Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
344
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2015
What can I say ... this is just a BRILLIANT series - great story line, great direction, sensitive camera work but most of all brilliantly acted
Can't wait for the next Season !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Wonderful series. Discovered it late and have enjoyed every minute of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Feel good series, delivered promptly to one's door. Good service, will use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
It is refreshing to see a drama sereis based around an older couple and 'Last Tango In Halifax' is a treat. Derek Jacobi and Anne Reid are a delight as are the supporting players. Sarah Lancashire and Nicola Walker are fine consistant performers and both are spot on here.

There is always enough going on to keep you interested and you genuinely care about the character's. Gillian's generally chaotic personal life has more downs than ups and her confession to Caroline will certainly keep things interesting. This is quality stuff and the good news is that a third series has already been commissioned so there will be lots more happiness, tears and great acting to come.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I absolutely love this. I also bought series 1 and both are well worth adding to my collection. The storyline is great, and the casting is superb - part of my enjoyment is appreciating the excellent acting. Finally, the scenery itself, set in West Yorkshire is well worth seeing.

It's a gem of a TV series - I do hope there is a Series 3 p;lanned.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 February 2014
What a treat this series is! There's plenty of drama, thanks to the immature behaviour of Alan and Celia's daughters and Celia's awful son-in-law. They appear to think that their parents exist solely for their own emotional and financial wellbeing. (Pretty realistic, I suppose!) In contrast, the two central characters seem almost the only truly mature and sensible characters in the family. They continue to conduct their love affair with dignity and gentle humour. Alan has already suffered a serious heart attack, and it is amazing, in view of all the stress the families cause him, that he hasn't had another, fatal one! It is this loving endurance which makes the couple so attractive, however.
Derek Jacobi and Ann Reid are absolutely terrific, utterly believable and very moving. The supporting cast also turn in great performances, even the youngest of them (I do exclude the baby from this!) The scripts are terrific, too, even if they do make the families behave in ways that sometimes infuriate me. 'How can anyone be so selfish?' I fume, completely involved, because this is really good drama.
I'm so glad there's to be another series. Can't wait!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Wonderful performances from a terrific cast; Anne Reid and Derek Jacobi are a delight. Series 1 set a high standard, but Series 2 does not disappoint. Derek Jakobi brings new strength to the character of Alan, while Anne Reid shows that Celia is not all sweet smiles. Impossible to watch just one episode at a time!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
You could say that this series is a study in the most stressful life events that anyone can endure: if it can happen - it does happen! What makes the series such a winning formula is not only how its characters cope but the humanity, even when behaving abominably, with which each reacts to the others' misfortunes. Central to all the mayhem is the story of the septuagenarian lovers, Alan (Derek Jacobi) and Celia (Anne Reid), whose teenage crush survives six decades, their marriages to other people and the birth of their own families, only to be rekindled by the `magic' of the Internet!

It cannot avoid melodrama but the interwoven stories of the lives of the two families are told, by scriptwriter, the excellent Sally Wainwright, with such knowing warmth and delivered, by a superb cast, with such `sure-footedness' that one is held captive; laughing one moment - crying the next! Jacobi and Reid are sheer magic and Nicola Walker's portrayal of Alan's daughter, Gillian, is heart-wrenchingly authentic.

In a word, brilliant!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Oh! how I love this show, as I said before the best on Television. The acting is out of this world and the storyline superb, Sally wainwright you are a genius. I cannot wait for Series 3, so stand by for my pre-ordering of the DVD. I cannot recommend these 2 series highly enough.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse