Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2013
THIS CD FEATURES THE ENCHANTING ENGLISH ROSE VOICE OF NICKS MOTHER MOLLY DRAKE AND IT IS SENSATIONAL .I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BEAUTIFUL CD.BRAVO MOLLY!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Funny old album. She has a great voice but given that some of recordings were made on a tape recorder the quality on some track is pretty grim. The track 'Poor Mum' is very ironic and bought a smile to my face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
I bought this CD because Poor Mum from Dick Drake's Family Tree and from the DVD A Skin To Few kept hanging around in my head. All the other songs on this CD do too. I was pleasantly surprised by it's beauty and intimacy. I experience it as a privilege to listen to these recordings, it feels being a friend of the family. The not perfect recording quality gives a feeling of slightly blurred memories! Lovely! I play this CD often, it has an soothing atmosphere not easily found on other albums... a dusty diamond! Nick is the ring everyone wears, this is where he started.
The song texts and poetry in the nicely shaped portofolio reminiscences of Nick's writing,
Have a listen at [...].
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Hi there, this is so beautiful to listen to, a world that no longer exists shines through on these songs more than any pictures could do.
I am a very big fan of Nick Drake, but this on it's own merits deserves a listen.
This has become one of my favourite CD's, which I did not think would happen?
I think that the love of her two children comes through beautifully on these recordings, highly recommended, please have a listen, Deano.

P.S. Thank you GlynLuke, comments noted and amended
Deano.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
A beautiful collection of poetry and songs. The historic quality of the recording enables an intimate experience and packaged in a way that adds a private touch. Undeniably you can hear the influence of Mother upon Son. A highly recommended collection that stands alone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This is a brilliant CD of recordings originally made on a home tape recorder. Her lyrics are wonderful, and this limited edition includes a book of her Poetry. It is easy to see where her son Nick Drake got his skill of writing beautiful words.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
....I bought this Cd by mistake thinking it was the best of Molly Sugden from Are You Being Served. Boy am I glad I did, it's great.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Radio Four delivered Molly Drake into my world in the shape of a whole programme about her and her songs. Modern recordings are so pure and crisp that this set of recordings of Molly Drake playing at home with her piano is a transport of delight. The gentle background hiss combined with the beautiful warmth of the upright piano compliments Molly's clear soprano voice tremulous in its delivery.

The first time I heard the songs tears were in my eyes due to the sadness of the poetically written lyrics. Theses were times and places I could relate to, the Spanish market, the open countryside, moments of tenderness but all with the background of unbearable sadness.

The tunes may be short, but like a good short story carry a punch with every line, lines that come to visit you borne on the soft soprano voice. Molly's sadness is world unknown to me, but the beauty of its delivery can not be denied.
This is a soft, round ruby in a sea of sparkling diamonds.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Have heard a Molly Drake song before on one of Nicks cds and liked it .
Plaintive and so like Nicks phrasing and timbre , haunting a great hidden talent well worth a listen
The poems were a bit childlike but had depth behind them a grat addition to anyones collection
find out the inspiration behind the great Nick .
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
It is a beautiful piece of music recorded in a simple way in her home a long time ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse