Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
43
On the Air
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.89


on 12 September 2016
For those of you that remember valve radio and tv sets, the ones that went wrong when the valves quit and daddy had to buy a new one for 30 shillings and shove it inside the set until the next one went, well this comes from that happy time, a lot is from archive recordings and don't have that crystal clear sound that digital has now, they are the best that can be found from the BBC's stock. the tracks are from the 1930's up until the 70's and cover a whole range of programs that for some are almost forgotten and like the voice of Dorthy Oxenford asking if you are sitting comfortably feels strange as if the last fifty years plus have simply melted away. with this music you expect the sonorous voice to follow telling you to tune in later to hear uncle Fred's request from outer Mongolia in two way family favourites. Broadcasting felt a lot more intimate back then as if they were talking to you personally, today with multi channel digital networks spanning the globe it all seems a bit twee, but I feel we have gained a new perspective on the world, but lost that warm fuzzy/cozy feeling you used to get whilst listening on a cold winters day in front of the coal fire.
Buy this set and turn the lights down and shut your eyes, drift away to when it all seemed simple and easier to understand.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2017
An excellent compilation of sounds from an era when entertainment was more relaxing and imaginative
as opposed to the mindless dross which is served up today.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2016
This collection is great nostalgia for all those who remember the radio of the fifties. I'd recommend it to anyone either wanting to bathe in the music of happier times for an hour or so or just switch to something nicer than a political speech for a few minutes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2016
I love this disc though some of the themes are a bit iffy...the intro to the VEday edition of ITMA...a strange version of the Dr Finlay theme....but all the favourites are here (including Puffing Billy as always). Themes...especially radio themes to us crumblies...immediately take one back to that safe place, in the room lit by firlight and the soft glow of the wireless tuning dial.....its odd using the TV version of the Hancock theme...although the Blood Donor extract (presumably a slice of Pye?) makes one want to get the LP of DVD and relish it all....
Nicely warming. If you like the light music featured here you may like "The Great British Experience" on CD, stuffed to the gunwales with nostalgia and duplicating one or two tracks on this double album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Nice to reflect to the days when without TV we had to use our imagination through listening. Great music
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2016
this is a great cd if you were brought up in 40's and 50' its great to here the voice of Wilfred Pickles and Annette (dear old muffin the mule ) Mills again after all these years but there's so much more to jog the memory banks well worth purchasing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2016
Evocative of childhood years, when parents would be listening to the 'wireless'.
How good they all were!
Talking points!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2017
This compilation brought back happy childhood memories when T.V was in its infancy and radio was King.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2016
On The Air Celebrating 90 Years is fantastic. I don't recognize all the songs as I'm American and in the sixties I was still living in America, and I understand that all these tracks are British releases, however, it's interesting to hear your culture of music. 10 out of 10!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2016
This is a feast of nostalgia for those of us of, "A certain age"! Tunes I remembered, tunes I had forgotten. Sit down with a cup of tea and have a good "wallow".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)