Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 15 June 2015
The Shadow is a bit of an oddity - part of the wave of films from when studios were falling over themselves to imitate the success of Warner Brothers and Batman by licensing pretty much every other pulpy comic-book character from the 30s: The Phantom, The Rocketeer (a homage to the 30s), Dick Tracy and...

The Shadow is one of the earliest and best of these; at one point famously voiced by Orson Welles in his radio incarnation, the pulp magazines inspired Bob Kane to create Batman, and the similarities between the characters are obvious. The film is a mixed bag - Alec Baldwin oozes charm as Lamont Cranston and the film has a great art-deco look to it, mixing great old-school special effects (models, matte paintings) with a few snazzy (at the time) CGI ones. The script is fairly zippy and tongue-in-cheek, the cast is full of great character actors and moreover it's fun. The lack of any big set pieces hurts it - there's no really impressive action sequences, and the climax is a big letdown (it was rushed due to the original sequence being abandoned as an earthquake damaged the hall of mirrors set).

Mediumrare has ported over the US Shout Factory disc untouched. The transfer is the same (and it's pretty good), and the only real special feature (a 25-minute retrospective) is decent enough and features the major players.

This is a fun movie that undeservedly flopped on release and I had fond memories of seeing it at the cinema. It's been a while since I watched it and it's still just as fun.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2017
This is a review for The Shadow [DVD].

An enjoyable film. It's not without its flaws. Mainly, the story isn't as dynamic or as involving as it should have been. I love the period detail; no doubt there will be the annoying pedants who take great joy in pointing out that 'such and such' is from a later period in time - the sort of people you tend to shun at social gatherings as they're extremely boring! The cinematography is stunning. The acting by all concerned is spot on - tongues are placed firmly in cheeks. Tim Curry gives his usual delightfully barmy performance. The script is amusing -
"Psychically, I'm very well endowed!". Jerry Goldsmith's score is to his usual high standard.

Film ratio is 1.85:1. Audio is DD 5.1. Both are excellent.

Extras - None. Languages - English, French and Spanish. Subtitles - English, French, Portuguese, Danish, Finnish, Swedish, German, Norwegian, Dutch and Turkish.

Far better film than "The Phantom"! That purple lycra body suit... urgh!

Remember, "The sun is shining, but the ice is slippery!".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2015
The film may seem a bit dated now, along the lines of Dick Tracy for example. However, from the first time I saw it I could not wait to get it in ever better quality until now in bluray. Excellent HD transfer both in visuals and sound although the sound deserves a special mention. Alec Baldwin is superb as The Shadow. This film shows, as did The Hunt for Red October, that Alec Baldwin should have become a major action star. Instead, he became a brilliant character actor and a great comic actor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 June 2010
This entertaining film based on the classic pulp fiction character is surprisingly good despite some terribly cheesy moments. The film follows Lamont Cranston as he uses his mental powers to fight crime in 1930's New York as the mysterious Shadow but when the last descendent of Genghis Khan with similar powers comes to town looking to finish his ancestors conquest of the world.

I do have something of a soft spot for this film as although it is terribly cheesy and camp in places it is still never less than entirely entertaining. The film stars such as Alec Baldwin, Ian McKellen and Tim Curry all look like they are having a great time making the film. The special effects are somewhat hit and miss with some being very good for the time while others have dated poorly.

Overall, although I have never read the original pulp fiction the film is based on, I still enjoy this film and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice light and fun film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2016
Really good pressing, much better than the German version which I purchased before. Soundtrack is great but I would have though that in line with a lot of films released in the 90s it would have used a more aggressive mix to show off the then new DTS audio format. Perhaps Universal may change this in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
Such an underrated superhero classic. Clearly it suffered the same fate as other period piece films such as Dick Track, The Rocketeer and The Phantom for not performing well at the box office. But in the end, they ended up being popular with audiences and turned into instand cult classics. In my opinion these films has captured the spirit of pulp fiction cinema of the 1930s with true honest to goodness flair of superheroics. And I am glad they are made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2015
The quality of the Blu-ray is very good; there is also a twenty minute special feature of interviews and Alec Baldwin and others.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2015
loved this film when it first come out and had to get it on blu-ray. The transfer to HD 1080p has went well and still love the film to this day.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2016
Loved it when it first came out. Alec Baldwin plays suave superbly. The plot is a bit far fetched but the art deco backddop makes up for the general lack of intelligent script. The Shadow is on my must own list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Love this film! It's got a mixture of intrigue, romance. And it's got Alec Baldwin in it, what more could you ask for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)