Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 December 2013
I think by now people have got the message that this is nt the best of the Crossroads concerts by some margin but I put that partly down to the others being open-air gigs which give a better atmosphere and the changing light make them much more photogenic. Also this one seems a bit more corporate and the artists seem some how restained in some cases. As already mentioned this DVD is certainly not as crisp as previous concerts and in particular the 2007 event. Sound quality seems a bit dull on some tracks.

But hell lets not compare too much with the others because over-all I am pleased to see a better mix of artists than 2011 which had the old timers doing their stuff but quite frankly some of them were on their last legs( literally )Welcome new acts to 2013 are Keith Urban, who does two great covers, Allman Brothers, Gary Clarke, Beth Hart and a great appearance by Keith, who looks to be enjoying himself ! Nice to see Andy Fairweather Low back doing some tasteful acoustic numbers wth EC.

Although there are less stand-out moments than previous concerts there are still a few great bits including John Mayer doing a cover of "Dont Let me Down", Allman's "Whipping Post" is pure class so is Gregg's, "Midnight Rider" -Jeff Beck, Derek Trucks, Keb Mo and Sonny landreth all put in good performances.

This is a great stocking filler for anyone who likes nostalgic guitar rock and if it was nt compared with the previous 3 concerts would stand out as being a great DVD and certainly worth 4 stars:
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
As all the before Eric Clapton's Crossroads guitar festival editions, this one, the 2013 edition was great too. It's a great ocasion to see images and sounds from many of the best bluesman still alive and well, as BB King, Taj Mahal, and others not so old like Sony Landreth. Great moments and feelings, great songs, unforgetable artists, and really good images and sounds. In the las song, you can see and encore with the biggest collection of guitar monster playing togheter in a song. Really a great document
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
After the previous Crossroads DVD's I was eagerly looking forward to this years performances however apart from some gems in between I am disappointed.
First the continuity is poor, the acts are scattered all over the place, why not show the event and musicians in order they appear? The camera work is shoddy at times and downright awful in places. For instance Booker T's marvellous rendition of "Green Onions" is interrupted by a shot of someone walking in the auditorium showing his ticket to a steward. The camera shakes during other sessions and during one number it is focused on a microphone stand and the artists feet!
Much of the time there are no intorductions so we do not know who is playing in the band. There is a jam session including BB King but you don't know it until a way through. Earl Klugh suffers the most with the shortest performance of all just a few minutes and must have been cut as it only shows his last two numbers, no introduction either.
There is too much of the same style of playing dominated by Doyle Bramhall, so much it becomes monotinous.
However there are moments of inspiration-"Born under a bad sign" with Keb Mo (later to play with Taj Mahal) and Booker T's band including Matt "guitar" Murphy is raunchy as hell and there is a fast paced rendition of the classic "Green Onions".
One man band Gary Clark Jr jaunts through "Next Door Neighbour blues" to the delight of the audience.
The appearance of Keith Richards is a signal for rapturous applause as he plays with Eric on the Key to the Highway.
Its a DVD that you have to dip into to get the best out of, there are moments of magnificent guitar playing and music but it lacks the festival atmosphere of 2007, the sunshine, the quality of camera work and variety of performances.
Crossroads needs a rethink.
11 Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Clapton and guitar fans will be thrilled!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
All Eric Clapton are magic as is this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
great concert
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
Always good, are they going to be anymore?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Arrived safe and sound. Great gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 December 2014
I have had this for over a year now. The criticisms of the quality of the film and the lack of introduction or sequence of acts have registered with me but are as inconsequential as the odd scratch on an LP. At the end of the day, Clapton has fronted a fantastic display of talent, mostly legendary. This is today, but sadly may be a historical document in the future for the great guitarists of our time. Putting that aside, I found no problems with the cinematography to gripe about. The choices of artists and their performances were marvellous. I loved BB King, Jeff Beck and Buddy Guy. The rest weren't so bad! I hated Amen Corner in the 60's, but Andy Fairweather Lowe was a revelation. Clapton is not so bad, either. The criticism of this festival I find hard to comprehend, nor its production. I saw the American blues festivals in the 60's (available on DVD) and that is vital material. All those involved in this should be congratulated for bringing so much talent and music together in a guitar bonanza. Get this, watch it and wonder. Your kids may well do so to. I hope Eric Clapton continues with his message.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)