Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2015
I couldn't even finish it, the level of whinging was off the scale.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
Boring..even though I relate to the time etc. It is badly written and not interesting!

YOu have to love morrisey to bother to read this .
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
A truly great insight into a world which we all assume is full of glam and glitz but is in fact at times rather unpleasant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
This book is just like it's author; brilliant in places but totally frustrating in others. The early years of pre fame make for interesting reading. In fact the book is worth buying just for the opening paragraphs. It paints an interesting picture of a Manchester that probably doesn't exist any longer. The Smiths era is very brief and is mainly Morrissey moaning about Geoff Travis. No real insight into the workings of the band which let's face it, most people will buy the book to read about The Smiths. Very few kind words are said of the rest of the band. The famous court case takes up far too much room and has Morrissey sounding extremely petty and bitter. The remainder of the book cover the solo years in a weird out of sequence manner.

I've been a Morrissey fan for 20 years plus but have to say that I found The Severed Alliance and the excellent Mozipaedia more interesting. The channel 4 documentary "The importance of being Morrissey" also gives a better insight into his life.

Word I recommend the book? It's beautifully written in parts but as far as the big insight into his life, it's as guarded as ever.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
Of course it's interesting, it's Morrissey. But what is the truth and what is future mythology or embellishment? I dunno.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Autobiography by Morrissey is a classic. As a fan I am biased. Could be more about the Smiths but otherwise a great read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
What the world has been waiting for.
As a morrissey fan this book was just fantastic and i loved every page of it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Only just occasionally do you wish you could stop life for 5-6 hours and keep reading day and night- I adored reading this book- the impact the smiths had to me locally in Manchester in the early 1980s and seeing them play at back street early venues has always styled with me- both morrisey and marr have formed part of our own personal history and I adored the beautiful memories once gain. Quite simple anyone of my age would enjoy this book- fabulous... A penguin classic indeed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Great writing and very funny too. The man can surely write, but you already knew that.. An instant classic indeed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Too much info about various gigs and not enough personal anecdotes. Open up more ! Could have been so much more
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)