Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Chimera
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.12


on 19 November 2013
Great read, and quite obviously written by a hugely knowledgable author who is totally au fait with the geography and the various armed forces found in the book. Humungously good value for an eBook and hooked me nicely!

As an ignorant Brit, my knowledge of the location setting is/was poor and I spent quite a bit of time on Google maps orientating myself so as to get a better feel of Northern India and Tibet... happily I read on a tablet, so Google maps was only 2 taps away :) Suffice to say, I have now been spending too much time on research into motorcycle trips into the area.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
This book is a good read but would have benefited from tighter editing, it was about 100 pages too long and the author failed to keep up interest in his characters throughout by delaying the episodes they were involved in.
Nonetheless very well done, and very interesting to see military technology from a perspective other than the usual American dominated viewpoint.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 November 2013
The book - 'Chimera' - appears to be the author's first, his previous work having been concentrated on writing articles on the Sino-Indian history (including the 1962 border war) and the capabilities of the Indian military. It is relatively rare to read an alternative history book without the participation of a standard Western / NATO power (the US being the most frequent) so the book is a breath of fresh air in the respect that you get armies with slightly differing capabilities and equipment but also trade-off's in terms of what can be deployed where; on top of that the question on when or if the conflict will turn nuclear remains throughout.

The novel starts with a good enough pace and keeps that more or less right to the end. The author alternates between the air and land war, and occassionally throws in the odd naval battle, as well as the more strategic aspects of general staff decision making. While it is clear which team he roots for, the balance between the powers is maintained at least moderately well, so it is not a one sided slaughter all the way. The one comment one could make on the technical / equipment side is that both sides seem to be having access to more mid-air refuelling capabilities than one would think given the limited number of refuelling platforms and the UAVs seem to be very heavily engaged - not sure if the numbers in use would allow such a tempo of operations.

Otherwise the author displays a reasonable command of the subject of the militaries of both countries and his background certainly distinguishes him positively from many of his peers. The book also blends in the equipment relatively seamlessly and at no point are you under the impression that spec sheets are quoted at you.

One issue that is likely to bother some native speakers is the relatively frequent language mistakes. They do not stem from the author not speaking it fluently but appear to be more the result of a sub par editing process. Still, given that the writing style is solid this would be a small correction to make for a future Kindle edition of the book.

Overall a very well concieved and executed debut and definitely something to recommend to fans of military / alternative history fiction, or people interested in how a conflict between India and China could play out more specifically.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Have been following this scenario since its inception. A compelling and gripping read. Military analysis is as accurate as it can get.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Every page holds the thrill and grip. The scenarios, landscape and military details are so meticulous. Found so exciting that I finished it in 2 days over weekend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Vivek has demonstrated and excellent grasp of army, weaponry and political thinking in penning this fictional war between India and China. It is not jingoistic or lopsided and frankly there isn't a victor or vanquished but provides an excellent narrative of how a future war may shape up between the Asian giants. The armaments and logistics are up-to-date and as some one from the region I can vouch that the tactics and strategy are very contemporary.

Having said that I also shudder at the consequences of what would happen if a war did indeed take place in the near future ... Vivek leaves the reader under no illusion of how mind-numbingly complex, ardous and bloody a war under the nuclear umbrella can be. Something that political leaders should be aware of in this region...

My only criticism is that the editing could have been better and there should have been some maps and photos to help the reader with the narrative. All in all an excellent effort!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
A fast paced war novel with a twist. A modern day version of the Indo China war. Different terminology from the usual western armies but well explained without overloading on technical detail. Whether you are a history buff or a war junkie a good read and worth buying. Look forward to reading more books from this author
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I thought it would make a nice change for a WW3 situation that did not involve the US UK and Russia.

As such it is a success as the feel of an Indian Chinese war is quite different.

I did eventually find the book a little dry and lacking in character, the characters need a bit more appeal.

I also have to admit that being British and never visited India, there are an awful lot of places mentioned that mean nothing to me, some better maps would have helped.

If you are interested in WW3 novels and are Indian or have an affinity with or interest in the Indian sub continent I think you will really like this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I looked forward to reading this story, as it offered a refreshing change to the usual theatres chosen for this type of story. The plot is good and the research undertaken is first class. However, I got really fed up of having to fill in the grammatical errors contained in the text. Setting aside the usual glitches that appear in Kindle downloads, sentences just sometimes did not make sense and, I found myself performing the role of editor again and again. Vivek, give it another go with a different story line, but please get an editor !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Was really engrossed in story. Found it interesting from Indian perspective. Will be looking for more of Viveks books immediately.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Fenix
£2.57

Need customer service? Click here