Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 August 2016
A really good read and full of action. Our hero Robert Graham leads a colourful life of a Royal Naval Officer sent on numerous but different escapades from home waters to the seas of distant islands.
His activities in the capturing smuggler spies off the Devon coast plus the fights and engagements we the ever present French, his near - run encounters with spies make this an excellent read.
The only complaint is about the too numerous spelling mistakes which are extremely annoying and distracting. I would expect better proof-reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2014
A far ranging book covering an interesting time for the Navy.

However I found it disappointing, the characters are superficial the action is like a black and white picture, no depth of subtlety to it. Everything happens too easily. Everyone likes the hero, he gas no enemies, no losses or reverses and there us no depth to the story.

Disappointing is the only word for it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2015
This book charts the whole career of a Napoleonic era British naval officer. The plot was very good with many different aspects of the duties of the navy in that period. Because of the amount of episodes the story telling was brief and without depth. It would have been a gentle holiday read were it not for the appalling Kindle production. I have never seen a Kindle book this bad. There were frequent typos, missing words, garbled words, garbled sentences which made reading it a nightmare. Did anybody pretend to proofread this?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
I have read almost everything in the way of Napoleonic wars nautical fiction that I can find and this well written book was a recent discovery. I hope there will be sequels to it. The characters are well drawn and their adventures credible, so all in all a good enjoyable read which I recommend to those who like this type of yarn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2017
The story line could have been made quite exciting and the background seems to have been relatively well researched. However the writing style made it a very dull read. I was not 'gripped'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2015
Once again David O'Neill excelled in this great adventure. One of the books I would heartily recommend, but now I turn to his more modern escapades. I know this next story will be equal to all his previous books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2014
Enjoyment from page one was the theme of this book. The characters are well thought out and have believable personalities bought out in a realistic and imaginative way. The plots are intriguing and well strung together and kept me riveted until the end. Is there another to come in the series? I hope so!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2014
Enjoyed this book have now found a new author to read. He writes as though you are completely wrapped up in the tale he is telling. Will read more
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2014
There are now a new group of writers emerging who are matching the imagination and expertise of authors in the tradition of Alexander Kent and peers.

Long may this continue.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2014
good consistant naval yarn not as good as Alexander Kent though, could do with a bit more accuracy in the description of sailing ships
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Glory
£3.79

Need customer service? Click here