Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 9 December 2016
If you can't be bothered to walk around the shops in October and hear this ghastly, cheap music for absolutely nothing, the truly masochistic can purchase their very own collection of Xmas torment. Why do we have to put up with this turmoil every year? When I seize power, there will be a 10 year moratorium on playing any Christmas music at all. That includes all tracks on here and all carols as well - on pain of summary execution.
Every single one of the acetates of this drivel should be blasted into the Sun along with most of the living 'artists' who foisted this rubbish on us.
Shakin Stevens sings about things he sees and plans to have a party. Have you seen him lately? Jesus.... Yoko Ono adds her own Xmas warmth. The Waitresses make you wish for thermonuclear war. And why the hell do you have to go as far as 'the meadow' to build a flaming snowman? You won't see it in the meadow! Chris de Burgh sings 'A Spaceman Came Travelling' - a title where inflection is everything. 'Susan' Boyle adds his interpretation of a classic. 'Do they Know It's Christmas?' Hardly, as most of those affected by the famine were Muslims. 'There won't be snow in Africa this Christmas Time' sings someone from the 80s. Erm...Kilimanjaro? The Atlas Mountains? The Little Drummer Boy comes along to wake up the Baby Jesus. The Bible doesn't even mention any animals in the stable, never mind some forward little beast with a Premier snare. 'When a Child is Bald', The 12 Bleeding Days of Christmas by 'The Spinners' - who likes this crap? Who needs it any more? If you're an adult and think 'Christmas isn't Christmas' without Eartha Kitt, Perry Como and Frosty the Bleeding Snowman, then this is for you. If you're planning some Psy-Ops and want to break their will, then this is for you. If you're shopping for your presents and one of the songs from this collection is playing in Matalan and you think "OOh! This is one of my FAVOURITE Christmas songs!" then this, along with electroconvulsive therapy, is for you. Otherwise, invest in some ear plugs until the Easter Eggs are in Wilkinsons.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2013
In 2012 the Now Christmas compliation (the one with the red cover) was the best Christmas cd that had ever been produced. Only one major Christmas hit was missing, namely Mariah Carey's All I Want For Christmas Is You. The good news is that it makes it onto this revised compilation, with Lady Antebellum's version (which was actually rather good) taken off. So far so good.

However, one of the biggest Christmas hits of the past 40 years has been removed from this one. Frankie Goes To Hollywood's classic The Power of Love (included on the 2012 compilation in its full five and a half minute glory) has been replaced by Gabrielle Aplin's cover version (the one from the 2012 John Lewis Christmas ad). Although it's a rather sweet version, in the long run it's unlikely to be as enduring as Frankie Goes To Hollywood's original.

Given that there are still two versions of Do They Know It's Christmas included, and a few tracks on cd3 that could be removed without anyone really noticing or caring, this compilation should have found space for both Frankie Goes To Hollywood and Gabrielle Aplin's versions, one being on cd1 and the other on cd3. It's a real shame they haven't done this.

The Now compilers seem to have had a bit of a 'bah humbug' moment this time around. Leaving the 2012 cd alone, and including Mariah Carey would have elevated this one to being the best Christmas cd ever. However, with the removal of such a key Christmas hit they have actually taken a step backwards. Hence the 4 stars.

So, if you want Mariah Carey on your Christmas cd (but no Frankie Goes To Hollywood) then this compilation (with the purple cover) is the one for you. If you prefer to have Frankie Goes To Hollywood (but no Mariah Carey) then go for the one with the red cover. The choice is yours, but you really shouldn't have to make one in the first place.

Hopefully Amazon will do the decent thing and keep both cds at the same price throughout the whole Christmas season, so that buyers can make a straight decision between the two, depending on their preference. They are still, after all, the best two Christmas cds out there.

Anyway, Merry Christmas everyone. Let's hope the Now team finally manage to get it right next time!
0Comment| 139 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2013
Being a big fan of Christmas music and owning last years version of the 'NOW Christmas!', I decided to purchase the 2013 edition ready for the upcoming festive season. I was over the moon to find that this includes Mariah Carey's version of 'All I Want For Christmas', as well as Gabrielle Aplin's version of 'The Power of Love', which I actually prefer over the original. Not only that, but it includes all the other massive hits, including I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday, Happy Xmas (War Is Over), Fairytale of New York, Last Christmas, Merry Christmas Everyone, etc.

