Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 12 October 2013
Absolutely brilliant - 12 Stops' grown up brother. Having struggled to successfully follow up their debut - Join With Us too messy in places, Together We Are made too polished - this is a welcome return. A triumph. The piano on Fall like Rain is a wonderful bit of musical imagery. Other standout tracks are Gloves are Off, Blue Murder and I Just Do - which has a wonderful dramatic build. Not a duff track on the main CD. And its so good that I won't mark it down for the bonus disc - in fairness, it does say its 'outtakes' but I didn't realise quite how rough and unproduced they would sound. Not worth the extra cash! So - buy the very marvelous single CD.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2013
The album is good but they have taken a slightly different direction from their first two albums (I never got to hear their third album). The songs seem less well defined and somehow 'fuzzy' compared to their earlier compositions. What I loved about their first two albums was their clarity of composition - the instruments were clearly defined and the rhythm and colour of the sound whilst being clearly 'pop' was top notch (reminiscent of the Beatles). This offering takes a different approach and whilst it is pleasing to the ear, it doesn't have the vibrancy I have come to expect from The Feeling. The guys in the band will probably disagree as I know they were pleased that the label didn't ask for any changes to the songs on the album so presumably, this is the sound they were looking for. If this had been the first exposure I'd had to their music, I wouldn't have sought out any of their other material. Overall, it's a good album and the guys are clearly talented but I do prefer their earlier sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2014
That eminent and smug clan, the music critics, are all too ready to rubbish The Feeling. "They used to be a tribute band" they sneer. "Their tunes all sound the same" they cavil. But didn't the Beatles start life as a tinpot foursome, turning out banal covers of old songs like "Ain't She Sweet" while plying their trade in seedy Hamburg nightclubs before achieving world domination?

This is an excellent album. The opening track "Blue Murder", with its intelligent lyrics and intricate harmonies and chord changes, would do credit to other bands the critics love, for example U2, and this high standard is kept up throughout. Dan Gillespie Sills' voice sounds coarser than before and the theme of hopelessness in love continues almost unabated through the album.

Go on you smug critics. Listen again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2016
The Feeling came back with a bang on this one! It was worth waiting for bringing them back to their 12 Stops roots, but with a more refined, grown up sound, which isn't as commercial as their last couple of albums.

Their fun pop style with added piano ticks lots of boxes for me! Well done boys!!!

Twelve Stops and Home
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2013
This review is for the boxset edition. It contains 2 CDs, 1 DVD and 1 LP, in a really beautiful package.
It has a full songbook, but only a few pictures. As for the CDs, while the album is really good, the second CD doesn't add much to it, as someone previously reviewed. Can't tell anything about the LP, because I don't own the proper equipment to play it. But what I liked most was the DVD. It's quite short, one acoustic session, one acoustic perfomance filmed in the desert and a few films. The acoustic session is really great and worth the extra price. Here's the full content for the DVD:

Off the Lead at the Doghouse:
- You'll See
- Rescue
- Anchor*
- I Just Do
- Blue Murder

Films
- Rescue Music Video*
- Blue Murder Music Video*
- Empty Restaurant
- Anchor (Fan filmed)
- Album teaser*

Acoustic from the desert
- Blue Murder

*Available in the band's official Youtube channel
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2013
I was really disappointed with the 3rd album, but the boys are back on form with this one. A Lost Home and Hides in Your Heart are absolutely beautiful. The rest of the album isn't bad either!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2013
A brilliant album with the Feeling on top form.
I particularly like the way the songs follow on from each other and there are some great tracks (fall like rain, you'll see) that stand out for me.
Well worth a listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2013
I am a fan of the Feeling. Other 3 albums excellent. This also worthy of the group. I wouldn't have bought the 2CD album as the second jam session album is rubbish. I am very surprised thsat this album didn't chart long! I like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2013
12 Stops from Home was a fantastic album. A classic in my opinion. This shouldn't mean that every future `Feeling' album should be compared to it.

The Boy who cried Wolf is very good CD in its own right. It's a much more sombre affair that relies heavily on melancholic piano and emotional vocals, but somehow manages to enrich their identity. This is definitely worth investing in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2014
Great album - purchased it before seeing the band in Buxton. They are amazing live and the whole family enjoyed the gig. Great piano sound on some of the tracks. Definitely recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Feeling
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)