Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
55
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£25.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2014
Yes, DEATH WISH 2 is still cut. Various versions in Europe have been UNcut (including the Dutch Tri-Star DVD version which I own). If you want the UNcut version of DEATH WISH 2, Tri-Star holds the rights to the UNRATED (UNcut) version, so ANY Tri-Star version (except the Tri-Star UK version - thanks to the BBFC) are UNcut - while the MGM versions (United States, Germany) are the heavily cut R Rated print. Personally I can live with the cuts. I've seen movies that were butchered far worse for the R rating.

DEATH WISH 1 - which also was greatly mistreated in the UK and din't see a release on home entertainment until I believe 1999 / 2000 gets to be seen in its full glory, so do parts 3 & 4 (previously slightly censored by the BBFC). DEATH WISH 5 never had any roblems with the BBFC and is fully uncut as well.

I don't understand why FINAL CUT ENTERTAINMENT didn't even attempt to release DEATH WISH 2 in its unrated and uncut form, but given the censorship history of this movie (nearly as infamous as the original I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE)I really can't blame them entirely...
DEATH WISH 1 and 3 - 5 are UNcut. My suggestion. buy this DVD set, and if you really REALLY need to see part II uncut, buy the Tri-Star version in addition to this set. Problem solved.

So don't bash this release, 4 parts UNCUT and one slightly cut for rape and one short scene of gore is an overall win situation, considering these are the best of the best in the vigilante genre. this is clearly a must have for any serious Bronson fan and anyone who enjoys revenge movies!
44 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a great set of films with some brilliant action and some of the killings were top, especially when he gets revenge.

Now we all know the rape scene in "Death Wish" has been censored and for me am glad it was, because what you do see is not very nice.

The best part was the was his first revenge attack with the coins in the socks, this was the beginning of his killing spree to come, with a great shootout on a train. This is a great film which stuck with me in my younger days, and still good to this day and the rest were top sequels.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
44 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
All the classic Charles Bronson films are presented here in a quality slimline box set. Great value for money in my opinion! A great box set paying tribute to a fantastic actor. Vigilante justice at its best!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Great boxset, if you're a fan of the late great Charles Bronson you can't go wrong with this. Death Wish II is still not the uncut version as far as I'm aware, which is a shame if you're a completist. But none the less these films are great entertainment if you like seeing a bit of vigilante justice!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
I've loved these movies for years always wanted the whole set as for death wish 2 being cut for the nasty rape scene doesn't bother me not a fan of watching rape as it makes me feel uneasy you still see and know what's happening so that's not a problem great movies love watching these scumbags get eradicated brilliant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
As a lifelong fan of this series it's disappointing that UK viewers are still denied the chance to see the series completely uncut . DW2 remains censored and its now impossible to buy a brand new dvd or bluray of the original directors cut .(2016 update: there's a 2015 Austrian Mediabook uncut Bluray and a new 2016 locked Region A US Bluray also uncut) The first US Bluray is the R rated version that has more cuts than the UK version . While the UK is years behind in getting the series on dvd the rest of the world has most of them on Bluray . DW 3 and 4 are worth buying on US Bluray . For some reason DW5 is harder to come by and a Danish Bluray seems the only option at the moment . The first film gets its Bluray premier in February in the US - not sure about the UK. For the most controversial film , DW2 the best source is the Australian release double billed with the first film- if you can still find it . Even at £16.95 this boxset seems over priced for a product thats several years overdue and out of date. I'm with Bluray for the series now ( except for DW2) so I won't be buying this set but I hope its new masters rather than transfers from either the appalling Dutch releases ( all cut and letterboxed) or the inferior US discs ( cut and / or 4:3). Even under £17 I'd check before spending as this series has spent its UK life on home video with inferior releases all the way along.
1717 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
I purchased this on behalf of my friend,as she is a big bronson fan,she was surprised you could get this collection as a set,and was most pleased with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Really enjoyed the whole series and would recommend anyone who likes this series buy the whole set as you can watch it month after month
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Great package - had to get multi region player to play here in Australia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
The item is very good.
the sound and the pictures is very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)