Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
70
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.24


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2014
Being an ex submariner this book appealed to me in so many, what I wasn't expecting was the diversity of Ian's career.
A great read for past, present and future sailors especially the select few (submariners) who will relate to a great deal in Ian's story
Excellent and well done Ian
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed the book, it was a fascinating account of a massive life circle, from HMS Raleigh, back and beyond, first as a recruit and back as divisional officer (i never knew what that was, but all is explained), very funny in places and sad also, especially helping to clear up after a hurricane. If you are not services (and i am not) you will still understand how the book flows (and a submarine works) in a lighthearted manner.

I would suspect it would make a good stocking filler at Christmas, especially for ex-navy who would feel very at home.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Well Chuffed with this personal story. So much I could relate to. This book should be recommended for all pre new entries to the Royal Navy. Past and present military personnel will enjoy it tremendously - Recommended. Well done Ian
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
The best book i have read on the Navy. if you are a Vet and want to bring some memories back to life or someone thinking of joining. Its a must read. Ian or "Plug" nails down life in a blue suit perfectly with humor and knowledge which is backed up by, lets face it a long time in the service. This brought back so many memories it made me laugh, cry, regret leaving, made me proud of my service and also cement civvy life for me. A book to turn back to again and again . BZ Plug you old salt. Fair winds and straight courses oppo.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
A good read which many an ex-matlot will chuckle through. Always wondered what the sun Dodgers got up to, seems to be a couple of days at sea and then a few weeks in a hotel ! On a more serious note, the lack of flexibility by the RN noted at the end of the book, shows why they keep losing talent.

Hope Civi street is treating you well Plug
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
A cracking read for any ex-matelot or interested civvy. I joined the Mod shortly after the author so our career paths were similar for the first part of this book. It brought back great memories of basic training at Raleigh and then part 2 training at Sultan. The matelot humour and shenanigans shine through and I read a lot of this book with a grin on my face as I recalled similar episodes from my past. Cheers for the memories Plug!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
This is really worth a read it is a detailed account of life at sea and shore but written in a down to earth style.
There is humour and technical stuff but in the right proportion. One of the most interesting service life books I have read, not just for ex navy personnel, will ring true with all ex military and anyone with a bit of wanderlust.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
such a good read, reminds me of my days in the RN. totally reccomennd this to any old sea dog or anyone with half a sense of humour. thanks to the author for serving queen and country keeping us safe.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
This tells about Ian's career in the Royal Navy.
Ian comes over as a thoroughly professional sailor and the book describes in detail a solid career from a junior sailor to a chief Marine Engineer.
Having said that, while the story is fairly well written, it is not a compelling one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Great book; an open and honest account of one man's journey from start to finish-warts and all. Very accurate references from initial enrolment at HMS Raleigh right through to the final stages of his career. Ian writes honestly throughout. I would highly recommend this to you all, if you served with Ian, have served, are still serving or about the join, you are guaranteed to enjoy this. Anyone with the remotest interest in the military, specifically the RN and the elite Submarine service will enjoy this humorous, accurate, honest account of life in the Royal Navy. Enjoy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)