Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
75
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 November 2013
Gabrielle has been singing her heart out since her 1993 "Find a way" debut, producing some wonderful pop-soul songs - and some very big hits, too - along the way. "Dreams can come true", she sang back then, and she was fortunate - and talented - enough to have seen most of hers come true. Marking the anniversary of her first No. 1 with that song, she is releasing her second best-of package, which is her most comprehensive to date. 19 singles, plus new one, "Say goodbye", along with 6 brand new recordings, a generous handful of lesser known album cuts that are nicely added on, and a couple of remixes (which are badly edited, though). A fitting way to celebrate 2 successful decades in music, topped off by the prestigious awards she was awarded with, in recognition of her artistry, perhaps her greatest accolade of all (2 BRIT Awards, 2 MOBO Awards, an Urban Music Award, and an Ivor Novello Award). Not often there are artists who love their craft, respect their audience, expose themselves for reasons solely concerning their work and, more importantly, they never disappoint. That is why, out of all greatest-hits releases in 2013, this is the most precious. Generously pop-flavoured, immensely enjoyable, "Now and always" is an invaluable collection from one of pop's underground divas. That is what Gabrielle has always been, even when she enjoyed her absolute peak during the "Rise" era (1999-2001). Gotta love her. 20 Years of dreaming may seem like a long time but, hey, who's ever tired of dreaming...

Tracklisting:

CD 1

1. Say goodbye (new)
2. Rise [from "Rise" (1999)]
3. When a woman [from "Rise" (1999)]
4. Knew me (new)
5. Give me a little more time [from "Gabrielle" (1996)]
6. Dreams (feat. Naughty Boy) (new)
7. Heartbreaker ["Always" album track (2007)]
8. Show me what you got (new)
9. It takes time (new)
10. Walk on by [from "Gabrielle" (1996)]
11. Out of reach [from "Bridget Jones's Diary OST" (2001)]
12. Now and always (new)
13. Fallen angel ["Play to win" album track (2004)]
14. Holding on for you (new)
15. Sunshine [from "Rise" (1999)]
16. Dreams [from "Find your way" (1993)]
17. Closure ["Always" album track (2007)]

CD 2

1. If you ever (feat. East 17) [from "Gabrielle" (1996)]
2. Falling ["Rise" album track (1999)]
3. Going nowhere [from "Find your way" (1993)]
4. I wish [from "Find your way" (1993)]
5. I remember ["Always" album track (2007)]
6. Because of you [from "Find your way" (1993)]
7. Don't need the sun to shine (To make me smile) [from "Dreams can come true" (2001)]
8. Should I stay [from "Rise" (1999)]
9. All I want ["Always" album track (2007)]
10. Why [from "Always" (2007)]
11. Ten years time [from "Play to win" (2004)]
12. Forget about the world [from "Gabrielle" (1996)]
13. Every little teardrop [from "Always" (2007)]
14. Show me love ["Always" album track (2007)]
15. Sunshine (Wookie Main mix) ["Rise underground" album track (2000)]
16. Rise (Artful Dodger Above board vox mix) ["Rise underground" album track (2000)]
17. Forget about the world (Daft Punk mix) ["Forget about the world" single track (1996)]
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Very satisfied by this CD. Very good condition and I received it very fastly. I will order again without any hesitation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
This isn't quite as good as it gets with Gabrielle and her hits. For example, the Love Actually track "Sometimes" (from 'Play To Win') is absent from this, as his her top 20 single "Stay The Same" from also ('Play To Win'). It wasn't as if her original Greatest Hits covered that period as it was released a few years beforehand! "If You Really Cared" also isn't here shockingly. "I Wanna Know" was also a single, which would have been nice to see here. There are some nasty mixes of Sunshine and Rise. Just listen to that different (but quite horrible on the ears) new recording of 'Dreams'. Even my mother found it to grate on the ears (maybe that was because of 'Naughty Boy' LOL adding too much of his naughty production (over producing). The verses seem alright, but I think it is when the chorus steps in it seems to really go through you with that beat. My mum and I do like and always have liked Dreams (just not this re-take to mark 20 years after its release! This has the majority of her hits on here (not that she's achieved nearly as many as some other female vocalists), But there are more to celebrate from her back catalogue 'as outlined' above, so this isn't quite the most definitive of career spanning collections. Will look forward to other collections in the future that have less cheap mixes present and the remake of Dreams well and truly absent! But the new songs I have to say are really good, so bravo for your brave return to music and the studio Gabrielle after years spent away from the spotlight/music scene! I hope the new album of all new material I hear is in the works, has songs up there with these newbies as those are excellent. Loving the new hair style and that cover. All in all - it all tried and failed as a whole! But if you don't any Gabrielle at all - you may as well buy it for now, until the most complete best of is compiled and commercialised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
I am a big fan of Gabrielle's and mainly bought this for the 7 new tracks on CD1. It's a great compilation of most of her singles and some of her best album tracks. Personally I would have preferred "Find Your Way" from the 1st album and "Our Love Is Over" from the 2nd album to be included, instead of SEVEN tracks from her last album "Always", but those tracks are very good.

I had to knock a star off for the remixes of "Rise" and "Sunshine". They are amazing remixes in their original form, but on this album the compilers have unfortunately taken the tracks from "Rise Underground", which was a continuous mix CD of Gabrielle remixes from 2000. This results in the remix of "Sunshine" starting abruptly and fading out while it is mixing into another song; the remix of "Rise" also starts abruptly and then ends just as abruptly while it is changing song. It is a shame the compilers didn't just source these 2 remixes from the "Rise" and "Sunshine" CD singles, where they appear in their full and unedited form!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Got this fantastic double cd from british soul superstar gabrielle today love it especially the brand new songs just beautiful and the amazing reworked dreams is fantastic.hope it wont be long before gabs releases a brand new album of all new songs.she deserves success with this collection.must buy
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 May 2014
Despite some duplicate versions, this compilation has everything you could ever want, or need, to listen to from Gabrielle. Unless you want must have her very latest recordings that is; though the tracks on this CD are the ones that you will know and love.
I cannot imagine anyone would buy this on a whim, as they will probably already be a fan, and want the whole collection on one easy 2-disc set, as my wife did. Even if you only know one or two of her songs, the cheap price, and quality recordings will leave you more than happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
All the hits apart from 2 songs and 6 new songs as well as a new version of dreams don't worry the original 1993 hit is on the cd. Love the new single say goodbye.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
So pleased with this collection of tracks on this celebratory album. 20 Years of Dreaming is a fantastic selection of Gabrielle's hits and the new tracks were worth the wait. Welcome Back...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
I wish I could give this album more than 5 stars. This is a super compilation with Gabrielle. There are all the hits and some new songs too. I can listen to this again and again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)