However, I soon realised that it was missing some other Christmas hits, that were actually included on last years edition. These are, Warm This Winter, All Alone On Christmas, My Only Wish (This Year) and Run Rudolph Run. It also has not got Xtina's version of The Christmas Song and Tom Jones version of Baby, It's Cold Outside, which to me, is the biggest let down.

If I'm going to be honest, I wish I just kept last years version and didn't bother with this one. I would definitely recommend buying Mariah Carey's 'Merry Christmas' album (that includes the massive 'All I Want For Christmas') and last years 'Now Christmas!' album.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2018
Great selection of past and new Christmas songs. Happy with purchase can’t wait to listen to it wrapping gifts
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2014
How can they release a Christmas Hits compilation without one of the best Christmas songs ever missing from it?
Where is Gilbert O' Sullivan's Christmas Song?
I for one, won't be buying this CD they add this song to the collection!
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 23 December 2014
Okay, the same tracks keep coming back on every issue, not a bad thing as many of the great Christmas songs
were recorded some while back, songs such as 'Happy Xmas' (War Is Over) by 'John Lennon' and the Plastic
Ono Band' 'Fairytale of New York' by 'The Pogues ft Kirsty McColl' 'I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday' by
'Wizzard' 'Merry Christmas Everybody' by 'Slade' and two versions of the charity number 'Do They Know It's Christmas'
by 'Band Aid' 'Mistletoe and Wine' by 'Cliff' 'Step Into Christmas' by 'Elton John' 'Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree'
by 'Brenda Lee' and 'Lonely This Christmas' from 'Mud' among many, just keep turning up in the charts this time of
year, and why not, they were indeed all 'Christmas - Classics'
One of my personal favourites, released during the 70's was 'Greg Lake's' - 'I Believe In Father Christmas'
This 3-CD Compilation contains nearly all the popular songs from down the years in truth including 'Bing Crosby's' classic
'White Christmas' (wouldn't be right to leave that one out on these Christmas releases in truth)
What is nice as an addition to the 'Pop' tracks such as some i have listed is the inclusion of some of the old favourites such
as the ever popular 'Silent Night' sung on this release by 'Sinead O'Connor' along with 'The Twelve Days Of Christmas'
sung by 'The Spinners' 'Walking In The Air' by 'Aled Jones' and ever popular 'Carol' 'Oh Holy Night' sung by 'Il Divo' along
with so many well thought of and fondly remembered Christmas Songs that many of us know so well.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2014
I've just bought this for my sister and it clearly says FREE SHIPPING and I have just been charged £1.49
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
Christmas hits from Gary Glitter,Bruce Springstein,Gabriella Cilmi and Dina Carroll and also missing from "Now Christmas" 2012 and 2013.I think it's better to make your own compilation Christmas cd,if you can?.Thank you Bruce,London UK
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2013
Amazon force you to download a rubbish player before you can get what you have paid for!!!! Why do you need another player
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 November 2013
As this is the first album I have ever bought consisting only of Christmas songs, I can't comment on any of Now's past Xmas releases. However, this year's three disc set 'NOW That's What I Call Christmas' does have almost everything I wanted, with most of the usual suspects present.

As well as standards like John Lennon's 'Happy Xmas (War Is Over), Wham's 'Last Christmas', 'Mistletoe and Wine' by Cliff Richard, Shakin' Stevens' 'Merry Christmas Everyone' and 'It's The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year' by Andy Williams, there are more recent favourites, covers of timeless songs by modern artists and originals such as 'Christmas Lights' by Coldplay.

Obviously everyone has there own tastes, so there will be a lot of stuff spread across the set which people aren't going to like, and I'm no different (I even dislike one of the ''standards'' that I've already highlighted in the review). I imagine that most of these tracks have been gathered together on CD again and again over the years, so it might be wise to look around for a compilation that might suit your tastes even more.

Personally, this box set had most of what I regard as good Christmas music, and because it contains 'Fairytale in New York', 'Do They Know This Christmas' (which actually appears twice: Band Aid/Band Aid 20, personally I would have just knocked the latter off to make room for another track, I doubt many buyers would even care), '2000 Miles' and 'A Spaceman Came Traveling' - I'm happy.

Enjoy, and Merry Christmas!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here