Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2017
Having read all of Shaun Hutson's books previously, i thought it would be great to start collecting them on the kindle. I couldn't have been more wrong!! As always, the story is incredible. It's exciting, dramatic and has a great twist, as is the way with Shaun's writing style. However, whoever was responsible for transcribing this from print to digital format needs to be fired and sent back to school to study English and the proper use of grammar. I could barely read the text for it's glaringly obvious mistakes! '20' instead of 'into', 'Bum' instead of 'Burn' to name just two. Not to mention all the grammatical errors! Made the otherwise enjoyment of a real page turner diminish into annoyance. I'm now reluctant to buy any more digital versions of my favourite author in case they too have been transcribed so badly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
What a great writer all his books are a must read once I pick them up I find it hard to put back down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2002
This book is brilliant, xtremely hard to put down, the characters and plot are very good, the descriptive writing is of very high standard, although the story line is completely out there, it is a welcome break from any else. I read this book years ago, and since have read it many times again. Brilliant!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2009
Sean Doyle - A true anti hero for the times. In this book every thing is touched upon from the usual horror staple of blood, gore and ancient evil to the modern horror of the troubles in Northern Ireland. This book was the start point of Hutsons most popular character Sean Doyle who Heas now featured in four novels and Hutson is supposed to be penning a fifth. Wether you are new to Hutson or a fan debating this book then buy and enjoy the ride.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
I recently revisited Renegades thanks to a bargain priced Kindle edition - and wish I hadn't. As a teenager reading Hutson was something of a rite of passage; you built up to Hutson after Herbert whetted your appetite for full blooded horror. But, whereas James Herbert grew into a more rounded author, Shaun Hutson continued to pump out the same old splatter well past its peak.
Someone once said that reading one of these books is like reading an autopsy and I can't disagree. Although Renegades isn't as graphic as Assassins it's still pretty grim, but the cold, almost robotic, descriptions of what happens when a human head is hit by a hollow point bullet at point blank range are dull and repetitive. By the third or fourth time I read about "grey matter splattering the wall" and "skull fragments" flying off in various directions I'd become inured to the mental image it conjured up.
It doesn't help that Renegades' central plot line - about the unification of Ireland - has been overtaken by events. The epilogue some readers found so chilling is straight from the pages of an EC comic and, in particular, very reminiscent of the 'Wish You Were Here' episode from the Amicus anthology movie, Tales From The Crypt.
The final nail in the coffin (ahem) was the poor standard of proofing throughout the Kindle edition. Who thought 'burn mark' should read 'bum mark'?
Sorry, but Renegades struck a bum note for me from start to finish.
For real British scares try anything by Ramsey Campbell.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2000
This was an interesting book, I have not read Shaun Hutson b4 and it was a change from what I usually read. But it was deffinatley a change for the better. It was confusing though as I had to keep looking back on the book to see who had been killed and when But I am sure it is aimed at people who are older than me. I surprised at how it came together at the end, and the epilogue was the best. I am definaley gonna read more of Shaun's books in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 1999
I have read all of Shaun Hutsons book's to date, each of them is superb in its own right. But Renegades has to be the cream of the crop. The story revolves around two Counter Terrorist Agents who are pursuing a group of renegade IRA operatives, determined on halting the peace process in Northern Ireland, they are working for a millionnaire arms dealer who makes his money from the arms he sells to among others the IRA. Running in tandem with this story, is the discovery of a stained glass window that seems to hold certain mystical powers, of which I will divulge no more about. It is safe to say however that the book has the greatest ending of any book I have ever read, it was outstanding finish to an excellent book and I strongly reccommend it to anyone. This book is truely one of Mr Hutson's finest works, if you can only read one of his books,(which would be a mistake) make it this one you will be gripped from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Another excellent book by Shaun Hutson, plenty of thrills and horror with the I R A and a creature called Baron in a stained glass window and a counter terrorist called Sean Doyle, this book just drips blood and Gore from the first page to the last.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
For anyone unacquainted with Hutson's work, it's visceral, gritty and downright gratuitous in theme and violence. I've enjoyed the vast majority of his work and this is, in my opinion his finest.

It involves a great mix of violence and also has a supernatural twist, plus the lead character is how every bloke would secretly like to be. The plot unfolds with a great sense of pace, it never gets dull but also never seems to be rushed.

Not for the squeamish or easily offended, but hugely recommended if you're a fan of the genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
As usual with SH earlier books this one is a great book from start to finish, the story never lets up, great characters. SH Isn't afraid to shock the reader, just when you think you know what's coming next or where the story line is heading he hits you like a smack in the face with the unexpected, I loved this book, highly recommended to anyone who likes thriller, horror or a mixture of both, if you like RENEGADES you might like RELICS, different characters but great classic SH, what have you got to lose?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse