Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
25
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2013
An outstanding soundtrack, that really helps the movie. In any movie, the soundtrack is used to help convey the mood of the scene. But in "Gravity", this matters more than in most movies; since there is no sound in space (well done, the director) the only sounds that enhance the drama are the voices (and screams) of the characters, and this amazing, epic soundtrack, which does it's job very, very well indeed. Bravo.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
I love this. In a similar vein to some of Hans Zimmers music. Really captures the frightening clastrophobic vacuum of space. Has a great theme running through the music and as with all great film music, you can listen to the whole album and enjoy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
[...] "Gravity" is challenging, without a doubt. It plays with your senses in ways that few, if any, scores do. Until its glorious resolution it leaves you confused and disoriented. As such it's a perfect companion to the film; and I can imagine why some critics have hailed it as a third character. If you are less than one hundred percent fit for it, this score will beat you senseless; as I found out when I listened to it whilst suffering a migraine (...okay, why would I do that in the first please?!) However, when you are ready for it, this is quite a unique experience. An aural thrill ride like none other. If anything, consider it this year's "Inception" or "Requiem for a Dream". Emotionally challenging, technically brilliant... and ultimately very rewarding. This could very well be the sound of the future.[...]

Read the full review at [...]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 March 2014
I loved the film Gravity. It is a technical masterpiece, and as close to the experience of being in space I am ever likely to get. However I was amazed to see the score nominated for an Oscar. "What score?" I thought to myself. I didn't recall any music throughout the film, so it was a trip to Amazon to hunt it out. Within seconds I was transported back to the claustrophobic yet endless terror of the film by a score that serves the movie ultimately. The Gravity score is one of the most important elements of the film. On its own it is a challenging listen, but is a stunning achievement, like the pictures it so ably accompanies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
excellent feel to this CD, takes you right back to the movie and then you are back in the film, unusual as not all soundtracks can do to such a degree Gravity does, if you haven't seen the film the ST doesn't make sense in reality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
I wonder if Steven Price knew what he was getting himself into when he took the difficult task to compose the music for gravity. As we all know no sound can be heard in space and the film, for the most part, stick to that rule so the music was always to be a crucial part of the movie as a substitute to very minimal sound effects and to convey the dangers, chaos, thrills, emotions etc...needed.

Beautiful, dark, oppressive, captivating, dramatic, vibrant, desperate, chilling, chaotic, tense, powerful, poignant, haunting, sweeping, triumphant...are just a few words to describe this tremendous and stunning soundtrack which matches the equally stunning movie it was made for. A must buy! And congratulation Mr Price for your wonderful talent and producing one of the most awe inspiring soundtrack ever made!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Oddly I run listening to this album and it's actually a great motivator as I imagine myself in a movie and have to give that bit extra as the crescendo builds up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
Absolutely beautiful soundtrack. If this was on vinyl either swear it would be worn out by now. I listen to the tracks on an almost daily basis. Beautiful soundtrack for a beautiful movie.. Get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
The best soundtrack I listened to last year, also won an Oscar, Absolutely worth one. It matches the mood of the movie quite perfectly. Final track Gravity is definitely truly amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Really captures the feeling of the film.
Although you have to be in the mood for it, as the one of the themes of the film is isolation in space.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse