Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
161
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 October 2013
This book comes as a welcome antidote to the recent splurge of "celebrity" managers' accounts. It's not a hagiography, equally it's not one of those books that describes the roister doistering high jinks of a third division hard man. It is a tale of a young man who had it all, lost it, regrets it and is trying to get his life back on track. He's actually one of us, and perhaps the problems he faced at the height of his fame was this very fact. How many of us could cope with the riches and adulation that are thrust upon a young man away from home? This book goes some way to showing how it might go as Gillespie comes across as a very decent, if some times misled, young man. I'd happily buy him a pint becuase as he says himself early on, he can't afford a round himself.
One last point, whilst this is a 5 star story I'm afraid for me the "voice" of the ghost writer is all too apparent and some passages just don't flow as I'd like. Phrases such as "...raiding the left flank" reek too much of a Red Top's back pages but I appreciate this is a matter of personal taste so don't let this foible of mine put you off buying and enjoying this book.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Keith was my hero as an 8 year old boy after watching him train at Durham, and here 20 years later I'm reading about his "fall from grace" as they call it. But I think it's and excellent book and so refreshing to hear a story that isn't all self promotion and "oh look at me, look how well I did"

All you get here is the truth and despite all his faults and mistakes he's still my hero, for being himself and telling it how it is, when he could have hid like most people would.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Like Gillespie's career, this has its moments, but overall it's of variable quality - some sloppy writing and lack of awareness and insight - but it does make you glad that you're not a professional footballer, whatever the rewards: it's not a normal life and it does have great pressure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Not a bad book. I am not usually drawn to this type of tale, as I dislike football, but, this story is about having too much and losing it. I kind of feel sorry for the guy and find his account of events plausible and fairly honest. recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Fascinating book, open and honest. It makes a refreshing change from the usual biographies, although it is tinged with the sadness that you don't feel the author has truly reconciled himself with what his problems really are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
what a legend!

Kieth gillespie is a football star, who fell on hard times due to his own decisions. This book is a must read for anybody interested in football, sports or even life. If you are up and coming, or have seen it all there is something in this book which will resonate with you. The inside track on modern football, agents, deals , goals, parties, women, it has it all! Easy to read, not too dark or gloomy and funny to boot, and well filled my holiday reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
It's great to read a brutally honest account of a lad who had the world at his feet for it to go pear shaped and who didn't blame anyone but himself. Keith will always be a Newcastle hero of mine and his talking about the problems he has faced make him all the more admirable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
A well written book. A fair amount is given to football, a balanced account of his family and of the women in his life and his children.He has no self pity but realises that a god given gift and the financial rewards it brings can be negated by an addictive personality. A sad,but certainly not maudlin, book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Possibly the most frank and damning account I have ever read in an Autobiography. To have it all and to lose so dramatically on so many levels - a must read for aspiring sports stars or just anyone fascinated in what a footballer does when the training stops....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Excellent read. Very open and honest insight into the highs and lows of a pro footballer. Some great stories and his love of playing for N.Ireland is obvious. Hope it works out well for Keith in the future.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)