Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
66
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2011
Cheap, tinny and will probably rust in high humidity let alone rain. But cheap, works perfectly and from a few feet away looks quite lovely. It casts a beautiful glow when lit, is easy to fill and is no more awkward than any other to trim the wick. The bail arm won't easily come off as it is a loop type, not just pushed in to the sides of the uprights.
As a decorative item with some function, or as a shed light, or as a lantern for car camping, I can't really fault it. Friends who have seen it have all commented on it, and I suspect a few have now bought one.
Paraffin is easily obtainable from B&Q/Homebase/Wickes etc cheaper than on ebay or Amazon. Don't overfill it though. No higher than the top of the warning label underneath the filler cap or it will leak from the joints between the tank and the upright arms. This looks like a leak from the base, but isn't.
Keep it out of the reach of children. They may not understand just how hot the top gets from that little flame. This goes for all lanterns of this type and is not specific to this one.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2010
Product attractive and easy to use BUT it went rusty when left overnight in garden (under cover).
My previous lantern, lasted for 7 years using it outdoors in the summer.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 September 2014
These look great, and are a good back up if, like me you live in the sticks, and have the occasional power cut. Unlike the led variety, where the batteries can leak if stored in the lantern. with these you simply fill and forget.
They can also be used as decoration, or to help prevent frost in winter.
Just remember not to overfill, if you want to prevent any leaks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
This tinny made Hurricane lamp is bright and cheerful, it is rough around the edges, but everything works as it should, moving parts wise to clean the globe and renew the wick, so overall very pleased with the product considering the low price.
It arrived promptly, which was welcome when we also had our first power cut of the year.

I have a larger similarly made hurricane lamp but this one gave a very good account of itself luminescence wise.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Mine functions. It dribbles a little from the filler neck (so I don't fill it too much). It's cheap, poorly assembled but, as an emergency lamp, it's great.
I filled it up and got more than 7 hours before I turned it off and there's still paraffin left.- I'd guesstimate around 10 hours from a fill. Compared to batteries, that's a bargain!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
Yes this was fine, and did it's job very well indeed! Good low price which may indicate it is no good, but it was absolutely fine.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I recently bought 4 of these lanterns and all of them arrived in perfect condition. The picture indicates that these lanterns are bare metal but all 4 of the ones I received were painted. As such they appear to be fairly weather proof as mine have been outside for the last two weeks in the wind and rain and are completely unaltered from their experience.

The build quality is good for such a cheap item and I'm sure they will last for many years.

There are instructions on how to use the lanterns printed on the plastic they are wrapped in. I filled mine with citronella oil to keep bugs away as well as provide light and they work excellently.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
My one arrived today and the build quality is not even poor its simply dreadful, the parts just about fit together, the metal work edging is rough and you could easily nick your self. Its very thin metal and I have no idea what quality the glass is but again its very thin. I won't even use this its that badly put together as it simply doesn't look safe at all.

The cap for the fuel tank is also broken and wont come off so I'll be returning this for a refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Used it once glass was black after 1/12 hours burn time this was with the wick at its lowest point constction of unit not much better than the cheap ones on sale in amazon would not recommend this unit
review image
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Cheap and cheerful lamps, exactly as advertised. If you want something sturdy that will last for a lifetime, pay a lot more and buy a better product. If you want something suitable for the odd power cut which costs just a few pounds but functions well this is for you. Well packaged, no breakages and delivered promptly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)