Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 31 August 2015
Great Read quite a dude is Grace; some of her views are often testoterone-flavoured it seems ... one of the greatest voices ever operatic and yes I wish in older years she had gone into Opera ... reading this book made me loop White Rabbit and Someone To Love on my computer and rediscover the entire Oeuvre of The Plane including Hot Tuna et al .... what a Lady!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2017
Grace is clearly a very clever lady and writes with style. This is not one of those books that simply lists this concert and that. She takes us into the background workings of the music industry and as a result the book is far more interesting. I would have given it 5 stars but for the in detail information about her love life. Personally I don't need to know this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2018
I secretly wish I could of lived through the 60's! I chose to read this book after listening to a few Jefferson airplane albums. She's got a great voice and a great outlook on life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 5 April 2009
The life story of Rock's greatest singer - Grace Slick's voice is the sound of 60's and 70's American Rock, along with the thunder of the Airplane (in all its guises).
This book is a gentle retelling of her life - in her own words, from the early "posh" middle-class well-behaved young lady, through the turbulent years of the 60's, to the 1990s when she has retired and is more concerned with the welfare of rabbits than singing about them...
Lots of detail of lovers and arrests and friends and tours and lunatic behaviour.
But... what about the music? There is very little about how she felt singing and playing on stage (or in rehersal) with the Airplane. Surely one of the most accomplished bands on the planet, with an astonishing sound (just listen to Casady's megalithic bass-lines, or Kaukonen startling lead guitar - and what about the telepathic harmony sound between Kantner and Slick) - would generate some kind of comment? As some one who has played in a band, and who knows that when it clicks, the music transcends simple playing along and becomes something bigger than the sum of its parts - and takes on a life of its own... I would have loved to know how it felt like to be with the Airplane.
But 5 stars anyway - this IS Grace Slick after all. I hope she is still able to "feed her head" now and again... even if only with glorious memories.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2011
I enjoyed this book immensely. Grace Slick holds nothing back and it is an interesting insight into the exciting 1960s. This is a real page turner and I would recommend it to anyone who wasn't of an age, or even around, to experience that fabulous decade. There are plenty of laughs along the way and I respected her generosity of spirit. She is one remarkable Lady and is one of the best female singers of that period. A very well written book and a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2014
I read this in 24 hours or so, so to say it's okay is perhaps a bit harsh. I wanted more juice. While she does tell you about Jim Morrison, etc. She still skipped some as I know she was involved in things like David Crosbys intervention and she didn't talk about that..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2015
Brilliant. What a lady ,what a voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2016
This is a very entertaining read.Can not give a proper review at this time as I have only just started reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2006
What is it with me? Hetero as I am and always will be, there are very few female rock stars whom I admire enough to buy their albums, let alone their autobiography. But I've always had a soft spot for Grace Slick's 'White Rabbit' song right since 1960-whatever-it-was when it was released, and a friend bought the Jefferson Airplane album with it on there. Grace's voice is so crystal clear, almost sonic, breathing those fantasy lyrics with a mind so fucussed she makes them sound so real. A sucker for fantasy lyrics like this, and that the song has gone around and around in my head for decades, I decided this book might get me closer to the mind that wrote them. And it does. It's one of the best AB's I've read, and even though that figure might be somewhere around ten, this one grabs you right from the start and doesn't let you go until the final page. Okay, she humped Jim Morrison on a bed scattered with squashed strawberries long before 'Nine-And-A-Half-Weeks,' but this is by no means a highlight, Grace's whole life has been interesting, and important for the rock fan, be they casual or living and breathing it every moment of their lives. Yep, quite a book, grab it, read it, and be enriched when you close it for the last time, quite some lady!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2004
In a time where rock and roll was reined exclusively by heady testosterone, when the vast majority of female singers were either popstrels or folksy songbirds, Grace Slick was the first female rocker whose flamboyant style and notorious countenance equalled that of any of her male counterparts. Somebody to Love recounts Slick's long journey from posh socialite to counterculture goddess. With unabashed candour and a tremendous sense of humour, Grace flashes back to the halcyon days of the late 60's when her unique talents soared Jefferson Airplane to the top of the charts.
The beautiful, extrovert Slick was invited to join Jefferson Airplane after replacing the band's original lead singer. Grace brought both "White Rabbit" and "Somebody to Love" to the already popular group's hit list and the rest is history. She recalls her drug-dazed and alcoholic-soaked performances, as well as her relationships with rock and roll royalty such as Janis Joplin, Jerry Garcia, Jimi Hendrix and Crosby Stills & Nash. She provides an intimate time capsule into the Triple Crown of rock and roll festivals -- Woodstock, Monterey Pop and Altamont (Airplane is the only rock band to play at all three).
Fear not, her autobiography also chronicles her many lovers, including the sexual escapades with her bandmates (she bedded all except one); her long-term relationship with Paul Kantner and the legendary one nighter with Jim Morrison ("It was like making love to a floating art form with eyes.").
Grace, who has had nearly as many arrests as paramours, discusses her penchant for sassing cops, and her aborted visit to the Nixon White House with Abbie Hoffman (they intended to spike the President's tea with LSD). Fans of the Airplane's music will learn of the behind-the-scenes rivalries and friendships, and of their eventual transformation from rebellious rockers to mainstream pop stars when they evolved into the '80s hit group Jefferson Starship.
A compelling, very entertaining and at times hilarious read. I warmly recommended this book to rock and roll fans everywhere!
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)