Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2013
What a superb album. Martin Barre is sounding better than ever and the new tracks mixed in with some great old Tull tracks works well. Acoustic and electric guitar sound crisp and clear and the overall production sounds fine. I Really like the tracks Home, Sundown, From a dead beat to an old greaser and Air : lament of the spalpeen . Hope Martin makes another album along the same lines again, old and new. Thankyou Martin for a great album.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Five Star...!

Martin "Lancelot" Barre, is one of the best guitarist of the music world. ( He was voted 25th best solo ever in the USA and 20th best solo ever in the UK for his playing on 'Aqualung'. ) You can find his creativity and musical genious, every Jethro Tull album.

Also, in this album, he is very good "Flut player" ( sorry Ian ..! )
Martin, re-arranged and represented his favorite TULL songs in this album.
( My very favorite Tull songs; "Moths", "Hymn 43", "From A Dead Beat To An Old Greaser", "Requiem", "Home".. )
And the new Martin song; "Sundown" is great...

No more words....
Highly recommended for "Guitar Lovers"...
TULLIAN's must buy...

Thank you Martin.
Best wishes from Istanbul.

Bora Cetin
TULLTURK
[...]
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An interesting album for Tull fans, featuring a mix of new tracks by Martin Barre mixed up with mainly acoustic versions of Tull tracks. The mix of new material and Tull tracks works with, with the new music generally leading into a Tull song. For the first three songs it's almost exclusively acoustic, and pleasant enough, but occasionally veers towards background music. However, Lament of the Spalpeen/Martin's Jig changes the tone by starting with a woowind driven atmospheric section that leads into a Celtic sounding jig before launching into Tull's My God with vocals rather than a guitar line following the original vocal. This is a powerful section and offers a welcome change to the acoustic Tull material.

From here on there's an excellent version of 'Deadbeat to an old Greaser', 'Protect and Survive' and it ends with a brilliant track called 'Sundown' which is a new Barre composition and much more in the rock/prog vein of Jethro Tull.

To be honest, I really wanted to hear more of Barre's riffing on electric guitar, but this is clearly a very personal project and Barre's own composition work very well alongside the Tull material. This isn't for everyone, but Tull fans should enjoy it. I hope to see more of Barre's own material on his next album.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
This album shows why there are few musicians/composers who compare with the brilliance of Ian Anderson/Martin Barre. This album contains almost all the elements (no Ian) that make Jethro Tull albums great. The complex melodies of Jethro Tull are expressed brilliantly by Martin. Dare I say that some are even better than the original compositions first offered among the various Tull albums. This is an absolute "Must Have" for any Tull fan ... and for those who may be curious as to why Tull have such ardent fans, this collection will give you a good idea. Bravo Martin ... I am sure Ian is quite proud.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
This is an understated gem of an album and re-inforces to me why I consider Martin Barre to be up there with Richard Thompson. His reinterpretations of classic Tull tracks help to illustrate what Martin added to Ian Anderson's vision, and I would recommend this to both Tull fans and anybody who appreciates skilfully played guitar music without histrionics.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
When I started listening to this I thought it was a little bland and basically elevator music. It's pretty much all acoustic based, so if you're looking for "Locomotive Breath" or the intro to "Minstrel In The Gallery" you can forget it.
My initial scepticism was slowly worn away though, as I went about whatever I was doing and the beautiful playing of Mr Barre began to really shine through.
I'm a heavy metal fan, but Tull are my favourite band so it's quite the compliment to say certain pieces here are actually BETTER than the Tull versions. "Pussy Willow" for one. It's stunning here - Martin's arrangement is fantastic and it opens up the song in new ways, as do many of the other tracks here.
I must admit to a little disappointment - when I share Tull videos on Facebook it's invariably "Minstrel in the Gallery" because the blistering guitar intro is just incredible. And, when I saw Tull live on the most recent occasion, even my wife, who is no big guitar (or Tull) fan was raving about the wee old guy who absolutely ripped on the guitar! So...I'd really, really love to hear something in a heavier vein - Martin's old black Hamer Sunburst cranked through a Marshall I mean, rather than the good but somewhat staid "Stage Left".
However, that doesn't take away from this release which is, honestly, fantastic and a lot better than I'd expected it to be. I really wish he'd come to Glasgow, I'd love to see these pieces performed live. Martin? Come to Glasgow!

Steven A. McKay, author of Kindle's "War" chart number 1's Wolf's Head: 1 (The Forest Lord) and The Wolf and the Raven (The Forest Lord Book 2)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Martin Barre demonstrates great sensitivity, craft and creativity in presenting these tunes. The result is musically expressive, yet still refined. Mr. Barre remains one of rock's most criminally underrated guitarists. His voice is always recognizable and unique. Buy this CD now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
A great album of (mostly) acoustic guitar, mixing a small amount of new with some incredibly intricate and fresh-sounding versions of old favorites.
Surely this pushes Martin Lancelot Barre into the limelight at last, and proves beyond all doubt that he is one of the greatest guitarists of the last 50 years. And what support he has on here too...
Yep, if you're a Tull fan, or if you just love perfectly executed acoustic picking, you'll like this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
A very good album which is largely acoustic and with, unsurprisingly, a Jethro Tull ambience to it. That in many ways helps the aalbum and with some excellent flute and other accompaniment this is an aalbum I would recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
This is without doubt an excellent CD. I think it would have been improved by mixing in a few heavier pieces. The light and heavy contrasts were a hallmark of early Tull and for that reason I think Stage Left better. The reinterpretation of Tull classics are good, but it is more exciting to look forward to a collection of new compositions. Martin is a superb and I look forward to his next CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)