Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Secret Battle
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


on 2 December 2015
This is very moving and gritty account of the grind and horror of the First World War. It is a savage critique of the appalling treatment meted out by the High Command to the men on the front line. Its main characters are the story teller an older more experienced officer and the hero Harry Penrose, a young, idealistic, naïve but extremely brave junior officer. The Author A.P.Herbert served in both Gallipoli and the Western Front as an infantry officer so he knows his subject. The Gallipoli section of the book certainly brings home the hellish conditions the men fought in. In summary Harry Penrose serves bravely in both theatres and continually exposes himself to danger and death. At the conclusion of the book he is worn down and finally succumbs to battle fatigue and shell shock and which point he is arrested and shot for cowardice in the field. As story teller notes ' .....my friend Harry was shot for cowardice - and he was one of the bravest men I ever knew'. Don't buy the Amazon paperback version as the print is so small it's virtually unreadable. I had to set it aside and purchase the Kindle version in order to read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2016
The book is excellent. Once started it has to be finished. For this reason I gave it five stars.
However the quality of the publication is poor. The print is tiny and difficult to read and there are numerous misprints which throw the reader. If asked, on that basis, I would give it no stars - in fact I even thought of returning it and buying a different edition. The writing though was so good I had to finish it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
This short novel captures the brutal essence of the Gallipoli campaign in its first half and makes an essential companion to the numerous histories on the subject. In this you can really feel what it was like to be there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
A powerful and moving account of the life of a junior infantry officer during the Great War. Published in 1919 the novel draws on Herbert's own experiences in the conflict. Although the narrative can sometimes feel a little dated by modern standards it has an immediacy that is obviously informed by recent experience.

As the action moves from Gallipoli to the Somme it vividly portrays the physical and mental stresses of modern warfare. Neither does it shy away from the establishment's lack of understanding of the problems men in the trenches faced.

There's a certain doomed inevitability to the ending that leaves the reader saddened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Not really knowing what the book was about as such is was better than expected and I was not expecting the ending. Great detail helps you "try" and imagine being there and you can though fully understand what the soldiers went through. It does however make you angry at the unnecessary loss of life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2016
Secret Battle
Well, what can I say?
Gritty, honest, moving, bleak!
All I can say is this; If you love and appreciate moving accounts of real stories from the First World War, then do please read this book
I doubt you'll be disappointed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2017
It holds the attention A few maps would help those who are not too sure. They would help in understanding a well presented piece
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Very good story, it gave a great insight to the plight of soldiers during WW1. Very well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Will enjoy this book. A quick check to whet the apatite confirmed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
This is a masterpiece - as acknowledged over the years. One of the best studies of courage that I have read. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse