlined and optimised to run with 1GB RAM memory; does this mean leaner and faster Windows? Only time will tell.

Listed below are what Windows 8.1 (as well as Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows RT 8.1) Update contains for 64-bit computers (listed in the order of installation).

Windows8.1-KB2919442-x64.msu
Windows8.1-KB2919355-x64.msu
Windows8.1-KB2932046-x64.msu
Windows8.1-KB2937592-x64.msu
Windows8.1-KB2938439-x64.msu
Windows8.1-KB2949621-v2-x64.msu

For 32-bit computers, the file names change slightly with -x64 replaced with -x86 and the last file for x64 (KB2949621) not included for x86.

Windows8.1-KB2919442-x86.msu
Windows8.1-KB2919355-x86.msu
Windows8.1-KB2932046-x86.msu
Windows8.1-KB2937592-x86.msu
Windows8.1-KB2938439-x86.msu

Note that normally you don't even need to know the above file details as the Update is made automatically through Windows Update. The one useful point to take away from this information is to make sure that the above updates appear in your Windows Update History in the same order as shown above. These are listed in the Update History as the KB numbers as KB2919442, KB2919355, and so on.

Final Words

With Windows 8.1 Update installed, Windows 8/8.1 is starting to feel more sensible and useful with less impediment to my workflow. With Metro Apps window now resembling a bit more like that of their old Desktop cousins, Windows is starting to become more familiar with improved harmony between Metro and Desktop. Windows 8.1 Update is what Windows 8 should have been on day one. Let's hope the long-awaited Start Menu will show up in Windows 9 about the same time next year.
77 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2017
I upgraded from Windows 8.1 to Windows 8.1 Pro, a very simple process which involved entering the product key and waiting for it to install. It was quick and there were no problems. My motivation was to enable Hyper-V virtual machine capability and encryption not available on 8.1 Standard, and as expected these features are present.

Based on the image on the Amazon listing and the documents supplied with the product key, I was also expecting Windows Media Centre to be installed, but this doesn't seem to have been installed on my laptop. While I'm not bothered about this myself, other users might want it and be surprised and disappointed that it hasn't been installed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
I think that once I get to know it a little better +due to the fact I am at present unwell it has the potential to be very good to use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Online, the price is £99 for this upgrade key Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 PRO. So this is a winner saving £20. Delivered next day in my case. Worked perfectly. Now I can access all the PRO features including the encrypting file system (EFS). I'm happy, although I am still wondering whether I will have to pay to upgrade to Win 10, the PRO version. Hopefully not.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
The upgrade went smoothly albeit a bit slower than I expected.

If you need the additional features in Pro, there is no reason not to buy this pack.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 23 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here